LibGuides: Ethnic Studies Research Guide: Chicana/o Studies

Books

Books, eBooks, and other Library materials can be searched using the Online Catalog. You can search the catalog by Subject such as Chicano Studies. There are two main categories of books: general and reference. General books (located in the "Stacks" on the lower floor) can be checked out and are often used for more in-depth research. Reference books (located on the upper floor) do not circulate but can be useful for acquiring an overview on a topic.

Course Reserves

The Library maintains a collection of instructor reserve materials. These consist of textbooks, videos, and supplemental course materials that instructors have put in the Library for student use. To find what materials are available for Art History, search Course Reserves in the Online Catalog. It is best to search by "Course Number" (ex. ETH 101) in that an instructor other than yours may have placed an item on reserve. Materials can be requested at the Periodicals counter and generally must be used in the Library on a two-hour loan period. Photocopy machines are available for 10¢ a copy.

A few selected Library general and reference titles for Chicano/a Studies are listed below.

500 Anos del Pueblo Chicano: Five Hundred Years of Chicano History in Pictures by Elizabeth Martinez (Editor)
Call Number: E184 .M5 A16 1991
Publication Date: 1991
This bilingual pictorial history depicts the Mexican American/Chicano people from their origins 500 years ago with Columbus' "discovery" & the invasions of the New World, to their struggles for social justice today.
An African American and Latinx History of the United States by Paul Ortiz (Contribution by)
Call Number: E184 .S75 O79 2018
Publication Date: 2018
An intersectional history of the shared struggle for African American and Latinx civil rights. Spanning more than two hundred years, An African American and Latinx History of the United Statesis a revolutionary, politically charged narrative history arguing that the "Global South" was crucial to the development of America as we know it.
Ambientes: New Queer Latino Writing by Lazaro Lima (Editor); Felice Picano (Editor)
Call Number: PS647 .G39 A46 2011
Publication Date: 2011
As the U.S. Latino population grows rapidly, and as the LGBTQ Latino community becomes more visible and a more crucial part of our literary and artistic heritage, there is an increasing demand for literature that successfully highlights these diverse lives. Edited by Lázaro Lima and Felice Picano, Ambientes is a revolutionary collection of fiction featuring stories by established authors as well as emerging voices that present a collective portrait of gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender experience in America today.
Barrio America: How Latino Immigrants Saved the American City by A. K. Sandoval-Strausz
Call Number: HT175 .S25 2019
Publication Date: 2019
The compelling history of how Latino immigrants revitalized the nation's cities after decades of disinvestment and white flight. Thirty years ago, most people were ready to give up on American cities. We are commonly told that it was a "creative class" of young professionals who revived a moribund urban America in the 1990s and 2000s.
Chicana Movidas by Dionne Espinoza (Editor); María Eugenia Cotera (Editor); Maylei Blackwell (Editor)
Call Number: E184.M5 C395 2018
Publication Date: 2018
With contributions from a wide array of scholars and activists, including leading Chicana feminists from the period, this groundbreaking anthology is the first collection of scholarly essays and testimonios that focuses on Chicana organizing, activism, and leadership in the movement years.
The Chicano Experience by Alfredo Mirandé
Call Number: E 184 M5 M553 2022
Publication Date: 2022
The Chicano Experience offers an interpretation of the social, cultural, and economic forces that shape the situation of Chicanos today.
The Crusades of Cesar Chavez by Miriam Pawel
Call Number: HD6509 .C48 P38 2014
Publication Date: 2014
In the first comprehensive biography of Chavez, Miriam Pawel offers a searching yet empathetic portrayal. Chavez emerges here as a visionary figure with tragic flaws; a brilliant strategist who sometimes stumbled; and a canny, streetwise organizer whose pragmatism was often at odds with his elusive, soaring dreams.
Documents of the Chicano Movement by Roger Bruns (Contribution by)
Call Number: Ref. E184 .M5 B763 2018
Publication Date: 2018
This book provides original source documents--from firsthand accounts to media responses to legislation--regarding the Chicano movement of the 1960s through 1970s. Readers will understand the key events, individuals, and developments of La Causa: Chicanos uniting to free themselves from exploitation.
El Norte: The Epic and Forgotten Story of Hispanic North America by Carrie Gibson
Call Number: E40 .G53 2019
Publication Date: 2019
El Norte chronicles the history of Hispanic North America from the arrival of the Spanish in the early 16th century to the present--from Ponce de Leon's initial landing in Florida in 1513 to Spanish control of the vast Louisiana territory in 1762 to the Mexican-American War in 1846 and up to the more recent tragedy of post-hurricane Puerto Rico and the ongoing border acrimony with Mexico.
Ex Mex: From Migrants to Immigrants by Jorge G. Castaneda
Call Number: E184 .M5 C368 2007
Publication Date: 2008
