Skip to Main Content
Victor Valley College Library
Victor Valley College
Environmental Science Research Guide
Search this Guide
Environmental Science Research Guide
Citing Sources and Plagiarism
Contact a Librarian
Some recommended links for Environmental Science are listed below:
Aquapedia - Online Water Encyclopedia
Aquapedia is the Water Education Foundation's online water encyclopedia. Covers California's complex water issues, with interactive maps, videos, photos to educate the public on water issues.
California's Sustainable Winegrowing Alliance
Provides information for California's Sustainable Winegrowing Program. The website also includes links to various sustainability resources and agencies for the entire United States.
A non-profit organization that provides up-to-date information on environmental issues from around the world.
ScienceDaily is best known for showcasing the top science news stories from the world’s leading universities and research organizations. Updated several times a day with breaking news and feature articles on the discoveries in all fields of the physical, biological, earth and applied sciences.
Science News offers readers a concise, current and comprehensive overview of the latest scientific research in all fields and applications of science and technology.
Water Education Foundation
Nonprofit to foster public understanding and resolution of water resource issues through facilitation, education and outreach.
Note: Excerpt from Western Water article on "THE MOJAVE RIVER BASIN DECISION"
Professional Associations and Career Information:
California Association of Environmental Professionals (AEP)
Founded in 1974 we are a non-profit association of public and private sector professionals with a common interest in serving the principles underlying the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) which include environmental assessment, analysis, public disclosure, and reporting.
EnvironmentalScience.org's mission is to be the most reliable and expansive advocate for environmental science education and careers.
National Association of Environmental Professionals (NAEP)
NAEP is the multi-disciplinary association for professionals dedicated to the advancement of the environmental professions.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Published annually by the U.S. Department of Labor, the OOH provides career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations. Search under "Environmental Scientists and Specialists" to find a list of occupations.
Part of the USDA Farmers website, blog includes various stories in relation to conservation, loans and grants, science and technology, agricultural business, and more.
Council for Agricultural Science and Technology
Consists of science based information in relation to food and agriculture. Also provides access to their publications on an array of topics.
National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition
The National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition (NSAC) is an alliance of grassroots organizations that advocates for federal policy reform to advance the sustainability of agriculture, food systems, natural resources, and rural communities. Website includes news information, blog on various topics, as well as publications on Farm Bill, conservation, local and regional food systems, annual reports, and more.
United States Department of Agriculture
Official government website that provides information on various topics related to agriculture including biotechnology, conservation, farming, forestry, food and nutrition, plants, organic, research and science, and more.
United States Department of Agriculture: Alternative Farming Systems Information Center
The Alternative Farming Systems Information Center (AFSIC) specializes in identifying resources about sustainable food systems and practices in support of USDA's effort to ensure a sustainable future for agriculture and farmers worldwide.
USDA National Agricultural Statistics Survey
Part of the USDA site that provides surveys in relation to various aspects of agriculture, including agricultural census reports. Site also provides daily reports on various topics, research reports, news information, and more.
Many USDA agencies serve the growing organic sector. Whether you're already certified organic, considering transitioning all or part of your operation, or working with organic producers, we have resources for you. This portal connects you with programs, services, and educational materials that can help your organic farm or business.
Peer reviewed journal articles published by the University of California, Agriculture and Natural Resources. Recent journal articles provide peer reviewed research, reviews, news articles and news reports. Archive of previous journal volumes are available dating back to 1946.
California Department of Conservation
With a team of scientists and other dedicated professionals, the Department of Conservation administers a variety of programs vital to California's public safety, environment and economy. The services DOC provides are designed to balance today's needs with tomorrow's obligations by fostering the wise use and conservation of energy, land and mineral resources.
California Department of Fish and Wildlife
Contains information about the drought and its effects on fish and wildlife, as well as information on conservation, learning resources and more.
California Department of Food and Agriculture
The California Department of Food and Agriculture is organized into six divisions. The department operates at more than 100 locations throughout the state. These divisions provide valuable services to producers, merchants and the public. Many of the are conducted in partnership with local county offices of the agricultural commissioners and sealers.
California Department of Water Resources
Groundwater resources play a vital role in maintaining California's economic and environmental sustainability. DWR has a long-standing history of collecting and analyzing groundwater data, investigating and reporting groundwater conditions and is responsible for implementing the Sustainable Groundwater Management Act.
California Environmental Protection Agency
Presents information about environmental regulations in California and Cal/EPA programs and services.
California Organic Program
CDFA’s Organic Program is responsible for enforcement of the federal Organic Foods Production Act of 1990, and the California Organic Food and Farming Act of 2016. These statutes protect consumers, producers, handlers, processors and retailers by establishment of standards under which fresh agricultural products/foods may be labeled and/or sold as “organic”.
Farmland Mapping & Monitoring Program
The Farmland Mapping and Monitoring Program (FMMP) produces maps and statistical data used for analyzing impacts on California’s agricultural resources. Agricultural land is rated according to soil quality and irrigation status; the best quality land is called Prime Farmland.
Mojave River Watershed Group
Joint organization committed to protecting the Mojave River, its watershed, plants and wildlife, and the quality of our regularly used High Desert water against stormwater pollution. Members include cities of Victorville, Hesperia, Town of Apple Valley and San Bernardino County Stormwater Program.
Streaming Media >>
Dec 15, 2023 9:02 AM
Login to LibApps