Skip to main content

Geology Research Guide: Home

Political Science Research Guide

Introduction

intro  Introduction

This guide is designed to assist students enrolled in Geology courses with locating Library resources for their research assignments. The guide is organized into steps that cover the basic research process for locating and citing relevant sources used in writing a paper or other projects. For general research assistance other than Geology, view the links listed under Research Tools.

Subject keyword search terms related to Geology include:
Earth science • Natural history • Archaeological geology • Astrogeology • Glaciology • Historical geology • Hydrogeology • Iron ores--geology • Petroleum--geology • Physical geology • Sediments • Volcanology • Geological time• Catastrophes (geology) • Dinosaurs • Rock formations • Gemstones •

 

 

 Getting Started

Whether your instructor assigns you a topic or you choose one yourself, an effective way to begin your research is with a source that presents an overview of the issues. This will enable you to focus your topic while providing valuable background information to assist you with selecting academic journal articles and information from other resources. The following sources are useful as starting points for identifying topics and issues related to Geology:

Finding Books

 Finding Books

Books, eBooks, and other Library materials can be searched using the Online Catalog. Books for Geology are located in sections QE-QH in the Library's collection. There are two main categories of books: general and reference. General books (located in the "Stacks" on the lower floor) can be checked out and are often used for more in-depth research. Reference books (located on the upper floor) do not circulate but can be useful for acquiring an overview on a topic.

A few selected Library reference titles for Geology are listed below. (Note: To access eBooks from off-campus you must login to the Library Databases and select eBooks.)

Finding Articles

 Finding Articles

The Library subscribes to online databases that provide access to full-text magazines, scholarly journals, newspaper articles, and eBooks. Since databases are subscriptions that contain copyrighted written materials, off-campus access is password protected. To search from home you will first need to apply for a password using the link at the top of the Databases Web page. The following databases are suggested for Geology related research:

Finding Web Sites

 Web Resources

Some recommended links for Geology are listed below:

Professional Associations and Career Information:

Instructor Reserves

 Instructor Reserves

The Library maintains a collection of instructor reserve materials. These consist of textbooks, videos, and supplemental course materials that instructors have put in the Library for student use. To find what materials are available for Geology, search Course Reserves in the Online Catalog. It is best to search by "Course Number" (ex. GEOL 101) in that an instructor other than yours may have placed an item on reserve. Materials can be requested at the Periodicals counter and generally must be used in the Library on a two-hour loan period. Photocopy machines are available for 10¢ a copy.

Citing Sources

 Citing Sources and Plagiarism

The most common way to cite sources is to use a bibliography or "Works Cited" list at the end of your paper. The works cited list includes a citation for each of the sources you used to write your paper. The citations are formatted in a consistent style according to one of several standard citation formats. The two most common citation formats for college research papers are: (1) The APA Publication Manual (American Psychological Association) - predominately used in Social Sciences and (2) The MLA Handbook (Modern Language Association) - predominately used in Humanities and Liberal Arts. Copies of the MLA Handbook (LB 2369 G53 2016) and the APA Manual (BF76.7 .P83 2010) are available in the Library stacks and the reference collection. An abbreviated version of each style is also on the Library's website under "Research Tools" - MLA or APA. The abbreviated version contains examples for citing full-text articles from online databases and other selected sources. If you are unsure about when and why it is necessary to cite sources, see "Understanding Plagiarism" for a concise overview. Assistance with writing your paper is available at the VVC Writing Center. Always check with your instructor for the required citation format.