Former Mexican foreign minister and eminent scholar Jorge G. Castañeda describes just who makes up the newest generation of immigrants from Mexico, why they have chosen to live in the United States, where they work, and what they ultimately hope to achieve.
Inventing Latinos: A New Story of American Racism by Laura E. Gómez
Call Number: E184.S75 G63 2020
Publication Date: 2020
In a bold effort to reframe our often-confused discussions over the Latinx generation, Gómez argues that everything from Trump's toxic rhetoric and anti-immigrant laws like Arizona's SB1070 to DACA and sanctuary cities have indelibly changed the way race functions in this country.
The Latino Generation by Mario T. García; Mario T. García
Call Number: LC2670.6 .G37 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Latinos are already the largest minority group in the United States. Though their population and influence are steadily rising, stereotypes and misconceptions about Latinos remain. By presenting thirteen riveting oral histories of young, first-generation college students, Mario T. Garcia counters those long-held stereotypes and expands our understanding of what he terms "the Latino Generation."
Making Aztlán: Ideology and Culture of the Chicana and Chicano Movement, 1966-1977 by Juan Gómez-Quiñones; Irene Vásquez
Call Number: E184 .M5 G6344 2014
Publication Date: 2014
This book provides a long-needed overview of the Chicana and Chicano movement's social history as it grew, flourished, and then slowly fragmented. The authors examine the movement's origins in the 1960s and 1970s, showing how it evolved from a variety of organizations and activities united in their quest for basic equities for Mexican Americans in U.S. society.
Mobilizing the U. S. Latinx Vote by Arthur D. Soto-Vásquez
Call Number: E184.S75 S68 2020
Publication Date: 2020
This book examines the politics involved in the mobilization of the Latinx vote in America. Delving into the questions of race and identity formation in conjunction with the role of communication media, the author discusses the implications for Latinx voters and their place in the American political and racial system.
The Norton Anthology of Latino Literature by Ilan Stavans
Call Number: PS508 .H57 N65 2011
Publication Date: 2010
This groundbreaking Norton Anthology includes the work of 201 Latino writers from Chicano, Cuban-, Puerto Rican-, and Dominican-American traditions, as well as writing from other Spanish-speaking countries.
Occupied America by Rodolfo F. Acuna
Call Number: E184.M5 A63 2015 (Available Soon)
Publication Date: 2014
This comprehensive overview of Chicano history is passionately written and extensively researched. With a concise and engaged narrative, and timelines that give students a context for pivotal events in Chicano history, Occupied America illuminates the struggles and decisions that frame Chicano identity today.
Open Veins of Latin America by Eduardo Galeano; Isabel Allende (Foreword by)
Call Number: HC125 .G25313 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Eduardo Galeano has organized the various facets of Latin American history according to the patterns of five centuries of exploitation. Thus he is concerned with gold and silver, cacao and cotton, rubber and coffee, fruit, hides and wool, and more. These are the veins which he traces through the body of the entire continent. *Also available as an eBook
Our America: A Hispanic History of the United States by Felipe Fernandez-Armesto
Call Number: E184 .S75 F46 2014
Publication Date: 2014
In the Hispanic resurgence that follows, it is the peoples of Latin America who overspread the continent, from the Hispanic heartland in the West to major cities such as Chicago, Miami, New York, and Boston. The United States clearly has a Hispanic present and future, and here the author presents its Hispanic past.
U.S. Latino Issues by Rodolfo F. Acuña
Call Number: E184 .S75 A67 2017
Publication Date: 2017
A revision of the popular previous edition published more than a decade earlier, this work examines today's U.S. Latino population--now arguably the most important "minority group" in the country, with numbers well over 50 million strong in an increasingly diverse and integrated America.
The Undocumented Americans by Karla Cornejo Villavicencio
Call Number: JV6483 .C59 2020
Publication Date: 2021
In her book, Undocumented America, Cornejo Villavicencio powerfully reveals the hidden corners of our nation of immigrants. She brings to light remarkable stories of hope and resilience, and through them we come to understand what it truly means to be American.
United States History from a Chicano Perspective by Angelica Yanez (Editor)
Call Number: E184.M5 C7 2020
Publication Date: 2019
United States History from a Chicano Perspective provides students with engaging and enlightening readings that introduce them to contemporary Mesoamerica and illuminate the ways the past and present are constantly interacting within this landscape. The anthology highlights the themes of survival, resilience, and resistance.
Zoot Suit Riots by Roger A. Bruns
Call Number: F869 .L89 M4223 2014
Publication Date: 2014
The Zoot Suit Riots in 1943 and the infamous Sleepy Lagoon murder trial of the preceding year represent a turning point in the cultural identity and historical experience of Mexican Americans in the United States. This engaging study of these regrettable events provides context for understanding the continuing battles in the 21st century over immigration policy and race relations. *Also available as an eBook

