LibGuides: Country Studies Research Guide: Finding Books

Books

Books and other Library materials can be searched using the Online Catalog. Books for Country Studies are categorized by country within sections D-DH (World history and history of Europe, Asia, Africa, etc.) and G-GT (Geography, Anthropology, Folklore, and Customs). There are two categories of books in the Library: general and reference. General books can be checked out and are often used for more in-depth research. Reference books do not circulate but can be useful for acquiring an overview on a topic. Reference books are located on the upper floor of the Library and circulating books are in the "Stacks" on the lower floor.

Course Reserves

The Library maintains a collection of instructor reserve materials. These consist of textbooks, videos, and supplemental course materials that instructors have put in the Library for student use. To find what materials are available for a specific class, search Course Reserves in the Online Catalog. It is best to search by "Course Number" (ex. POLS 101) in that an instructor other than yours may have placed an item on reserve. Materials can be requested at the Periodicals counter and generally must be used in the Library on a two-hour loan period. Photocopy machines are available for 10¢ a copy.

A few select general and reference titles for Country Studies are listed below.

Countries, Peoples and Cultures by Salem Press
Call Number: Ref. F1436 .C68 2015 Vols. 1-9
Publication Date: 2015
A 9 volume series that provides specific information on over 200 countries and self-governing territories, as well as separate appendices profiling 21 types of governments currently in power and 10 major world religions. Every volume contains culture profiles that explore each nation’s background, practices, beliefs, laws, peoples, and more. *Also available as an eBook
Country Study (Area Handbook Series) by Library of Congress. Federal Research Division
Each title in the Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world and examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors.
Dictatorships by Tom Lansford
Call Number: JC495 .D49 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The information in this volume provides insight into the validity of dictatorship as a form of government, and the current status of dictatorships in the world. Varied expert opinions are presented from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find sources and publications. *Also available as an eBook
Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion by Joanne Bubolz Eicher; Oxford University Press Staff
Call Number: Ref. GT507 .E54 2010 Vols. 1-10
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion is the first comprehensive reference work to explore all aspects of dress and fashion globally - from pre-history to the present day.
Ethnic Groups of Africa and the Middle East by John A. Shoup
Call Number: Ref. GN645 .S526 2011
Publication Date: 2011
This encyclopedia is an essential guide to the different ethno-linguistic groups in Africa and today's complicated Middle East region. * Contains contributions from international scholars and independent researchers who have lived and worked in countries such as Chad, Egypt, Eritrea, Guinea Conakry, Jordan, Lesotho, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Nigeria, Sudan, and Syria.
Low Income, Social Growth, and Good Health: A History of Twelve Countries by James C. Riley
Call Number: HB1322.3 .R54 2008
Publication Date: 2008
This book studies the experience of twelve countries that have broken through the limits that low incomes so often impose on human survival: China, Costa Rica, Cuba, Jamaica, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Oman, Panama, the former Soviet Union, Sri Lanka, and Venezuela.
Nations of the World 2017 by World of Information
Call Number: Ref. JA1010 N38 2017
Publication Date: 2017
This comprehensive handbook profiles 231 nations and self-governing territories around the world in an easy-to-access, single-volume format. *Also available as an eBook
The World Today Series by Franci Wiafe-Amoako
Call Number: Ref. JA 51 W67 A37 2015
Publication Date: 2015
An annually updated presentation of each sovereign country, past and present. Chapters on each country dealing with its geography, people, history, political system, constitution, parliament, decentralization and states if a federation, parties, political leaders and elections are provided. There are also sections on foreign and defense policy, economy, culture, future and more.

Nations of the World 2018 by World of Information (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2018
This comprehensive handbook profiles 231 nations and self-governing territories around the world in an easy-to-access, single-volume format. More than 2,000 pages present political, economic and business information not found in any other reference work of its kind. *Also available in print
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices 2nd Ed. by Thomas Riggs (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2015
The 4 volume set provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers. Volume 1, Religions of the World, contains 20-to-25-page entries on 13 major religions and 3-to-5 page entries on 28 religious subgroups. Volumes 2-4 focus on the significant religions in 195 countries.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations by Melissa Sue Hill
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Includes information on more than 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.
Worldmark Global Business and Economy Issues by Miranda Herbert Ferrara
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Arranged alphabetically by topic (Vol.1: Business & Management; Vol. 2: Economy), the set illustrates the breadth of each issue globally. Entries include primary source documents providing a deeper insight into the topic and sidebars that offer ancillary information to the entry.