Skip to Main Content
Victor Valley College Library
Victor Valley College
Women's Studies / Women's History Research Guide
Search this Guide
Women's Studies & History Research Guide
Primary Vs. Secondary Sources
Citing Sources and Plagiarism
Contact a Librarian
Some recommended Web sites for Women's Studies and History are listed below:
The Library of Congress - National Digital Library Program makes available more than 100 collections and more than 9 million individual items. Contains documents relating to Women's studies and history.
A Celebration of Women Writers
Provide “on-line editions of older, often rare, out-of-copyright works.” The works cover “a wide range of areas to indicate the variety of interests of women writers.”
Discovering American Women's History Online
Provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition, and History (HEARTH)
HEARTH “is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance.”
Mazer Lesbian Archives
The Mazer Archives are a vital lesbian and feminist community resource "committed to sharing our history across generations, ethnicity, race, and personal belief systems by collecting, preserving and making available unique memorabilia in a safe and welcoming environment." The Mazer Archives are located in Los Angeles and are open to the public Tuesdays and Sundays, and by appointment all other times. Please call ahead any time you plan on visiting.
National Women's History Museum
This virtual museum offers on-line exhibits and educational resources such as biographies, a suffrage timeline, photos and documents and a list of links for further resources. Focus is on women in the United States.
Salem Witchcraft Trials
Danvers Archival Center at the University of Virginia. A collection of primary source materials relating to the Salem Witch Trials of 1692.
Women's History Month: Library of Congress
Links to federal government (Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, etc.) web resources, exhibitions, audio and video, and information on women's history.
Women's History Sourcebook
Internet resource guide that allows you to learn about women throughout history. You can browse by time period and other topics.
Women and Minorities in Science and Technology: A Guide to Selected Resources
This Library of Congress bibliography includes titles and Library of Congress call numbers for books on a variety of topics relating to women and minorities in STEM, including general titles; education, recruitment, and career; anthropology and exploration; aviation and astronautics; earth and environmental sciences; health, medicine, and psychology; life sciences; mathematics; physical sciences; technology and invention; and selected journals.
Women in World History
Created by the The Center for History and New Media (CHNM) at George Mason University, Women in World History is an online curriculum resource center to help locate, analyze, and learn from primary sources dealing with women and gender in world history.
Women of Four Wars: Stories from the Veteran’s History Project (Library of Congress)
Documents the experiences of women service personnel in the Korean War, Vietnam War, Afghanistan conflict and the Gulf war. The site includes online oral histories with video webcasts or podcasts of interviews.
Women Working, 1800-1930
This site is "An exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression."
Center for Reproductive Rights
This is a non-profit legal advocacy organization dedicated to promoting and defending women’s reproductive rights worldwide.
International Center for Research On Women (ICRW)
ICRW is a private nonprofit organization founded in 1976, with three distinct aspects to its work: research, advocacy, and technical support for capacity building.
National Center for Lesbian Rights
The National Center for Lesbian Rights (NCLR) was the first national LGBTQ legal organization founded by women and brings a fierce, longstanding commitment to racial and economic justice and our community’s most vulnerable.
National Center for Transgender Equality
The National Center for Transgender Equality advocates to change policies and society to increase understanding and acceptance of transgender people. For specific trans* organizations, please look into The TransLatin@ Coalition and the Trans Women of Color Collective.
National Organization for Women (NOW)
NOW, the largest feminist organization in the United States, works to promote equality for all women.
National Women's Studies Association
Established in 1977, the National Women's Studies Association has as one of its primary objectives promoting and supporting the production and dissemination of knowledge about women and gender through teaching, learning, research and service in academic and other settings.
Planned Parenthood delivers vital reproductive health care, sex education, and information to millions of people worldwide.
Time for Change Foundation
Time for Change Foundation is an organization that has helped over 1,200 women and children achieve self-sufficiency, recovering from homelessness, substance abuse, incarceration & more.
UN Women is the global champion for gender equality, working to develop and uphold standards and create an environment in which every woman and girl can exercise her human rights and live up to her full potential. They are trusted partners for advocates and decision-makers from all walks of life, and a leader in the effort to achieve gender equality.
Women of Color Network, Inc.
WOCN, Inc. is a national grassroots initiative dedicated to building the capacity of women of color advocates and activists responding to violence against women in communities of color.
Streaming Media >>
Nov 3, 2023 10:39 AM
Login to LibApps