50 Events That Shaped Latino History: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic by Lilia Fernández (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2018
50 Events that Shaped Latino History: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic is a valuable reference that provides a chronological overview of Latino/a history beginning with the indigenous populations of the Americas through the present day.
Always Running: La Vida Loca: Gang Days in L. A. by Luis J. Rodríguez and Luis J. Rodríguez
Call Number: ProQuest eBooks Central
Publication Date: 1994
The award-winning memoir of life in an LA street gang from the acclaimed Chicano author and former Los Angeles Poet Laureate: "Fierce, and fearless" (The New York Times). Always Running spares no detail in its vivid, brutally honest portrayal of street life and violence, and it stands as a powerful and unforgettable testimonial of gang life by one of the most acclaimed Chicano writers of his generation. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Luis J. Rodríguez including rare images from the author's personal collection.
Archives of Dispossession: Recovering the Testimonios of Mexican American Herederas, 1848-1960 by Karen R. Roybal
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Karen R. Roybal recenters the focus of dispossession on women, arguing that gender, sometimes more than race, dictated legal concepts of property ownership and individual autonomy. Drawing on a diverse source base--legal land records, personal letters, and literature--Roybal locates voices of Mexican American women in the Southwest.
Black and Brown in Los Angeles by Josh Kun (Editor); Laura Pulido (Editor)
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2013
The first book to focus exclusively on the range of relationships and interactions between Latinas/os and African Americans in one of the most diverse cities in the United States, the book delivers supporting evidence that Los Angeles is a key place to study racial politics while also providing the basis for broader discussions of multiethnic America.
Black in Latin America by Henry Louis Gates Jr.
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2011
12.5 million Africans were shipped to the New World during the Middle Passage. Over ten and a half million were taken to the Caribbean and Latin America. So Henry Louis Gates, Jr. set out on a quest to discover how Latin Americans of African descent live now, and how the countries acknowledge―or deny―their African past.
Blood Lines: Myth, Indigenism, and Chicana/o Literature by Sheila Marie Contreras
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Blood Lines: Myth, Indigenism, and Chicana/o Literature examines a broad array of texts that have contributed to the formation of an indigenous strand of Chicano cultural politics. In particular, this book exposes the ethnographic and poetic discourses that shaped the aesthetics and stylistics of Chicano nationalism and Chicana feminism.
Blowout! Sal Castro and the Chicano Struggle for Educational Justice by Mario T. García; Sal Castro
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2011
This fascinating testimonio, or oral history, transcribed and presented in Castro's voice by historian Mario T. Garcia, is a compelling, highly readable narrative of a young boy growing up in Los Angeles who made history by his leadership in the blowouts and in his career as a dedicated and committed teacher.
Everyday Injustice: Latino Professionals and Racism by Maria Chávez
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2011
As members of the fastest-growing demographic group in America, Latinos are increasingly represented in the professional class, but they continue to face significant racism. Everyday Injustice introduces readers to the challenges facing Latino professionals today. The book examines racial framing in America, the role of language and culture among Latino professionals, the role of Latinos in the workplace, their level of civic participation, and the important role that education plays in improving their experiences.
Eyewitness: A Filmmaker's Memoir of the Chicano Movement by Jesus Salvador Trevino
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2001
Noted filmmaker Jesus Salvador Trevino participated in and documented the most important events in the Mexican-American Civil Rights Movement of the late 1960s and early 1970s. Coming of age during the turmoil of the sixties.
Great Lives from History: Latinos by Yvette Benavides (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2021
This new, second edition of Salem Press' best-selling Great Lives from History: Latinos features dozens of new profiles of the individuals who have defined Latino history in the United States, as well as substantial updates to existing entries. A three-volume set, the collection offers profiles of hundreds of notable figures from the 19th century through today.
Harmonizing Latina Visions and Voices : Cultural Explorations of Entornos by Edited by Amarilys Estrella and Melissa Maldonado-Salcedo
Call Number: ProQuest eBook Central
