Provides over 1,700 clear illustrations of terms used in plant identification keys and descriptions.

This dictionary provides entries on 6,000 botanical names, those most frequently encountered by gardeners and horticulturists, and also also cross-references 3,000 vernacular names to their botanical names.

Authoritative reference work to the plants of North American horticulture * 1,312 pages * 23,979 entries with description for families, genera, and species * 10,326 cross-indexed synonyms * A large but uncounted number of entries for subspecies, varieties, forms, and cultivars * Notes on use, culture, and propagation * 187 general articles * 260 illustrations * 3,293 authors of botanical names cited * 1,105 glossary definitions of botanical terms * 10,408 common names More than two decades were spent in writing and producing Hortus Third. It is the outgrowth of a program of research in the systematics of cultivated plants, initiated in the late nineteenth century by Liberty Hyde Bailey and continuing today within the framework of his philosophy that knowledge in basic science should be made available to society as a whole.

Covering trees, shrubs, fruits, vegetables, herbs, flowers, and lawns, Wyman's Gardening Encyclopedia features: different plants listed alphabetically by scientific name, cross-referenced for common names. The rating of all species for hardiness, keyed to the six-color Hardiness Zone map of the United States and Canada. Listing of scientific name, height, hardiness rating, and common name for easy reference.

The AHS A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants is comprehensive, detailed, and lavishly illustrated guide to garden plants. With authoritative coverage of more than 15,000 ornamental plants, accompanied by nearly 6,000 full-color photographs.

This comprehensive guide contains all the techniques you need with easy-to-follow, step-by-step explanations of how to propagate your plant. Whether you want to increase your plants by the easiest or most reliable methods of propagation, experiment with more unusual or advanced techniques, or use specialized techniques for a favorite plant group, you will find everything you need in this approachable handbook.

The Commercial Greenhouse, third edition, is a complete reference for the modern commercial greenhouse grower, educator, and student. The book is a complete reference on greenhouse systems and technologies and the science of growing crops.

Several concurrent trends have created the need for a new book on annual plants. One is the increasing popularity of container gardening, for which these plants are particularly suited. Another is the hottest trend in landscaping -- creating a bold, even jungly look through the use of tropical plants and other dramatic specimens, most grown as annuals in temperate zones.

Focusing on energy and water conservation, green-waste reduction, water-quality preservation, wildlife habitat, and edible landscaping, this guide to desert gardening provides practical instructions on creating a landscape from start to finish, covering site assessment, landscape design, plant selection, and plant maintenance.

Originally published in 2000, Armitage's Garden Perennials quickly became a garden-shelf classic. Beloved for its well-edited plant selection and Armitage's trusted advice on choosing and caring for the best plants.

Essential Perennials focuses on what every gardener needs to know to choose from the thousands of perennials available, and care for the ones you already have. This A-to-Z guide is packed with more than 2,700 plants, with each entry listing flower color, bloom time, foliage characteristics, size, and light and temperature requirements. Each profile is supported by stunning color photography that showcases the flower and foliage that make each plant unique. (Also available as an ebook)

Drawing upon her vast knowledge of perennials and how they perform in the arid Southwest, Mary Irish has produced the definitive guide for gardeners who want to create lush, colorful gardens while keeping artificial irrigation to a minimum.

Legendary gardener and plantswoman Beth Chatto describes how she transformed a piece of wasteland into a lush and blooming garden in this beautiful book, filled with helpful tips and practical advice.

The Xeriscape Plant Guide is a full-color, comprehensive resource for more than 100 low-water-use plants that bring color, beauty and utility to your landscape.

A fascinating look at the inner workings of the plant kingdom, written for gardeners.

As surely as gardens change with the seasons, gardening is ever changing. New plants, techniques, materials, and lifestyles are constantly broadening the choices you have and reshaping the way you garden in the West.