The Literary Theory Handbook introduces students to the history and scope of literary theory, showing them how to perform literary analysis, and providing a greater understanding of the historical contexts for different theories.
Online access to approximately 2,300 eBook titles purchased through the California Community College Library Consortium. The titles were hand-selected to support a wide range of subjects and are searchable in the library catalog or directly through the EBSCOhost database. In addition to the purchased titles, the database also provides access to over 3,400 public domain eBooks from sources such as Project Gutenberg (ex., Works of Shakespeare, Canterbury Tales, The Bible...).
Note: Viewing individual eBook titles is limited to one person at a time and thus may not always be accessible. Once a title is returned, there is a 15 minute release period before it can be accessed by the same or another user.
Provides complete full-text access to authoritative online reference books on a variety of subjects including Gale’s Information Plus Series (A collection of books containing statistics and information on specific topics: Animal Rights, Child Abuse, Environment, etc.), Encyclopedia of Ocean Science, the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, the Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, and more. Titles are arranged by subject or by title under the Title List link at top of the screen. Features include text-to-speech capabilities, unlimited simultaneous use, the ability to print, email, and download articles, and content translation for 13 languages.
Provides full-text access to selected eBook titles within the subjects of Health, History, Literature, and Science. The print format of the titles are also available in the Library’s Reference collection.
Ebook Central delivers, with breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.
The library is currently closed due to COVID-19. If you need chapters of a book that is not available in E-book form please contact the library via Chat or Email. We can email you specific material, but please be aware it may take 24-48 hours.
For Francisco Cantú, the border is in the blood: his mother, a park ranger and daughter of a Mexican immigrant, raised him in the scrublands of the Southwest. Driven to understand the hard realities of the landscape he loves, Cantú joins the Border Patrol. He and his partners learn to track other humans under blistering sun and through frigid nights. They haul in the dead and deliver to detention those they find alive. Plagued by a growing awareness of his complicity in a dehumanizing enterprise, he abandons the Patrol for civilian life. But when an immigrant friend travels to Mexico to visit his dying mother and does not return, Cantú discovers that the border has migrated with him, and now he must know the full extent of the violence it wreaks, on both sides of the line.
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source.