LibGuides: Oceanography: Finding Books

Finding Books

Books, eBooks, and other Library materials can be searched using the Online Catalog. Books for Oceanography are located in sections GC (Oceanography) and QH (Marine Biology) in the Library's collection. There are two main categories of books: general and reference. General books (located in the "Stacks" on the lower floor) can be checked out and are often used for more in-depth research. Reference books (located on the upper floor) do not circulate but can be useful for acquiring an overview on a topic.

Course Reserves

The Library maintains a collection of instructor reserve materials. These consist of textbooks, videos, and supplemental course materials that instructors have put in the Library for student use. To find what materials are available for Oceanography, search Course Reserves in the Online Catalog. It is best to search by "Course Number" (ex. OCEA 101) in that an instructor other than yours may have placed an item on reserve. Materials can be requested at the Periodicals counter and generally must be used in the Library on a two-hour loan period.

A few selected Library circulating and reference titles for Oceanography are listed below. Please note: some eBooks are also available in print in the reference section of the library.

Circulating Books to Check-Out

The Atlas of Coasts and Oceans: Ecosystems, Threatened Resources, Marine Conservation by Don Hinrichsen
Call Number: QH541.5 .C65 H56 2011
Publication Date: 2011
The Atlas of Coasts and Oceans documents the fraught relationship between humans and the earth's largest bodies of water--and outlines the conservation steps needed to protect the marine environment for generations to come.
The Atlas of Disappearing Places by Christina Conklin; Marina Psaros; Lawrence Susskind (Foreword by)
Call Number: GC89 .C66 2021
Publication Date: 2021
The Atlas of Disappearing Places will engage and inspire readers on the most pressing issue of our time.
Atlas of Oceans by John Farndon; Carl Safina (Foreword by)
Call Number: QH541.5 .S3 F37 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Looks at the oceans and seas around the world, describing the creatures found in them, threats they face, and recommendations on ways to preserve the ocean ecosystem.
Below the Edge of Darkness by Edith Widder
Call Number: GC30.W54 A3 2021
Publication Date: 2021
A thrilling adventure story as well as a scientific revelation, Below the Edge of Darkness reckons with the complicated and sometimes dangerous realities of exploration. Widder shows us how when we push our boundaries and expand our worlds, discovery and wonder follow. These are the ultimate keys to the ocean's salvation--and thus to our future on this planet.
Encyclopedia of Whales, Dolphins and Porpoises by Eric Hoyt
Call Number: QL713.2 .H69 2017
Publication Date: 2017
In the Encyclopedia of Whales, Dolphins and Porpoises, Hoyt takes readers into the field for an intimate encounter with some 90 species of cetaceans that make their homes in the world's oceans. Drawing on decades of firsthand experience and a comprehensive familiarity with the current revolution in cetacean studies, Hoyt provides unique insights into the life histories of these compelling marine mammals.
Introducing Sea Level Change by Alastair Dawson
Call Number: GC89 .D39 2019
Publication Date: 2018
This book details the history of scientific discoveries that have explained the patterns of sea level change that have taken place across the Earth in the past. Alastair Dawson introduces the many complex processes, some of which are not well-known, that influence patterns and rates of relative sea level change.
The Lady and the Octopus by Danna Staaf
Call Number: QH31.V48 S73 2022
Publication Date: 2022
Jeanne Villepreux-Power was never expected to be a scientist. Born in 1794 in a French village more than 100 miles from the ocean, she pursued an improbable path that brought her to the island of Sicily. There, she took up natural history and solved the two-thousand-year-old mystery of how of the argonaut octopus gets its shell.
