A non-profit database providing information on wild California plants

CNPS brings together science, education, conservation, and gardening to power the native plant movement.

Since 1980, the UC Master Gardener Program has been extending research-based information about home horticulture and pest management to the public.

The Jepson eFlora is the foremost authority on the native and naturalized vascular plants of California. For plants occurring in wildlands or otherwise outside of cultivation, the Jepson eFlora contains taxonomic treatments, distribution maps, illustrations, photographs, and identification keys.

USDA’s PLANTS Database provides standardized information about vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the United States and its territories.

"GRIN taxonomic data provide the structure and nomenclature for accessions of the National Plant Germplasm System, part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Genetic Resources Program. GRIN Taxonomy for Plants represents all families and genera of vascular plants and 51,691 species from throughout the world, especially economic plants and their relatives. It also provides information on scientific and common names, classification, distribution, references, and economic impacts."

Browse 1,422,000 global plant names, 200,200 detailed descriptions, and 374,800 images

IPNI is the product of a collaboration between The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, The Harvard University Herbaria, and the Australian National Herbarium. It is a database of names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes.

ITIS provides authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. ITIS is a partnership of U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies (ITIS- North America); other organizations; and taxonomic specialists.

Official government website that provides information on various topics related to agriculture including biotechnology, conservation, farming, forestry, food and nutrition, plants, organic, research and science, and more.

Peer reviewed journal articles published by the University of California, Agriculture and Natural Resources. Recent journal articles provide peer reviewed research, reviews, news articles and news reports. Archive of previous journal volumes are available dating back to 1946.