LibGuides: Economics: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

The Library subscribes to online databases that provide access to full-text magazines, scholarly journals, newspaper articles, and eBooks. Since databases are subscriptions that contain copyrighted written materials, off-campus access is password protected. To search from home you will first need to sign in using your MyVVC Login. The following databases are suggested for Economics research:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database providing full-text articles for more than 6,600 magazines and scholarly journals, including full-text for nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities.
After typing a search term, use the Select a Field option to refine your search:
Subject (searches subject terms within the database)
Abstract (searches terms within the article abstract)
All Text (search the entire article)
Under Limit your results check:
"Full-Text" for full-text articles only
"Scholarly Journals" for journal articles only
Business Insights (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and comprehensive reports.
Business Source Elite (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage for nearly 1,000 business publications including scholarly journals and company profiles. Topics cover accounting, banking, international business, management, etc.
Congressional Digest This link opens in a new window
The online version of the monthly publication presenting analysis and debate on important public policy issues facing the U.S. Congress. Each month is devoted to a single controversial topic (Welfare Reform, School Prayer, Chemical Weapons, etc.) that includes pro and con position papers from members of Congress. Available full-text in Academic Search Complete Library database.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Comprised of four databases: (1) Country Reviews: provides 50-100 page reports on 191 countries covering historic, political, economic, and contemporary issues; (2) Country Wire: provides country-specific daily news on each country; (3) Country Data: allows cross-sectional data searching by country, time period, and data series; and (4) Country Business: includes information and regulations on investment and trade from the U.S. Department of State.
CQ Weekly This link opens in a new window
Provides information on government, politics, and public policy surrounding Congress. Each issue contains an unbiased, objective summary of all Capitol Hill activity from the previous week. Useful search features include browsing by topic and article date.
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
Offers coverage of all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. Combining authoritative periodical and reference content with guidance and resources to jumpstart business development plans.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Offers global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more.
Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Includes companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily.
Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window
Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.
Regional Business News (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage for nearly 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. The content is available by 8 AM U.S. Eastern time each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1980.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Full text collection of law-related resources, including cases from the courts of all 50 states and federal courts. Search court cases, statutes, court rulings, regulations, briefs, proposed legislation and more. Also includes news, business information, and international content. Allows searches in U.S. and international business entities by name and allows users to identify legal ultimate and immediate parent companies and view corporate family tree structures.

Journals

Below are some peer-reviewed journals found within our databases related to Economics:

Agris On-Line Papers in Economics & Informatics
Cover all areas of agriculture and rural development in relation to economics and informatics.
Economic Development Journal
Features in-depth accounts of important programs, projects, & trends from the US & the world. Subjects include: urban, suburban, & rural development; infrastructure financing; public-private partnerships; militray base redevelopment; business retention.
Economic Inquiry
Research and analysis on all aspects of economics published as the Journal of the Western Economic Association International.
Economics Research International
Provides information about research in all areas of economics.
Education Economics
Coverage of the management of education, with a focus on quantitative aspects of educational management and involving disciplines such as economics and operational research.
Environmental Economics & Policy Studies
Provides an international forum for debates among diverse disciplines such as environmental economics, environmental policy studies & related fields.
Growth & Change
Articles, perspective and reviews of urban and regional policy from economics, geography, public finance, urban and regional planning, agricultural economics, public policy and related fields.
Journal of Academic Research in Economics
Presents a wide range of subjects in economics: Management, Marketing, Finances, Accounting and other interdisciplinary subjects.
Journal of Economics, Finance & Administrative Science
Covers Economics; Management; and Business Finance.
Journal of Philosophical Economics
Devoted to ideas that question the methodological premises of economics as science.
Journal of Population Economics
Focuses on the relation between economics & demographics & addresses diverse topics in this area.