LibGuides: Economics: Finding Books

Finding Books

Books and other Library materials can be searched using the Online Catalog. Books on Economics are found in HB-HJ. Books on a particular country can be found within sections D-DT (World history and history of Europe, Asia, Africa, etc.). There are two categories of books in the Library: general and reference. General books can be checked out and are often used for more in-depth research. Reference books do not circulate but can be useful for acquiring an overview on a topic. Reference books are located on the upper floor of the Library and circulating books are in the "Stacks" on the lower floor.

Course Reserves

The Library maintains a collection of instructor reserve materials. These consist of textbooks, videos, and supplemental course materials that instructors have put in the Library for student use. To find what materials are available for Economics, search Course Reserves in the Online Catalog. It is best to search by "Course Number" (ex. ECON 101) in that an instructor other than yours may have placed an item on reserve. Materials can be requested at the Periodicals counter and generally must be used in the Library on a two-hour loan period. Photocopy machines are available for 10¢ a copy.

A few selected Library general and reference titles for Economics are listed below.

21st Century Economics by Rhona C. Free (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. HB171 .A19 2010 Vols. 1-2
Publication Date: 2010
Provides highly readable summaries of theory and models in key areas of micro and macroeconomics, helpful for students trying to get a "big picture" sense of the field Includes introductions to relevant theory as well as empirical evidence, and useful for readers interested in learning about economic analysis of an issue.
The American Economy by Information Plus
Call Number: Ref. HC106.83 .A46 2018
Publication Date: 2018
The Information Plus® Reference Series gives readers a clear and comprehensive summary of the most up-to-date research, legislation, and more on each subject-all of which are vividly illustrated by numerous tables, charts, and graphs. *Also available as an eBook
The American Economy: An Historical Encyclopedia by Cynthia Clark
Call Number: Ref. HC102 .A66 2011 Vols. 1-2
Publication Date: 2011
A compelling compilation of short entries, longer topical essays, and primary source documents that chronicles the historical development of the United States from an economic perspective. With more than 600 short entries, 31 longer essays, and 32 primary source documents, the encyclopedia spans American history from colonial times to the present.
The Concise Encyclopedia of Economics by David R. Henderson; Mark David Hall (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. HB61 .C647 2008
Publication Date: 2010
The entries cover numerous topics including basic concepts, discrimination and labour issues, corporations and financial markets, issues in economic history, economics of legal issues, regulation, environmental regulation, taxes, economic policy, macroeconomics, money and banking, international economics, economics outside the United States, and more.
Countries, Peoples and Cultures by Salem Press
Call Number: Ref. F1436 .C68 2015 Vols. 1-9
Publication Date: 2015
A 9 volume series that provides specific information on over 200 countries and self-governing territories, as well as separate appendices profiling 21 types of governments currently in power and 10 major world religions. Every volume contains culture profiles that explore each nation’s background, practices, beliefs, laws, peoples, and more. *Also available as an eBook
Country Study (Area Handbook Series) by Library of Congress. Federal Research Division
Each title in the Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world and examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors.
Crashed: How a Decade of Financial Crises Changed the World by Adam Tooze
Call Number: HB3717 2008 .T625 2018
Publication Date: 2018
From a prizewinning economic historian, an eye-opening reinterpretation of the 2008 economic crisis (and its ten-year aftermath) as a global event that directly led to the shockwaves being felt around the world today.
A Dictionary of Economics by Nigar Hashimzade; Gareth Myles; John Black
Call Number: Ref. HB61 .B554 2017
Publication Date: 2017
This authoritative and comprehensive dictionary contains clear, concise definitions of approximately 3,500 key economic terms. Covering all aspects of economics including economic theory and policy, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labour economics, public economics and publicfinance, monetary economics, and environmental economics.
Economics: The Definitive Encyclopedia from Theory to Practice by David A. Dieterle (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. HB171.5 .E33776 2017 Vols. 1-4
Publication Date: 2017
A comprehensive four-volume resource that explains more than 800 topics within the foundations of economics, macroeconomics, microeconomics, and global economics.
The Economics Book by Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: HB71 .E2683 2012
Publication Date: 2012
The Economics Book is the essential reference for students and anyone else with an interest in how economies work. Easy-to-follow graphics, succinct quotations, and thoroughly accessible text throw light on the applications of economics, making them relatable through everyday examples and concerns.
Economism by James Kwak; Simon Johnson (Foreword by)
Call Number: HB71 .K893 2016
Publication Date: 2017
Outlines a deconstruction of the framework for understanding the world of classroom economics, clarifying assumptions and misleading teachings while sharing historical insights into how economism became a prevalent influence in the U.S.
The Federal Reserve and the Financial Crisis by Ben S. Bernanke
Call Number: HG2563 .B42 2013
Publication Date: 2013
In 2012, Ben Bernanke, chairman of the U.S. Federal Reserve, gave a series of lectures about the Federal Reserve and the 2008 financial. Bernanke revealed important background and insights into the central bank's crucial actions during the worst financial crisis since the Great Depression.
Free Market Madness by Peter A. Ubel
Call Number: HB95 .U24 2009
Publication Date: 2008
our free-market economy is based on the assumption that we always do act in our own self-interest. In this provocative book, physician Peter Ubel uses his understanding of psychology and behavior to show that in some cases government must regulate markets for our own health and well-being.
The Globalization of Inequality by François Bourguignon; Thomas Scott-Railton (Translator)
Call Number: HC59.3 .B7213 2015
Publication Date: 2015
In The Globalization of Inequality, distinguished economist and policymaker François Bourguignon examines the complex and paradoxical links between a vibrant world economy that has raised the living standard of over half a billion people in emerging nations such as China, India, and Brazil, and the exponentially increasing inequality within countries.
How the Economy Works by Roger E. A. Farmer
Call Number: HB95 .F37 2010
Publication Date: 2010
In How the Economy Works, one of our leading economists provides a jargon-free exploration of the current economic crisis, offering a powerful argument for how economics must change to get us out of it. *Also available as an eBook
Inflation by Noah Berlatsky (Editor)
Call Number: HG229 .I444894 2013
Publication Date: 2012
This collection of essays explores the causes of inflation, whether inflation is dangerous, and what inflationary conditions pose the biggest threat to the economy. Essays are arranged in a for-or-against sequence so that readers benefit from more than one viewpoint.
Market Domination! The Impact of Industry Consolidation on Competition, Innovation, and Consumer Choice by Stephen G. Hannaford
Call Number: HD2757.3 .H36 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Hannaford examines the motivations behind consolidation resulting from mergers, acquisitions, buyouts, and alliances; how companies exert political pressure to their advantage; and how the actions of the most dominant players affect the choices we make at the supermarket, the drugs we are prescribed, and the movies we watch.
Nations of the World 2017 by World of Information
Call Number: Ref. JA1010 N38 2017
Publication Date: 2017
This comprehensive handbook profiles 231 nations and self-governing territories around the world in an easy-to-access, single-volume format. *Also available as an eBook
Principles of Business - Economics by Richard Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. HB171 .P75 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Principles of Business: Economics is an invaluable resource for those seeking an introduction to economics with a focus on its relevance to business. *Also available as an eBook
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society by Frederick F. Wherry (Editor); Juliet B. Schor (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. HB61 .S17564 2015 Vols. 1-4
Publication Date: 2016
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society emphasizes the contemporary world, contemporary issues, and society. This set offers historical and ethnographic narratives along with analytic descriptions of economics, social identity, and more.
The Statesman's Year-Book by Nicholas Heath Brown, Tom Alvarez, Sharan Aujla
Call Number: Ref. JA51 .S7 Vols. 1-5
Publication Date: 2019
This classic reference work presents a political, economic, and social account of every country of the world together with facts and analysis. Published annually.
Unemployment: Macroeconomic Performance and the Labor Market by Richard Layard; Stephen Nickell; Richard Jackman
Call Number: HD5707.5 .L393 2005
Publication Date: 2005
This broad survey of unemployment is a benchmark summary of the authors position which became hugely influential. This second edition brings the analysis up to date by relating it to recent empirical developments. This book is a major source of reference for both scholars and students.
World Development Report 2020 by World Bank
Call Number: HD69.S8 W67 2020
Publication Date: 2020
This book examines whether there is still a path to development through GVCs and trade. It concludes that technological change is, at this stage, more a boon than a curse. GVCs can continue to boost growth, create better jobs, and reduce poverty provided that developing countries implement deeper reforms to promote GVC participation. *Also available as an eBook
The World Today Series by Franci Wiafe-Amoako
Call Number: Ref. JA 51 W67 A37 2015
Publication Date: 2015
An annually updated presentation of each sovereign country, past and present. Chapters on each country dealing with its geography, people, history, political system, constitution, parliament, decentralization and states if a federation, parties, political leaders and elections are provided. There are also sections on foreign and defense policy, economy, culture, future and more.

