LibGuides: Geology Research Guide: Finding Books

Finding Books

Books, eBooks, and other Library materials can be searched using the Online Catalog. Books for Geology are located in sections QE-QH in the Library's collection. There are two main categories of books: general and reference. General books (located in the "Stacks" on the lower floor) can be checked out and are often used for more in-depth research. Reference books (located on the upper floor) do not circulate but can be useful for acquiring an overview on a topic.

Course Reserves

The Library maintains a collection of instructor reserve materials. These consist of textbooks, videos, and supplemental course materials that instructors have put in the Library for student use. To find what materials are available for Geology, search Course Reserves in the Online Catalog. It is best to search by "Course Number" (ex. GEOL 101) in that an instructor other than yours may have placed an item on reserve. Materials can be requested at the Periodicals counter and generally must be used in the Library on a two-hour loan period.

A few selected Library circulating and reference titles for Geology are listed below. Please note: some eBooks are also available in print in the reference section of the library.

Circulating Books to Check-Out

A Brief History of Earth by Andrew H. Knoll
Call Number: QB631.2 .K66 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Placing twenty first-century climate change in deep context, A Brief History of Earth is an indispensable look at where we've been and where we're going. Features original illustrations depicting Earth history and nearly 50 figures (maps, tables, photographs, graphs).
California's Amazing Geology by Donald R. Prothero
Call Number: QE89 .P76 2024
Publication Date: 2024
California has some of the most distinctive and unique geology in the United States. This book discusses not only the important geologic features of each region in California but also the complex geologic four-dimensional puzzle of how California was assembled, beginning over two billion years ago.
Extinctions in the History of Life by Paul D. Taylor (Editor)
Call Number: QE 721.2 E97 E87 2004
Publication Date: 2009
Extinction is the ultimate fate of all biological species - over 99 percent of the species that have ever inhabited the Earth are now extinct. The long fossil record of life provides scientists with crucial information about when species became extinct, which species were most vulnerable to extinction, and what processes may have brought about extinctions in the geological past.
The Last Days of the Dinosaurs by Riley Black
Call Number: QE721.2.E97 B57 2022
Publication Date: 2022
Riley Black walks readers through what happened in the days, the years, the centuries, and the million years after the impact, tracking the sweeping disruptions that overtook this one spot, and imagining what might have been happening elsewhere on the globe.
The Princeton Field Guide to Pterosaurs by Gregory S. Paul
Call Number: QE862.P7 P38 2022
Publication Date: 2022
The most up-to-date and authoritative illustrated guide to the marvelous flying reptiles that dominated the skies of the Mesozoic for 160 million years Once seen by some as evolutionary dead-enders, pterosaurs were vigorous winged reptiles capable of thriving in an array of habitats and climates, including polar winters.
Reading the Rocks: How Victorian Geologists Discovered the Secret of Life by Brenda Maddox
Call Number: QE21 .M33 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Acclaimed biographer and science writer Brenda Maddox's story goes beyond William Smith, the father of English geology; Charles Lyell, the father of modern geology; and James Hutton, whose analysis of rock layers unveiled what is now called “deep time.” She also explores the lives of fossil hunter Mary Anning, the Reverend William Buckland, Darwin, and many others.
Roadside Geology of Southern California by Arthur Gibbs Sylvester; Elizabeth O'Black Gans
Call Number: QE89 .S95 2016
Publication Date: 2016
With dazzling color maps, diagrams, and photographs, Roadside Geology of Southern California takes advantage of this newfound knowledge, combining the latest science with accessible stories about the rocks and landscapes visible from winding two-lane byways as well as from the region's vast network of highways.
Rocks, Minerals, and Geology of the Pacific Northwest by Leslie Moclock; Jacob Selander
Call Number: QE445.N67 M63 2021
Publication Date: 2021
An essential reference for rockhounds, hikers, climbers, and geology enthusiasts.
The Story of the Earth in 25 Rocks by Donald R. Prothero
Call Number: QE31 .P76 2018
Publication Date: 2018
The Story of the Earth in 25 Rocks tells the fascinating stories behind the discoveries that shook the foundations of geology. In twenty-five chapters--each about a particular rock, outcrop, or geologic phenomenon--Donald R. Prothero recounts the scientific detective work that shaped our understanding of geology. *Also available as an eBook
Volcanoes and Earthquakes by Chiara Maria Petrone; Roberto Scandone; Alex Whittaker
Call Number: QE521.2 .P48 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Volcanoes and Earthquakes explores the massive natural forces from within the Earth that greatly affect its surface, often with dramatic and long-lasting consequences. Written in an accessible style, and fully illustrated with photographs, diagrams, and maps, the book explains the violence of earthquakes and volcanoes that impact humankind.
A Wilder Time: Notes from a Geologist at the Edge of the Greenland by William E. Glassley (Contribution by)
Call Number: QE70 .G53 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Over numerous seasons, William E. Glassley and two fellow geologists traveled there to collect samples and observe rock formations for evidence to prove a contested theory that plate tectonics, the movement of Earth's crust over its molten core, is a much more ancient process than some believed.