Publication Date: 2024
Harmonizing Latina Visions and Voices: Cultural Explorations of Entornos discursively challenges the erasures, stigma, and silences imposed on women by functioning as a harmonizing choir, a collection of voices to testify on mujerismo, its vision, and its promise for (our) future. We harmonize these diverse voices, understanding that these stories, poems, and essays are invoking different spaces, times, and experiences. We offer them as an intergenerational, intellectual, and spiritual dialogue.
Latina/os and World War II by Maggie Rivas-Rodríguez (Editor); B. V. Olguín (Editor)
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2014
The first book-length study of Latina/o experiences in World War II over a wide spectrum of identities and ancestries--from Cuban American, Spanish American, and Mexican American segments to the under-studied Afro-Latino experience--Latina/os and World War II probes the controversial aspects of Latina/o soldiering and citizenship in the war.
Latino America: A State-By-State Encyclopedia by Mark Overmyer-Velazquez (Editor)
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2008
The overlooked history and the debates over new immigration from Mexico and Central America are illuminated by this first state-by-state history of people termed Latinos or Hispanics. All 50 states and the District of Columbia are covered in individual chapters.
Latino Leaders Speak by Mickey Ibarra (Editor); María Pérez-Brown (Editor)
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2017
This book gathers together the personal stories of national Latino leaders--including former Congressman Henry Bonilla, former Los Angeles mayor Antonio Villaraigosa and journalist Soledad O'Brien.
Latino Politics en Ciencia Política by Tony Affigne (Editor); Evelyn Hu-DeHart (Editor); Marion Orr (Editor)
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Using new evidence from the largest-ever scientific survey addressed exclusively to Latino/Hispanic respondents, Latino Politics en Ciencia Política explores political diversity within the Latino community, considering how intra-community differences influence political behavior and policy preferences.
North from Mexico: The Spanish-Speaking People of the United States, by Carey McWilliams; Matt S. Meier; Alma M. García
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Carey McWilliams's North From Mexico, first published in 1948, is a classic survey of Chicano history. Now fully updated by Alma M. García to cover the period from 1990 to the present, McWilliams's quintessential book explores all aspects of Chicano/a experiences in the United States, including employment, family, immigration policy, language issues, and other cultural, political, and social issues.
Race and Identity in Hispanic America: The White, the Black, and the Brown by Patricia Reid-Merritt; Michael S. Rodriguez
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2020
This book offers a historical and comparative overview of the evolution of racial classifications in the United States and in Hispanic/Latino countries in the Western Hemisphere and Caribbean.
Reclaiming the Americas by Tatiana Reinoza
Call Number: ProQuest eBooks Central
Publication Date: 2023
Reclaiming the Americas is the visual history of Latinx printmaking in the US. Tatiana Reinoza employs a pan-ethnic comparative model for this interdisciplinary study of graphic art, drawing on art history, Latinx studies, and geography in her discussions. The book contests printmaking's historical complicity in the logics of colonization and restores the art form and the lands it once illustrated to the Indigenous, migrant, mestiza/o, and Afro-descendant people of the Americas.
Rewriting the Chicano Movement by Mario T. García (Editor); Ellen McCracken (Editor)
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2021
Rewriting the Chicano Movement is a collection of powerful new essays on the Chicano Movement that expand and revise our understanding of the movement. These essays capture the commitment, courage, and perseverance of movement activists, both men and women, and their struggles to achieve the promises of American democracy.
Testimonio by F. Arturo Rosales
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2000
Beginning with the early 1800s and extending to the modern era, Rosales collects illuminating documents that shed light on the Mexican-American quest for life, liberty, and justice. Documents include petitions, correspondence, government reports, political proclamations, newspaper items, congressional testimony, memoirs, and even international treaties.
Unauthorized: Portraits of Latino Immigrants by Marisol Clark-Ibanez; Richelle S. Swan
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Unauthorized: Portraits of Latino Immigrants takes readers inside the diverse contemporary worlds of undocumented Latino immigrants in the United States, exploring the myths and realities of education, health care, work, deportation, and more. This book aims to dispel common misconceptions while introducing readers to real people behind the headlines.