The Last Cold Place by Naira de Gracia
Call Number: QL696.S473 D42 2023
Publication Date: 2023
From a young scientist studying penguins in Antarctica--a firsthand account of the beauty and brutality of this remote climate, the direct effects of climate change on animals, and the challenges of fieldwork. The Last Cold Place details Naira de Gracia's time living and working in a remote outpost in Antarctica alongside seals, penguins, and a small crew of fellow field workers.
Life on the Rocks: Building a Future for Coral Reefs by Juli Berwald
Call Number: QE565 .B465 2022
Publication Date: 2022
Life on the Rocks is a meditative ode to the reefs and the undaunted scientists working to save them against almost impossible odds. Berwald explores what it means to keep fighting a battle that can't be won, contemplating the inevitable grief of climate change and the beauty of small victories.
Octopus, Squid, and Cuttlefish by Roger Hanlon; Mike Vecchione; Louise Allcock
Call Number: QL430.2 .H38 2018
Publication Date: 2018
A treasure trove of scientific fact and visual explanation, this worldwide illustrated guide to cephalopods offers a comprehensive review of these fascinating and mysterious underwater invertebrates--from the lone hunting of the octopus, to the social squid, and the prismatic skin signaling of the cuttlefish.
Planktonia by Erich Hoyt
Call Number: QH91.8.P5 H69 2022
Publication Date: 2022
When people hear the word "migration," they think of animals that move from a feeding area to a breeding area and back each year But the greatest migration on Earth happens twice every night. The movement is largely vertical and performed by plankton followed by predatory fish, squid, octopus and other species that have acquired a taste for plankton.
Sea Change: An Atlas of Islands in a Rising Ocean by Christina Gerhardt
Call Number: G1029 .G4 2023
Publication Date: 2023
A weave of essays, maps, poems and illustrations, Sea Change presents the impacts of and solutions to sea level rise. An essay, drawing on interviews, scientific reports, academic scholarship and archival research, shares their histories, present-day challenges and efforts toward livable futures.
The Sea Trilogy by Rachel Carson; Sandra Steingraber (Editor)
Call Number: QH541.5.S3 C335 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Pioneering environmentalist Rachel Carson explores the wonders of the Earth's oceans in these classics of American science and nature writing.
The Sound of the Sea by Cynthia Barnett
Call Number: QL403 .B27 2021
Publication Date: 2021
In The Sound of the Sea, acclaimed environmental author Cynthia Barnett blends cultural history and science to trace our long love affair with seashells and the hidden lives of the mollusks that make them.
Underwater Wild by Craig Foster; Ross Frylinck
Call Number: QH541.5.K4 F67 2021
Publication Date: 2021
My Octopus Teacher; has captivated millions who long to connect with the natural world. Now, with; Underwater Wild, the divers behind the film reveal a new vision of the sea, one full of wonder, new insights into marine biology, and life-changing teachings for even the most land-bound of us.
The Underworld by Susan Casey
Call Number: GC21 .C36 2023
Publication Date: 2023
An awe-inspiring portrait of the mysterious world beneath the waves, and the men and women who seek to uncover its secrets.
Vast Expanses by Helen M. Rozwadowski
Call Number: CB465 .R69 2018
Publication Date: 2019
In Vast Expanses, Helen M. Rozwadowski weaves a cultural, environmental, and geopolitical history of that relationship, a journey of tides and titanic forces reaching around the globe and across geological and evolutionary time.
World Oceans by David E. Newton
Call Number: GC11.2 .W49 2021
Publication Date: 2021
World Oceans: A Reference Handbook offers an in-depth discussion of the world's oceans. It discusses the marine life that is dependent on the sea as well as the problems threatening the health of the ocean and its wildlife.

