LibGuides: July: Disability Pride Month: Books and DVD's

Books and eBooks

Ableism: The Causes and Consequences of Disability Prejudice by Michelle R. Nario-Redmond
Call Number: HV1568 .N369 2020

Publication Date: 2020

Filling a significant gap in the field, Ableism: The Causes and Consequences of Disability Prejudice is the first work to synthesize classic and contemporary studies on the evolutionary, ideological, and cognitive-emotional sources of ableism.
Addressing Ableism: Philosophical Questions via Disability Studies by Jennifer Scuro
Call Number: HV1568 .S389 2018

Publication Date: 2017

Addressing Ableism is a set of philosophical meditations outlining the scale and scope of ableism. By explicating concepts like experience, diagnosis, precariousness, and prosthesis, Scuro maps out the institutionalized and intergenerational forms of this bias as it is analogous and yet also distinct from other kinds of dehumanization, discrimination, and oppression.
The Anti-Ableist Manifesto by Tiffany Yu
Call Number: HV1568 .Y82 2024

Publication Date: 2024

Tiffany Yu takes readers on a revelatory examination of disability--how to unpack biases and build an inclusive and accessible world. The Anti-Ableist Manifesto frames context for conversations, breaks down the language of ableism, identifies microagressions, and offers actions that lead to authentic allyship.
Assistive Technology for People with Disabilities by Alan Foley; Denis K. Anson
Call Number: HV1569.5 .A56 2018

Publication Date: 2018

This book shows how assistive technology helps individuals with disabilities perform tasks that people without disabilities may take for granted. Assistive technology can be used in two ways: to help people with disabilities to do things that people without disabilities can do without technology, and to improve access to everyday technology that is not designed for people with disabilities.
Beautiful People: My Thirteen Truths about Disability by Melissa Blake
Call Number: CT275.B43 B53 2024

Publication Date: 2024

Well-known disability activist and social media influencer Melissa Blake offers a frank, illuminating memoir and a call to action for disabled people and allies.
But You Look So Normal by Claudia Marseille
Call Number: HV2380 .M37 2024

Publication Date: 2024

When four-year-old Claudia Marseille was diagnosed with severe hearing loss and received her first hearing aid, her lifelong journey to fit in began. Here, she reveals how she overcame loneliness and isolation and carved out a fulfilling life for herself somewhere between the mainstream culture and the Deaf world.
Demystifying Disability: What to Know, What to Say, and How to be an Ally by Emily Ladau
Call Number: HV3011 .L33 2021

Publication Date: 2021

An approachable guide to being a thoughtful, informed ally to disabled people, with actionable steps for what to say and do (and what not to do) and how you can help make the world a more accessible, inclusive place.
A Disability History of the United States by Kim E. Nielsen
Call Number: HV1553 .N54 2012

Publication Date: 2012

The first book to cover the entirety of disability history, from pre-1492 to the present. Throughout the book, Nielson illustrates how concepts of disability have deeply shaped the American experience from deciding who was allowed to immigrate to establishing labor laws and justifying slavery and gender discrimination.
Disability Intimacy by Alice Wong
Call Number: HQ30.5 .D57 2024

Publication Date: 2024

What is intimacy? More than sex, more than romantic love, the pieces in this stunning and illuminating new anthology offer broader and more inclusive definitions of what it can mean to be intimate with another person. Explorations of caregiving, community, access, and friendship offer us alternative ways of thinking about the connections we form with others-a vital reimagining in an era when forced physical distance is at times a necessary norm.
Disability Pride: Dispatches from a Post-ADA World by Ben Mattlin
Call Number: HV1553 .M3725 2022

Publication Date: 2022

An eye-opening portrait of the diverse disability community as it is today, and how disability attitudes, activism, and representation have evolved since the passage of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).
Disability Studies by Dan Goodley
Call Number: HV1568.2 .G665 2025

