LibGuides: Sociology Research Guide: Finding Books

Finding Books

Books and other Library materials can be searched using the Online Catalog. Books for Sociology are categorized under sections HM - HX in the Library's collection. There are two categories of books in the Library: general and reference. General books can be checked out and are often used for more in-depth research. Reference books do not circulate but can be useful for acquiring an overview on a topic. Reference books are located on the upper floor of the Library and circulating books are in the "Stacks" on the lower floor.

Course Reserves

The Library maintains a collection of instructor reserve materials. These consist of textbooks, videos, and supplemental course materials that instructors have put in the Library for student use. To find what materials are available for Sociology, search Course Reserves in the Online Catalog. It is best to search by "Course Number" (ex. SOC 101) in that an instructor other than yours may have placed an item on reserve. Materials can be requested at the Circulation counter and generally must be used in the Library on a two-hour loan period. Photocopy machines are available for 10¢ a copy.

A few selected Library general and reference titles for Sociology are listed below.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by Bryan S. Turner (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. HM425 .C36 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Providing an authoritative and comprehensive overview of the classical and the contemporary in the field of sociology. Featuring over 600 entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, written by leading international academics. Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field.
Cultural Sociology of Divorce by Robert E. Emery (Editor); J. Geoffrey Golson (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. HQ814 .C857 2013 Vols. 1-3
Publication Date: 2013
This multi-disciplinary encyclopedia covers curricular subjects related to divorce as examined by disciplines ranging from marriage and the family to anthropology, social and legal history, developmental and clinical psychology, and religion, all through a lens of cultural sociology. Features 550 signed entries in an A-to-Z format.
A Dictionary of Sociology by John Scott
Call Number: Ref. HM425 D5735 2005
Publication Date: 2014
Professor John Scott has conducted a thorough review of all entries to ensure that they are concise, focused, and up to date. Revisions reflect current intellectual debates and social conditions, particularly in relation to global and multi-cultural issues. *Note: older edition is located in the STACKS.
Encyclopedia of Human Development by Neil J. Salkind (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. HM626 .E53 2006 Vols. 1-3
Publication Date: 2006
This reference work presents ready-to-use facts from the fields of psychology, sociology, individual and family studies, and education. This encyclopedia covers topics as diverse as adolescence, cognitive development, education, family, gender differences, identity, longitudinal research, personality development, prenatal development, temperament, and more.
Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence by Jeffrey L. Edleson (Editor); Claire M. Renzetti (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. HM1121 .E57 2008 Vols. 1-2
Publication Date: 2008
Each entry in this work defines key concepts and explains theoretical principles. Provides information on current data sets, regional and national organizations specializing in various dimensions of interpersonal violence, and relevant web sites. Serves as a quick reference guide to definitions, statistics, theories, policies, and prevention and intervention programs.
Encyclopedia of Sociology by Edgar F. Borgatta
Call Number: Ref. HM17 .E5 1991 Vols.1-4
Publication Date: 2000
Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology. *Also available as an eBook
Handbook of the Sociology of Religion by Michele Dillon (Editor)
Call Number: BL60 .D54 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Religion is a critical construct for understanding contemporary social life. It illuminates the everyday experiences and practices of many individuals, is a significant component of diverse institutional processes including politics, gender relations, and socioeconomic inequality, and plays a vital role in public culture and social change.
LGBTQ Social Movements by Lisa M. Stulberg
Call Number: HQ76.8 .U5 S78 2018
Publication Date: 2018
LGBTQ Social Movements provides an accessible introduction to mainstream LGBTQ movements in the US, illustrating the many forms that LGBTQ activism has taken since the mid-twentieth century.
Social Issues in America by James Ciment
Call Number: Ref. HN57 .S624 2006 Vols. 1-8
Publication Date: 2006
This set contains historical and contemporary details of more than 170 major issues confronting American society. Entries cover the full range of social issues including: economic, scientific, environmental, criminal, legal, security, health, and media topics. Each entry discusses the historical origins of the problem or debate; past means used to deal with the issue; and the current controversy surrounding the issue.
Social Work Practice and Social Welfare Policy in the United States by Philip R. Popple
Call Number: HV91 .P6785 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Social Work Practice and Social Welfare Policy in the United States presents a history of the field from the perspective of elites, as well as service providers and recipients. A particularly unique feature of the book is that it chronicles and analyzes the development of social work practice theory.
The Sociology Student Writer's Manual and Reader's Guide by Stephen M. Garrison; William A. Johnson; Gregory M. Scott
Call Number: HM585 .S638 2017
Publication Date: 2016
The Sociology Student Writer's Manual and Reader's Guide is a practical guide to research, reading, and writing in sociology. This book is a set of instructions and exercises that sequentially develop citizenship, academic, and professional skills while providing students with knowledge about a wide range of sociological concepts, phenomena, and information sources.
Suicide: A Study in Sociology by Émile Durkheim
Call Number: HV6545 .D935 2012
Publication Date: 2013
Emile Durkheim's Suicide addresses the phenomenon of suicide and its social causes. Written by one of the world's most influential sociologists, this classic argues that suicide primarily results from a lack of integration of the individual into society. Suicide provides readers with an understanding of the impetus for suicide and its psychological impact on the victim, family, and society.