Reference Books to Use in the Library

A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences by Michael Allaby
Call Number: Ref. QE 5 D55 2013
Publication Date: 2013
This leading dictionary - now in its fourth edition - offers wide-ranging and authoritative coverage of the earth sciences and related topics in over 7,500 clear and accessible entries.
Earth Science: Earth's Surface and History by David K. Elliott
Call Number: Ref. QE 28 E25 2012 Vols. 1-2
Publication Date: 2012
Two volumes from Salem's series, Earth Science, Earth's Surface & History explores the land masses and seas of the world. This set describes mountain ranges, the oceans, continental movement, and a wide variety of features that have influenced life on earth. *Also available as an eBook
Earth Science: Earth Materials and Resources by Steven I. Dutch; Salem Press Staff
Call Number: Ref. QE 28 E28 2013 Vols. 1-2
Publication Date: 2012
Earth Science, Earth Materials & Resources is an encyclopaedic review of the material world in which we live and the uses to which those materials can be put. *Also available as an eBook
Earth Science: Physics & Chemistry of the Earth by Joseph L. Spradley
Call Number: Ref. QE 28 E26 2012 Vols. 1-2
Publication Date: 2012
A detailed look at the dynamics of the earths mass and how its chemistry produces change. The scope is broad, and goes beyond the basics of climate change to explore many underlying factors surrounding the issue, including geothermometry and glacial events. *Also available as an eBook
Encyclopedia of Geology by Robin Cocks (Editor); Ian Plimer (Editor); Richard C. Selley (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. QE5 .E516 2005 Vols. 1-5
Publication Date: 2004
This unrivalled, five-volume reference work covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology. *Also available as an eBook
The Oxford Companion to the Earth by Paul L. Hancock (Editor); Brian J. Skinner (Editor); David L. Dineley (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. QE 5 O94 2000
Publication Date: 2001
The aim of the Companion is to provide concise and readable accounts of the main phenomena and processes relating to the Earth.
Principles of Geology by Salem Press
Call Number: REF QE26.3 .P75 2021 and Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2022
This new volume explores the academic discipline of geology and related fields of study in more than 100 easy-tounderstand entries. Geology, the earth science concerned with the solid structure of Earth and any terrestrial planet or natural satellite, studies the rocks of which it is made, and the processes by which they change over time. Broad categories covered in this volume include: Plate tectonics, Evolutionary history of life, Geologic time, Planetary geology, Hydrology and Dating techniques, like relative or absolute dating.

