LibGuides: How to Use Gale Opposing Viewpoints: About OVIC

What is Opposing Viewpoints?

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints delivers credible facts and current insight into today’s most debated political and social issues. You’ll find viewpoints, reference articles, videos, and infographics analyzing current events, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more. Opposing Viewpoints helps to build an understanding about complex issues.

The contents include:

Pro and con viewpoint articles, especially helpful for debate assignments and persuasive essays.

Full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers.

Statistical tables, charts and graphs.

Podcasts, including NPR programs.

You can access OVIC through Articles and Databases by clicking here.

Off-Campus Access: Login using your MyVVC credentials.

Need More Help?

Virtual Reference Hours:

M-Th 8 AM - 9 PM

Fri - Sat 8 AM - 4 PM

Sun: Closed

Holidays: Closed

What Else?

Salem Press Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to selected eBook titles within the subjects of Health, History, Literature, and Science. The print format of the titles are also available in the Librarys Reference collection.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database providing full-text articles for more than 6,600 magazines and scholarly journals, including full-text for nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities.
After typing a search term, use the Select a Field option to refine your search:
Subject (searches subject terms within the database)
Abstract (searches terms within the article abstract)
All Text (search the entire article)
Under Limit your results check:
"Full-Text" for full-text articles only
"Scholarly Journals" for journal articles only