Reference Books to Use in the Library

Encyclopedia of Islands by Rosemary G. Gillespie (Editor); David A. Clague (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. GB 471 .E53 2009
Publication Date: 2009
This authoritative, alphabetically arranged reference, featuring more than 200 succinct articles by leading scientists from around the world, provides broad coverage of all the island sciences. Extensively illustrated with color photographs, clear maps, and graphics.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences by John H. Steele (Editor); Karl K. Turekian (Editor); Steve A. Thorpe (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. GC 9 .E57 2009 Vols. 1-6
Publication Date: 2009, 2nd ed.
NOTE: EOOS is in print format in the Library's Reference Collection and in digital format in the Gale eBooks database, click on the link above to access the eBook.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences is a 6-volume reference resource that pulls together all the key information in one source from approximately 500 articles covering the breadth and depth of the field. Includes updated content reflecting the latest research in oceanography. *Also available as an eBook
Encyclopedia of the Sea by Richard Ellis
Call Number: Ref. GC 9 .E38 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Ellis reveals the many wonders of the oceans--abalone, zooxanthellae, and everything in between. A world of exploration covers exotic locations from Venice to Ni'ihau (Hawaii's "forbidden isle").
Encyclopedia of Tidepools and Rocky Shores by Steven D. Gaines; Mark W. Denny
Call Number: Ref. QH541.5 S35 W53 2007
Publication Date: 2007
This comprehensive encyclopedia is an authoritative, one-stop reference for everyone interested in the biology and ecology of this fascinating and uniquely accessible environment. Conveniently arranged alphabetically, nearly 200 wide-ranging entries written in clear language by scientists from around the world provide a state-of-the-art picture of tidepools and rocky shore science.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by Gale Research Staff; Michael Hutchins
Call Number: Ref. QL7 .G7813 2004 (Volumes 1-17)
Publication Date: 2002
This is a revised and updated edition of one of the most authoritative and comprehensive sources on the world's animals. Similar to the first edition written by noted zoologist Bernard Grzimek and published in 1972, the second edition covers all types of animals in geographic areas around the world. It includes high-quality photographs and illustrations and a comprehensive index to all volumes.
Ocean by Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff; Fabien Cousteau (Introduction by)
Call Number: Ref. GC 21 .O23 2014
Publication Date: 2014
The power and wonder of the ocean is as strong today as ever, with new expeditions to its depths, and new discoveries beneath melting ice, in developing reefs, and on shores around the world. To celebrate, we are releasing a second edition of Ocean, with the latest scientific research, coverage of major events like Superstorm Sandy and the Fukushima tsunami, and new graphics and images.
Principles of Marine Science by Salem Press (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. GC11.2 .P75 2020
Publication Date: 2020
The latest addition to Salem Press' Principles of Science series, Principles of Marine Science introduces readers to the fundamentals of oceanography using easy-to-understand language. Readers will get a solid start and deeper understanding of this complex subject that affects much of our lives on Earth, from climate, to pollution, to food supply.