Big Picture Economics by Joel Naroff; Ron Scherer
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2014
The authors show how consumers, business, the Federal Reserve, and government take into account what's going on around them to make critical decisions like buying new products, building new factories, changing interest rates, or setting budget goals. The book provides a clear roadmap to understanding the whole story behind the global economy.
Ethics in Economics by Jonathan B. Wight
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Ethics in Economics provides an introduction to the ethical systems that underpin economic debates. Jonathan B. Wight considers how outcomes, duties, and virtue work together in economic life to create wealth by addressing moral hazards and building trust.
Gale Encyclopedia of U. S. Economic History by Gale (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Designed to answer such key questions as: How has the U.S. Constitution shaped the economy of the United States? What were the consequences of Prohibition on consumers' behavior? This title presents 1,000 entries, era overviews, event/movement profiles, biographies, business/industry profiled, geographic profiles, and more.
How the Economy Works by Roger E. A. Farmer
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2010
In How the Economy Works, one of our leading economists provides a jargon-free exploration of the current economic crisis, offering a powerful argument for how economics must change to get us out of it. *Also available in print
Nations of the World by Richard Gottlieb
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2018
This comprehensive handbook profiles 231 nations and self-governing territories around the world in an easy-to-access, single-volume format. *Also available in print
Principles of Business - Economics by Richard Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Principles of Business: Economics is an invaluable resource for those seeking an introduction to economics with a focus on its relevance to business. *Also available in print
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations by Melissa Sue Hill
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Includes information on more than 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.
Worldmark Global Business and Economy Issues by Miranda Herbert Ferrara
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Arranged alphabetically by topic (Vol.1: Business & Management; Vol. 2: Economy), the set illustrates the breadth of each issue globally. Entries include primary source documents providing a deeper insight into the topic and sidebars that offer ancillary information to the entry.