Publication Date: 2025

What if disability isn't a problem but a resource? This updated edition of a classic text in the field of disability studies interrogates the commonly held view that disability is something that needs to be 'cured' or 'eradicated'. It shows us how disability can challenge our thinking and help us to imagine a more socially just society, offering an engaging introduction to a diverse and globally expanding subject.
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly by Jean-Dominique Bauby
Call Number: RC388.5 .B39513 1998

Publication Date: 1998

In 1995, Jean-Dominique Bauby was the editor-in-chief of French Elle, the father of two young children, a 44-year-old man known and loved for his wit, his style, and his impassioned approach to life. By the end of the year he was also the victim of a rare kind of stroke to the brainstem. After 20 days in a coma, Bauby awoke into a body which had all but stopped working: only his left eye functioned, allowing him to see and, by blinking it: dictating a word at a time, blinking to select each letter as the alphabet was recited to him slowly, over and over again. In the same way, he was able eventually to compose this extraordinary book.
The Essential Guide for Families with Down Syndrome by Steve Friedman (Footnotes by, Introduction by)
Call Number: RC571 .D696 2023

Publication Date: 2023

The Essential Guide for Families with Down Syndrome paves a path forward for families and caregivers of those with Down syndrome who are navigating their self-advocate's independence. This guidebook provides step-by-step support for families of with Down syndrome.
Leg: The Story of a Limb and the Boy Who Grew From It by Greg Marshall
Call Number: PS3613.A77345 Z46 2023

Publication Date: 2024

A hilarious and poignant memoir grappling with family, disability, and coming of age in two closets--as a gay man and as a man living with cerebral palsy. Packed with outrageous stories of a singular childhood, it is also a startlingly original examination of what it means to transform when there are parts of yourself you can't change, a moving portrait of a family in crisis, and a tale of resilience of spirit.
Nolo's Guide to Social Security Disability by David A. Morton III
Call Number: HD7105.25.U6 M675 2024

Publication Date: 2024

This comprehensive and compassionate book covers both SSDI and SSI, shows you how to prove a disability, and explains how your age, education, and work experience affect your chances. Parents will find special information about benefits available to children with a disability.
See Me Rolling: On Disability, Equality and Ten-Point Turns by Lottie Jackson
Call Number: HV1559.G6 J33 2023

Publication Date: 2023

In this warm, thought-provoking and often hilarious memoir, Lottie Jackson reflects on her experiences of living with disability: from the difficulties of going shopping on a mobility scooter, to the headache of defining oneself on a tick-box form, and from the indignities of the so-called easy-pull tights aid to the intense pleasure of finally swapping a hospital gown for a slinky dress.
Unfit Parent: A Disabled Mother Challenges an Inaccessible World by Jessica Slice
Call Number: HQ759.912 .S55 2025

Publication Date: 2025

A paradigm shifting look at the landscape of disabled parenting--the joys, stigma, and discrimination--and how disability culture holds the key to transforming the way we all raise our kids In Unfit Parent, Slice debunks the exclusionary myths that deem disabled people "unfit" to care for their children, instead showing how disabled parents and disability culture provide valuable lessons for rejecting societal rules that encourage perfectionism and lead to isolation.

College Success for Students with Learning Disabilities by Cynthia G. Simpson; Vicky G. Spencer
Call Number: Ebsco eBooks

Publication Date: 2021

College Success for Students With Learning Disabilities (2nd ed.) offers students the knowledge, guidance, and strategies they need to effectively choose a college, prepare for university life, and make the most of their collegiate experience.
Disability: A Reference Handbook by Michael Rembis
Call Number: Gale Ebooks

Publication Date: 2019

This book offers a rare mix of interpretive chapters and primary sources that will be of value to anyone interested in learning about important disability-related issues from the perspective of disabled people themselves.
Disability Experiences: Memoirs, Autobiogrpahies, and Other Personal Narratives by Gale Editors (Compiled by)
Call Number: Gale Ebook

