English 101-75310, Professor Wolcott
Hello! My name is Ashley Montes and I am a reference librarian at Victor Valley College. I have been assigned to your class to assist students with research. If you need help in finding different types of resources, or have questions in regards to finding different information sources, textbooks, books, etc., do not hesitate to contact me. You can post questions to the discussion board, contact me directly via e-mail, or contact me via chat during my posted chat hours.
Librarian: Ashley Montes
Personal Chat Reference Hours: M/W: 5:00 PM-9:00 PM, T/TH/F: 8:30 AM-1:00 PM
Regular Chat Hours: Mon-Thurs: 8:30 AM-9:00 PM, Fri: 8:30 AM-5:00 PM, Sat: 10:00 AM- 3:00 PM
Email Contact: firstname.lastname@example.org
The library has a variety of resources to assist you with your class assignments. We are available through online reference chat and the discussion board of this class. Listed below are some sources that will help you in the research process.
English 101 Information Competency Exam:
This exam is 40 questions and is a requirement at VVC in order to graduate and/or transfer. The exam is intended to provide you with research skills that can be applied to any class while attending VVC and beyond. Link: http://library.vvc.edu/english_101/tutorial
To access databases from off-campus, users must supply a Username and Password (Use MyVVC username and password). If you have any issues connecting, please contact the VVC Help Desk at (760) 760 372-7500 or email ServiceDesk@vvc.edu. Once logged in you can access the library databases and Ebook collections.
eBooks: eBooks can be found in the library catalog by subject, keyword, title or author. Once you begin typing your search term in the box you will see an option to limit by Online Books & Journals. On the left-hand side of your screen the ability to “Tweak your results” is listed. From there you can choose your resource type, Books. Click on the title you want and a link to the eBook will appear. eBooks are also available through eBook Central, Salem Press, and Gale Virtual Reference Library. Students also have temporary access to textbooks via Redshelf, Vital Source, and Cengage Unlimited.
Databases: VVC has about 70 different databases for students to utilize. The databases can be used to find scholarly peer-reviewed articles as well as articles from magazines, newspapers, and trade publications.
Academic Search Complete: A multi-disciplinary database providing full-text articles for more than 6,600 magazines and scholarly journals, including full-text for nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities.
Gale Literature Resource Center: Contains the complete Gale series, Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography, "selected" full-text critical essays from various Gale literary criticism series (Contemporary, 1400-1800, 19th –Century, 20th-Century, Shakespearean, Poetry, Drama, Short-Story, Children’s Literature), critical essays and reviews from over 360 literary journals and magazines, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints: Provides a complete one-stop resource for information on social issues. Access controversial viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Tip: Click the “Browse Issues” link in the site navigation bar for an A-Z list of popular topics.
CQ Researcher: A weekly online publication that covers current and controversial issues. Complete summaries, discussion covering all sides of the issue, and annotated bibliographies are provided for each topic. Users are able to view the current issue, search past issues, or browse by topic, pro/con, and date. Tip: Click the “Browse Reports” tab at the top of the homepage for a list of popular topics and pro/con issues
JSTOR: Arts and Sciences Collection: Contains the full-text of 142 Journals in the areas of Language & Literature, Philosophy, Religion, Art & Art History, Music, and Classical Studies.