Disability: A Reference Handbook by Michael Rembis
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2019
In the 21st century, disability rights have become a social justice issue that concerns all American citizens--access to safe, affordable, and effective health care, access to safe and affordable housing, access to reliable and efficient public transportation, and the ability to work and participate freely in the community and in society without fear of violence.
Global Social Issues by Christopher G. Bates (Editor); James Ciment (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2014
This reference resource examines current, critical social issues in historical and global contexts. Nearly 150 in-depth, balanced, and thought-provoking articles cover a broad range of critically important topics: the environment, health, science, the media, ethnic conflicts, poverty, and immigration, to name just a few.
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences by Linda George; Kenneth Ferraro
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences, Eighth Edition, presents the extraordinary growth of research on aging individuals, populations, and the dynamic culmination of the life course, providing a comprehensive synthesis and review of the latest research findings in the social sciences of aging.
Is That True? Critical Thinking for Sociologists by Joel Best
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2021
Across disciplines, critical thinking is praised, taught, and put into practice. But what does it actually mean to think critically? In this brief volume, sociologist Joel Best examines how to evaluate arguments and the evidence used to support them as he hones in on how to think in the field of sociology and beyond.
Mass Shootings in America: Understanding the Debates, Causes, and Responses by Jaclyn Schildkraut (Editor); Frank DeAngelis (Foreword by)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2018
This work examines mass shootings in the United States, focusing on events from 1966 to 2016. In addition to providing essential information about each shooting, it surveys underlying causes of such events and potential reforms to prevent future ones.
Poverty and Welfare in America: Examining the Facts by David Wagner
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2019
This book closely examines controversial claims and beliefs surrounding poverty and anti-poverty programs in the United States. It authoritatively dismantles falsehoods, half-truths, and misconceptions, leaving readers with an unbiased, accurate understanding of these issues.
Principles of Sociology: Group Relationships and Behavior by Salem Press (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2018
More than 100 essays are arranged in these categories: Social Movements & Collective Behavior; Stratification & Class in the United States; Social Interaction in Groups & Organizations; and Sociology of Religion. Essays include a number of sections including: Abstract; Overview; Further Insights; Issues; Terms & Concepts; Bibliography; and Further Reading. *Also available in print
Principles of Sociology: Personal Relationships and Behavior by Salem Press (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2018
More than 100 insightful and thought-provoking essays arranged by: Day to Day Social Interactions; Family & Relationships; Socialization; Social Change; and Aging & Elderly Issues. Each essay includes: Abstract; Overview; Further Insights; Issues; Terms & Concepts; Bibliography; and Further Reading. *Also available in print
Principles of Sociology: Societal issues & behavior by Salem Press Editors (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2018
More than 100 essays are arranged in these categories: Deviance & Social Control; Race & Ethnicity; Social Issues & Public Policy; Society & Technology; Sociology of Health & Medicine; and Sex, Gender & Sexuality. Essays include a number of sections including: Abstract; Overview; Further Insights; Issues; Terms & Concepts; Bibliography; and Further Reading. *Also available in print
Routledge Handbook of Family Communication by Anita L. Vangelisti (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2012
With a synthesis of research on issues key to understanding family interaction, as well as an analysis of many theoretical and methodological choices made by researchers studying family communication, the Handbook serves to advance the field by reframing old questions and stimulating new ones.
The SAGE Handbook of Cultural Sociology by David Inglis; Anna-Mari Almila (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2016
A global range of experts explore the theory, methodology and innovations that make up this ever-expanding field. The Handbooks chapters have been organised into these sections: Theoretical Paradigms, Major Methodological Perspectives, Domains of Inquiry, Cultural Sociology in Contexts, Cultural Sociology, and Other Analytical Approaches.
The Social History of the American Family by Marilyn Coleman (Editor); Lawrence Ganong (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Explores the vital role of the family as the fundamental social unit across the span of American history. Both the definition of who or what counts as family and representations of the "ideal" family have changed over time to reflect changing mores, changing living standards and lifestyles, and increased levels of social heterogeneity. Articles are signed with cross references. Also includes sections for Further Readings, Reader's Guide, Chronology of American Families, Resource Guide, Glossary, index.
Social Welfare by Information Plus
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2018
The Information Plus® Reference Series gives readers a clear and comprehensive summary of the most up-to-date research, legislation, and more on each subject-all of which are vividly illustrated by numerous tables, charts, and graphs. *Also available in print
Society Explained by Nathan Rousseau
Call Number: Proquest eBook
ISBN: 9781442207103
Publication Date: 2014
Society Explained introduces students to key concepts in sociology through engaging narrative examples. After an overview of the history of sociology, the book walks readers through subjects that include individualism; culture; socialization and imagination; values, money, and politics; marriage and family; religious diversity; and education and social change.
Stereotypes: The Incidence and Impacts of Bias by Joel T. Nadler (Editor); Elora C. Voyles (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2020
Provides an invaluable primer on how culturally accepted stereotypes are impacting people throughout the United States. They detail the newest studies to help us understand the psychological and social processes that spur and sustain stereotypes, how those affect behavior and decision-making, and how the targeted groups are affected by micro-aggressions and nonverbal behaviors.