Publication Date: 2019

Disability Experience: Memoirs, Autobiographies, and Other Personal Narratives presents essays on 200 narrative works written by persons with disabilities. The disabilities covered are mostly physical, but psychological/psychiatric conditions, developmental/intellectual impairments, and addiction are also included.
Disability Visibility: First-Person Stories from the Twenty-First Century by Alice Wong (Editor)
Call Number: Proquest eBook

Publication Date: 2020

One in five people in the United States lives with a disability. Some disabilities are visible, others less apparent--but all are underrepresented in media and popular culture. Now, just in time for the thirtieth anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act, activist Alice Wong brings together this urgent, galvanizing collection of contemporary essays by disabled and neurodiverse people.
Being Heumann by Judith Heumann; Kristen Joiner
Call Number: Proquest eBooks

Publication Date: 2020

Being Heumann recounts Judy Heumann's lifelong battle to achieve respect, acceptance, and inclusion in society. Working with a community of over 150 disabled activists and allies, Judy successfully pressured the Carter administration to implement protections for disabled peoples' rights, sparking a national movement and leading to the creation of the Americans with Disabilities Act.
To Be a Problem: A Black Woman's Survival in the Racist Disability Rights Movement by Dara Baldwin; Keith P. Jones (Foreword by)
Call Number: Proquest eBook

Publication Date: 2024

A searing critique of the disability rights movement from within, and a call for collective liberation that is pro-Black and centers disabled people of color. For over twenty years, Dara Baldwin has often been the only person of color in the room when significant disability policy decisions are made. Disenfranchisement of people of color and multi-marginalized communities within the disability rights community is not new and has left many inside the community feeling frustrated and erased.
The Dyslexia, ADHD, and DCD-Friendly Study Skills Guide by Ann-Marie McNicholas
Call Number: Overdrive Ebook

Publication Date: 2020

This practical skills guide helps young people with who learn differently including those with dyslexia, DCD/dyspraxia and ADHD, study for their exams.
The Neurodiverse Workplace by Victoria Honeybourne
Call Number: Overdrive eBook

Publication Date: 2019

This practical, authoritative business guide will help managers and employers support neurodiverse staff, and gives advice on how to ensure workplaces are neuro-friendly. The book demonstrates that neurodiversity is a natural aspect of human variation to be expected and accepted, rather than a deficit to be accommodated.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
A multi-disciplinary database providing full-text articles for more than 6,600 magazines and scholarly journals, including full-text for nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities.

After typing a search term, use the Select a Field option to refine your search:
Subject (searches subject terms within the database)
Abstract (searches terms within the article abstract)
All Text (search the entire article)
Under Limit your results check:
"Full-Text" for full-text articles only
"Scholarly Journals" for journal articles only
America: History and Life (EBSCOhost)
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database includes selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, and full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Films On Demand
Over 42,000 academic-level educational streaming videos covering most subject areas. Wide range of curricular subjects, include history, biology, business and economics, engineering, computer science, technical and trade skills, art and architecture, music and dance, philosophy and religion, geography, environmental science, anthropology, language and literature, mathematics, psychology, sociology, political science, and more.
Gale Health and Wellness
Provides authoritative, up-to-date information on health and wellness from full text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Provides a complete one-stop resource for information on social issues. Access controversial viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Tip: Click the Browse Issues link in the site navigation bar for an A-Z list of popular topics.
JSTOR: Arts & Sciences Collection
JSTOR All Access: The collections feature the full-text articles of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Journals span continents and languages, with titles from 1,200 publishers from 57 countries. Collections include multi-discipline, discipline-specific, and region-based packages.
Overdrive
Provides access to popular and bestselling eBooks and eAudiobooks. Titles are automatically returned at the end of the loan period, and there are no late fees. Download the Libby app to access from your mobile device.
Proquest eBook Central
A collection of multidisciplinary scholarly ebooks from leading publishers.