This guide is designed to assist students enrolled in Women's Studies courses with locating Library resources for their research assignments. The guide is organized into steps that cover the basic research process for locating and citing relevant sources used in writing a paper or other projects. For general research assistance other than Women's Studies, view the links listed under Research Tools.
Whether your instructor assigns you a topic or you choose one yourself, an effective way to begin your research is with a source that presents an overview of the issues. The following database sources are recommended as starting points for identifying issues related to History: Clicking on the Browse Topics link located at the top of each database page gives you the option to search by topic. Each topic overview contains primary and secondary sources and may also list images, audio features, academic journal articles, biographies and newspaper articles.
Books, eBooks, and other Library materials can be searched using the Online Catalog. You can search the catalog by general Subject such as Women's Studies, however you can narrow you search by a specific event or topic (Women and the Civil War) or time period (Women United States History 20th Century). There are two main categories of books: general and reference. General books (located in the "Stacks" on the lower floor) can be checked out and are often used for more in-depth research. Reference books (located on the upper floor) do not circulate but can be useful for acquiring an overview on a topic.
A few selected Library reference and general titles for Women's Studies and Women's History are listed below.
Books for History 155: Women in U.S. History
Below are some books found within our catalog related to History 155.
Colonial and New Nation (Davis):
History 155: Modern Women (Davis)
The Library subscribes to online databases that provide access to full-text magazines, scholarly journals, newspaper articles, and eBooks. Since databases are subscriptions that contain copyrighted written materials, off-campus access is password protected. To search from home you will first need to log in using your MyVVC credentials. The following databases are suggested for History related research:
Some recommended Web sites for Women's History and Women's Studies are listed below:
The Library maintains a collection of instructor reserve materials. These consist of textbooks, videos, and supplemental course materials that instructors have put in the Library for student use. To find what materials are available for Child Development, search Course Reserves in the Online Catalog. It is best to search by "Course Number" (ex. HIST 155) in that an instructor other than yours may have placed an item on reserve. Materials can be requested at the Periodicals counter and generally must be used in the Library on a two-hour loan period. Photocopy machines are available for 10¢ a copy.
Citing Sources and Plagiarism
The most common way to cite sources is to use a bibliography or "Works Cited" list at the end of your paper. The works cited list includes a citation for each of the sources you used to write your paper. The citations are formatted in a consistent style according to one of several standard citation formats. The two most common citation formats for college research papers are: (1) The APA Publication Manual (American Psychological Association) - predominately used in Social Sciences and (2) The MLA Handbook (Modern Language Association) - predominately used in Humanities and Liberal Arts. Copies of the MLA Handbook (LB 2369 G53 2016) and the APA Manual (BF76.7 .P83 2010) are available in the Library stacks and the reference collection. An abbreviated version of each style is also on the Library's website under "Research Tools" - MLA or APA. The abbreviated version contains examples for citing full-text articles from online databases and other selected sources. If you are unsure about when and why it is necessary to cite sources, see "Understanding Plagiarism" for a concise overview. Assistance with writing your paper is available at the VVC Writing Center. Always check with your instructor for the required citation format.