Skip to main content

Psychology Research Guide: Home

Political Science Research Guide

Psychology Research Guide

Introduction

 Introduction

This guide is designed to assist students enrolled in Psychology courses with locating Library resources for their research assignments. The guide is organized into steps that cover the basic research process: identifying a topic, locating relevant sources, and citing sources used to write the paper. For general research assistance other than Psychology, view the links listed under Research Tools.

Subject keyword search terms related to Psychology include:
Abnormal Psychology Behavior • Mental Health • Developmental Stages Nature vs Nurture  Personality Psychoanalytic Theory Unconscious Anxiety Cognitive Behavioral Therapy • Gestalt Theory Operant Conditioning Phobias • Interpersonal Communication • Psychotherapy • Unconscious • Attribution Theory

Getting Started

Getting Started

Whether your instructor assigns you a topic or you choose one yourself, an effective way to begin your research is with a source that presents an overview of the issues. This will enable you to focus your topic while providing valuable background information for selecting articles and information from other resources. The following sources are recommended as starting points for identifying issues related to Psychology:

Library Resources

 

Finding Books

 Finding Books

Books and other Library materials can be searched using the Online Catalog. Books for Psychology are categorized under sections BF of the Library's collection. There are two categories of books in the Library: general and reference. General books can be checked out and are often used for more in-depth research. Reference books do not circulate but can be useful for acquiring an overview on a topic. Reference books are located on the upper floor of the Library and circulating books are in the "Stacks" on the lower floor.

A few select general and reference titles for Psychology are listed below. (Note: To access eBooks from off-campus you must login to the Library Databases and select eBooks.)

 

Finding Articles

 Finding Articles

A scholarly journal (also referred to as academic journals, scientific journals, or peer reviewed journals) is a periodical that contains articles written by experts in a particular field of study. The articles are intended to be read by other experts or students of the field, and they are usually much more sophisticated and advanced than the articles found in general magazines. Many instructors assign research papers or projects that require students to read articles published in scholarly journals. This guide offers some tips to help distinguish scholarly journals from other periodicals.

The Library subscribes to online databases that provide access to full-text magazines, scholarly journals, newspaper articles, and eBooks.  Since databases are subscriptions that contain copyrighted written materials, off-campus access is password protected. To search from home you will first need to apply for a password using the link at the top of the Databases Web page. The following databases are suggested for Psychology research:

Finding Web Sites

 Web Resources

There are of course countless Web sites related to Psychology. Some recommended links are listed below. 

Instructor Reserves

 Instructor Reserves

The Library maintains a collection of instructor reserve materials. These consist of textbooks, videos, and supplemental course materials that instructors have put in the Library for student use. To find what materials are available for Psychology, search Course Reserves in the Online Catalog. It is best to search by "Course Number" (ex. PSYC 101) in that an instructor other than yours may have placed an item on reserve. Materials can be requested at the Periodicals counter and generally must be used in the Library on a two-hour loan period. Photocopy machines are available for 10¢ a copy.

Citing Sources

 Citing Sources and Plagiarism

The most common way to cite sources is to use a bibliography or a "References" list at the end of your paper. The references list includes a citation for each of the sources you used to write your paper. The citations are formatted in a consistent style according to one of several standard citation formats. The most common citation format for psychology research papers is The APA Publication Manual (American Psychological Association). The APA Manual (BF76.7 .P83 2010) is available in the Library stacks and in the reference collection. An abbreviated version of  is also available on the Library's website under "Research Tools" - APA. The abbreviated version contains examples for citing full-text articles from online databases and other selected sources. If you are unsure about when and why it is necessary to cite sources, see "Understanding Plagiarism" for a concise overview. Assistance with writing your paper is available at the VVC Writing Center. Always check with your instructor for the required citation format.