Coastal Systems by Simon Haslett
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Coastal Systems offers a concise introduction to the processes, landforms, ecosystems and management of this important global environment.
Dolphin Confidential by Maddalena Bearzi
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Who hasn't fantasized about the unique thrill of working among charismatic and clever dolphins in the wild? Now we no longer have to rely solely on our imaginations . With Dolphin Confidential, Maddalena Bearzi invites all of us shore-bound dreamers to join her and travel alongside the dolphins. In this fascinating account, she takes us inside the world of a marine scientist and offers a firsthand understanding of marine mammal behavior, as well as the frustrations, delights, and creativity that make up dolphin research.
Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals by Bernd Würsig
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Articles describe every species in detail, based on the very latest taxonomy, and a host of biological, ecological and sociological aspects relating to marine mammals. The latest information on the biology, ecology, anatomy, behavior and interactions with man is provided- all presented in such detail and clarity to support both marine mammal specialists and the serious naturalist.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences by John H. Steele (Editor-In-Chief); Steve A. Thorpe (Editor-In-Chief); Karl K. Turekian (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2009, 2nd ed.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences, Second Edition is a new 6-volume online reference work, pulling together all the key information in one source from the leading publisher in the field. This second edition is online, offering the user greater flexibility, accessibility, and most importantly, usability with 24 hour access, multi-user access, remote access and excellent search functionality. Structured for success, each article contains a glossary, an introduction, a reference section and a wealth of cross-referenced links to premium and related material all accessible in a mouse-click, making complicated, time consuming research a thing of the past.
Historic Maritime Maps by Donald Wigal
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2014
In the Middle Ages, navigation relied upon a delicate balance between art and science. Whilst respecting the customs and the precautions of their forbearers, sailors had to count on their knowledge of the stars, the winds, the currents, and even of migratory flights. They also used hand-painted maps, which, although certainly summary, were marvellously well-drawn.
Investigating Seafloors and Oceans by Antony Joseph
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Opening with a discussion of the earth's formation, hot spots, ridges, plate tectonics, submarine trenches, and cold seeps, the text goes on to address such topics as the role of oceans in the origin of life, tidal bore, thermal effects, ecosystem services, marine creatures, and nutraceutical and pharmaceutical resources.
The Lives of Sharks by R. Dean Grubbs; Daniel Abel
Call Number: ProQuest eBooks Central
Publication Date: 2023-09-19
The Lives of Sharks is a fascinating and beautifully illustrated guide to these iconic marine creatures from two world-renowned experts. This book explores shark physiology, anatomy, behavior, ecology, and evolution, as well as conservation and the impact of human activity on shark populations. With stunning photographs and illustrations, as well as profiles of selected species, this is a comprehensive, authoritative, and inviting introduction to global shark life today.
The Octopus in the Parking Garage : A Call for Climate Resilience by Rob Verchick
Call Number: ProQuest eBook Central
Publication Date: 2023
Rob Verchick examines how we can manage the risks that we can no longer avoid, laying out our options as we face climate breakdown. The book emphasizes disadvantaged communities, which bear the brunt of environmental risk, arguing that building climate resilience is a necessary step toward justice. Engaging and accessible for nonexpert concerned citizens, The Octopus in the Parking Garage empowers readers to face the climate crisis and shows what we can do to adapt and thrive.
Plankton by Christian Sardet
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Ask anyone to picture a bird or a fish and a series of clear images will immediately come to mind. Ask the same person to picture plankton and most would have a hard time conjuring anything beyond a vague squiggle or a greyish fleck. This book will change that forever. Viewing these creatures up close for the first time can be a thrilling experience--an elaborate but hidden world truly opens up before your eyes.
Politics of the Ocean by Kenneth Partridge (Editor)
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2011
From overfishing and whaling to pollution and pirates, a number of significant issues are impacting the oceans in the 21st century. The selections contained in this volume chart the most significant of these problems and describe the political structures in place to confront them. *Also available in print
Principles of Marine Science by Salem Press (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2020
Principles of Marine Science introduces readers to the fundamentals of oceanography using easy-to-understand language. Readers will get a solid start and deeper understanding of this complex subject that affects much of our lives on Earth, from climate, to pollution, to food supply. *Also available in print
Stung! by Lisa-Ann Gershwin
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Our oceans are becoming increasingly inhospitable to life--growing toxicity and rising temperatures coupled with overfishing have led many marine species to the brink of collapse. And yet there is one creature that is thriving in this seasick environment: the beautiful, dangerous, and now incredibly numerous jellyfish. As foremost jellyfish expert Lisa-ann Gershwin describes in Stung!, the jellyfish population bloom is highly indicative of the tragic state of the world's ocean waters, while also revealing the incredible tenacity of these remarkable creatures.
Vanishing Ice by Vivien Gornitz
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Vanishing Ice is a powerful depiction of the dramatic transformation of the cryosphere--the world of ice and snow--and its consequences for the human world.
Water Always Wins: Thriving in an Age of Drought and Deluge by Erica Gies
Call Number: ProQuest eBook Central
Publication Date: 2022
Water Always Wins is a hopeful journey around the world and across time, illuminating better ways to live with water. In this quietly radical book, science journalist Erica Gies introduces us to innovators in what she calls the Slow Water movement who start by asking a revolutionary question: What does water want? Using close observation, historical research, and cutting-edge science, these experts in hydrology, restoration ecology, engineering, and urban planning are already transforming our relationship with water.