Atlas of Structural Geology by Soumyajit Mukherjee (Editor)
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2020
Atlas of Structural Geology features a broad and inclusive range of high-quality meso- and micro-scale full-color photographs, descriptions, and captions related to the deformation of rocks and geologic structures.
The Concise Geologic Time Scale 2016 by J. G. Ogg; Gabi Ogg; F. M. Gradstein
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2016
A Concise Geologic Time Scale: 2016 presents a summary of Earth's history over the past 4.5 billion years, as well as a brief overview of contemporaneous events on the Moon, Mars, and Venus.
Earth's Landscape by Joyce A. Quinn (Editor); Susan L. Woodward (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2015
This unusual encyclopedia brings together in-depth information on more than 450 natural geographic features from around the world and offers an array of creative tools to promote critical thinking and classroom discussion.
Earth Science: Earth's Surface and History by Joseph L. Spradley; Salem Press Editors
Call Number: Salem Press
Publication Date: 2012
Describes mountain ranges, the oceans, continental movement, and a wide variety of features that have influenced life on earth. Includes detailed explorations of the evolution of dinosaurs, fish, birds, plant life and humans, as they were influenced by the earth's surface. *Also available in print
Earth Science: Earth's Weather, Water, and Atmosphere by Margaret Boorstein (Editor); Richard Renneboog (Editor)
Call Number: Salem Press
Publication Date: 2012
This is a brilliant exploration of the fluids on the surface of the earth and the gases that surround us. The work explores the evolution of these interactions during the earth's history, theories regarding the future of the atmosphere and oceans and specific causes and effects that are at work. *Also available in print
Earth Science: Earth Materials and Resources by Steven I. Dutch; Salem Press Staff
Call Number: Ref. QE 28 E28 2013 Vols. 1-2
Publication Date: 2012
Earth Science, Earth Materials & Resources is an encyclopaedic review of the material world in which we live and the uses to which those materials can be put. *Also available as an eBook
Elements of Geology by Charles Lyell
Call Number: Proquest eBooks
Publication Date: 2000
It's been called the most important scientific book ever. A stunning claim, but certainly Charles Lyell's Principles of Geology, published in 1830, shook prevailing views of how Earth had been formed.
Encyclopedia of Geology by Richard C. Selley (Editor); Robin Cocks (Editor); Ian Plimer (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBooks
Publication Date: 2004
This unrivalled, five-volume reference work covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences by John H. Steele (Editor-In-Chief); Steve A. Thorpe (Editor-In-Chief); Karl K. Turekian (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2009, 2nd ed.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences, Second Edition is a new 6-volume online reference work, pulling together all the key information in one source from the leading publisher in the field. This second edition is online, offering the user greater flexibility, accessibility, and most importantly, usability with 24 hour access, multi-user access, remote access and excellent search functionality. Structured for success, each article contains a glossary, an introduction, a reference section and a wealth of cross-referenced links to premium and related material all accessible in a mouse-click, making complicated, time consuming research a thing of the past.
Krakatoa by Simon Winchester
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2005
The legendary annihilation in 1883 of the volcano-island of Krakatoa -- the name has since become a byword for a cataclysmic disaster -- was followed by an immense tsunami that killed nearly forty thousand people. Beyond the purely physical horrors of an event that has only very recently been properly understood, the eruption changed the world in more ways than could possibly be imagined.
Language of the Earth by Frank H. T. Rhodes (Editor); Richard O. Stone (Editor); Bruce D. Malamud (Editor)
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Man's complex relationship to planet Earth is explored in this second edition of the landmark anthology edited by Frank Rhodes and Bruce Malamud. This volume provides a portrait of the planet as experienced not just by scientists, but by artists, aviators, poets, philosophers, novelists, historians, and sociologists as well. A unique collection that bridges the gap between science and humanities.
Phylogeography of California by Kristina A. Schierenbeck
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Phylogeography of California examines the evolution of a variety of taxa--ancient and recent, native and migratory--to elucidate evolutionary events both major and minor that shaped the distribution, radiation, and speciation of the biota of California.
Plate Tectonics by Naomi Oreskes
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2018
This book provides an overview of the history of plate tectonics, including in-context definitions of the key terms. It explains how the forerunners of the theory and how scientists working at the key academic institutions competed and collaborated until the theory coalesced.
Plate Tectonics and Crustal Evolution by Kent C. Condie
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 1997
This comprehensive text has established itself over the past 20 years as the definitive work in its fields, presenting a thorough coverage of this key area of structural geology. The thorough coverage means that it is also useful to a wider readership as an up to date survey of plate tectonics.
Plate Tectonics and Great Earthquakes by Lynn R. Sykes
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Lynn R. Sykes played a key role in the birth of plate tectonics, conducting revelatory research on earthquakes. In this book, he gives an invaluable insider's perspective on the theory's development and its implications.
Principles of Geology by Salem Press
Call Number: REF QE26.3 .P75 2021 and Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2022
This new volume explores the academic discipline of geology and related fields of study in more than 100 easy-tounderstand entries. Geology, the earth science concerned with the solid structure of Earth and any terrestrial planet or natural satellite, studies the rocks of which it is made, and the processes by which they change over time. Broad categories covered in this volume include: Plate tectonics, Evolutionary history of life, Geologic time, Planetary geology, Hydrology and Dating techniques, like relative or absolute dating.
The Story of Life in 25 Fossils by Donald R. Prothero
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Every fossil tells a story. Best-selling paleontology author Donald R. Prothero describes twenty-five famous fossils in a gripping scientific history. Recounting the adventures behind the discovery of these objects and interpreting their significance within the larger fossil record, Prothero creates a riveting history of life on our planet.
The Story of the Earth in 25 Rocks by Donald R. Prothero
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Every rock is a tangible trace of the earth's past. This book tells the fascinating stories behind the discoveries that shook the foundations of geology. In twenty-five chapters--each about a particular rock, outcrop, or geologic phenomenon--Donald R. Prothero recounts the scientific detective work that shaped our understanding of geology.
Time Matters by Michael Leddra
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Time Matters provides an invaluable insight into the background behind some of the key concepts we use in Earth science today. It shows the historical context in which these ideas were developed, the important contributions of individual scientists and thinkers, and how these ideas continue to shape our view of science and the world in which we live.
Why Geology Matters by Doug Macdougall
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Volcanic dust, climate change, tsunamis, earthquakes--geoscience explores phenomena that profoundly affect our lives. But more than that, as Doug Macdougall makes clear, the science also provides important clues to the future of the planet. Macdougall gives an overview of Earth's astonishing history based on information extracted from rocks, ice cores, and other natural archives.