Skip to Main Content
Victor Valley College Library
Victor Valley College
Art History Subject Guide
Museums & Galleries
Search this Guide
Citing Sources and Plagiarism
Contact a Librarian
Museums & Galleries
Museums & Galleries
The Autry Museum of the American West
Discover the art, history, and cultures of the American West! Located in beautiful Griffith Park, the Autry features world-class galleries filled with Native American art and cultural materials, film memorabilia, historic firearms, paintings, interactive areas, and more.
The Broad makes its collection of contemporary art from the 1950s to the present accessible to the widest possible audience by presenting exhibitions and operating a lending program to art museums and galleries worldwide.
California African American Museum
The first African American museum of art, history, and culture fully supported by a state, CAAM was the direct result of a sustained, multiyear campaign of activism undertaken by visionary founders and community members. Its creation was an early and tangible recognition by the State of California of the critically important role African Americans have played in the American West’s cultural, economic, and political development.
Getty is a cultural and philanthropic institution dedicated to the presentation, conservation, and interpretation of the world’s artistic legacy. Through the collective and individual work of its constituent programs—Getty Conservation Institute, Getty Foundation, J. Paul Getty Museum, and Getty Research Institute—Getty pursues its mission in Los Angeles and throughout the world, serving both the general interested public and a wide range of professional communities in order to promote a vital civil society through an understanding of the visual arts.
The Great North Museum
Learn all about Newcastle's museum of natural history, archaeology, geology and world cultures.
The Hammer Museum at UCLA
The Hammer Museum at UCLA believes in the promise of art and ideas to illuminate our lives and build a more just world.
Extraordinary examples of decorative arts and folk art, paintings, prints and drawings, photography, and sculpture are displayed in the Huntington Art Gallery (the original home of Henry E. and Arabella Huntington) and in the Virginia Steele Scott Galleries of American Art. Both buildings also showcase smaller, temporary exhibitions that focus on masterworks in the collection or place The Huntington’s historic works in conversation with contemporary artistic practice.
Japanese American National Museum
The mission of the Japanese American National Museum is to promote understanding and appreciation of America’s ethnic and cultural diversity by sharing the Japanese American experience.
Founded in Venice, California in 1975, L.A. Louver gallery is committed to contemporary art through a distinguished exhibition program of Los Angeles based and international artists.
Latino Art Museum
The Latino Art Museum is a non-profit organization created to promote the works of talented Latin American contemporary artists living in the United States and instill a sense of appreciation for Latino Art in children and adults of all origins.
The Los Angeles Museum of Art
Located on the Pacific Rim, LACMA is the largest art museum in the western United States, with a collection of nearly 149,000 objects that illuminate 6,000 years of artistic expression across the globe. Committed to showcasing a multitude of art histories, LACMA exhibits and interprets works of art from new and unexpected points of view that are informed by the region’s rich cultural heritage and diverse population.
The Collections database consists of entries for more than 480,000 works in the Musée du Louvre and Musée National Eugène-Delacroix. Updated on a daily basis, it is the result of the continuous research and documentation efforts carried out by teams of experts from both museums.
The Lucas Museum of Narrative Art
As the first museum to focus exclusively on storytelling through images, the Lucas Museum of Narrative Art™ believes that visual storytelling can connect us and help shape a more just society. With a growing collection that encompasses artworks from across cultures, places, times, and mediums, including paintings, sculptures, murals, photography, comic art, book and magazine illustrations, and the arts of filmmaking, the Lucas Museum will explore narrative art’s potential to prompt questions, invite opinions, inspire community, and move people to think about the impact of images on our world.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art presents over 5,000 years of art from around the world for everyone to experience and enjoy. The Museum lives in two iconic sites in New York City—The Met Fifth Avenue and The Met Cloisters. Millions of people also take part in The Met experience online.
The Museum of African American Art
THE MUSEUM OF AFRICAN AMERICAN ART is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization in Los Angeles that educates visitors of all ages and identities about the arts through the lens of African American culture. Exhibits and programs at MAAA allow artists and their work to inspire new thinking about issues that intersect with the shared experiences of people across the African diaspora and beyond. The museum's uniquely accessible art space allows us to exhibit the work of extraordinary local artists and bring meaningful art experiences to the public.
Museum of Contemporary Art
Established in 1979, we are the only artist-founded museum in Los Angeles. We are dedicated to collecting and exhibiting contemporary art. We house one of the most compelling collections of contemporary art in the world, comprising roughly 7,500 objects, and have a diverse history of ground-breaking, historically-significant exhibitions.
Museum of Latin American Art
The Museum of Latin American Art expands knowledge and appreciation of modern and contemporary Latin American and Latino art through its Collection, ground-breaking Exhibitions, stimulating Educational Programs, and engaging Cultural Events.
Norton Simon Museum
The history of the Norton Simon Museum begins with the Pasadena Art Institute. The Institute was founded in 1922 and incorporated two years later on August 14, 1924 as a privately endowed, nonprofit institution. Originally comprised of local citizens, the primary goals of the Institution were to establish and maintain a museum and library of art as well as encourage the study of fine arts.
Riverside Art Museum
The Riverside Art Museum strives to integrate art into the lives of people in a way that engages, inspires, and builds community by presenting thought-provoking exhibits and providing quality art classes that instill a lifelong love of the arts.
The Smithsonian American Art Museum
Explore the sweep of the American imagination across four centuries at the nation's flagship museum for American art and craft. Inspiring artworks and special exhibitions online and in person at our two locations. National educational offerings. Innovative research. Video interviews with artists and virtual studio tours, lectures and more. Admission is always free.
USC Fisher Museum of Art
Founded in 1939 by Elizabeth Holmes Fisher and accredited by the American Association of Museums, the museum houses a permanent collection of some 1,800 objects including 19th century American landscapes; 16th and 17th century Northern European paintings; 18th century British portraiture; and 19th century French Barbizon paintings, as well as 20th century works on paper, paintings and sculpture and features exhibitions of local, international, and emerging artists.
This site offers online tours of the collections of art and antiquities at the Vatican museums.
Victor Valley Museum
The Victor Valley Museum maintains and develops a unique cultural and natural science collection related to the High Desert that includes geological and paleontological specimens, Native American artifacts, and historical objects. Founded in 1976 to honor the U.S. Bicentennial, the museum was created in the halls of the Victorville courthouse until moving to its current site in Apple Valley in 1992. Since 2010, the Victor Valley Museum has been a branch of the San Bernardino County Museum system.
Contact a Librarian
Dec 13, 2023 1:26 PM
Login to LibApps