LibGuides: Journalism: Finding Books

Finding Books

Books and other Library materials can be searched using the Online Catalog. Books for Journalism are categorized under sections PN 4699 - 5659 of the Library's collection. There are two categories of books in the Library: general and reference. General books can be checked out and are often used for more in-depth research. Reference books do not circulate but can be useful for acquiring an overview on a topic. Reference books are located on the upper floor of the Library and circulating books are in the "Stacks" on the lower floor.

Some selected titles available in the Library's collection include:

Course Reserves

The Library maintains a collection of instructor reserve materials. These consist of textbooks, videos, and supplemental course materials that instructors have put in the Library for student use. To find what materials are available for Journalism, search Course Reserves in the Online Catalog. It is best to search by "Course Number" (ex. JOUR 108) in that an instructor other than yours may have placed an item on reserve. Materials can be requested at the Periodicals counter and generally must be used in the Library on a two-hour loan period. Photocopy machines are available for 10¢ a copy.

Some selected titles available in the Library's collection include:

The Associated Press Stylebook 2018: And Briefing on Media Law 53rd edition by Paula Froke
Call Number: PN4783 .A83 2018
Publication Date: 2018
The 2018 Stylebook features about 200 new and updated entries, including the following:
Foreword -- About the AP -- What's new -- Key to stylebook entries -- Stylebook -- Punctuation -- Business -- Data journalism -- Polls and surveys -- AP social media guidelines -- Religion -- Sports -- Food -- Fashion -- Briefing on media law -- AP statement of news values and principles -- Broadcast -- Editing marks -- Bibliography -- Index.
Broadcast Hysteria: Orson Welles's War of the Worlds and the Art of Fake News by A. Brad Schwartz
Call Number: PN1991.77 .W3 S48 2015
Publication Date: 2015
In Broadcast Hysteria, A. Brad Schwartz boldly retells the story of Welles's famed radio play and its impact. Did it really spawn a "wave of mass hysteria," as The New York Times reported? Schwartz is the first to examine the hundreds of letters sent to Orson Welles himself in the days after the broadcast, and his findings challenge the conventional wisdom.
Evaluating Media Bias by Adam J. Schiffer
Call Number: PN4888 .O25 S35 2018
Publication Date: 2017
Evaluating Media Bias is a brief, supplemental resource that provides an academically informed but broadly accessible overview of the major concepts and controversies involving media bias.
The First Amendment Bubble: How Privacy and Paparazzi Threaten the Free Press by Amy Gajda
Call Number: KF4774 .G35 2015
Publication Date: 2015
The First Amendment Bubble examines how unbridled media are endangering the constitutional privileges journalists gained in the past century.
Internet Censorship by Ph.D., Bernadette H Schell
Call Number: ZA4201 .S34 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Covering topics ranging from web filters to laws aimed at preventing the flow of information, this book explores freedom--and censorship--of the Internet and considers the advantages and disadvantages of policies at each end of the spectrum. *Available in print and e-book
The Invention of News by Andrew Pettegree
Call Number: PN5110 .P48 2014
Publication Date: 2014
This book tracks the history of news in ten countries over the course of four centuries. It evaluates the unexpected variety of ways in which information was transmitted in the premodern world as well as the impact of expanding news media on contemporary events and the lives of an ever-more-informed public.
Media, Journalism, and "Fake News": A Reference Handbook by Amy M. Damico
Call Number: PN4784.T34 D44 2019
Publication Date: 2019
This volume summarizes the evolution of news and information in the United States as it has been shaped by technology (penny press, radio, TV, cable, the internet) and form development (investigative journalism, tabloid TV, talk radio, social media). Media, Journalism, and "Fake News": *Also available as an e-book.
MOJO: The Mobile Journalism Handbook by Ivo Burum; Stephen Quinn
Call Number: PN4784 .O62 B87 2016
Publication Date: 2016
As journalism becomes increasingly competitive, students and emerging professionals need a broader skillset to make themselves more employable, whether as mainstream or entrepreneurial journalists. This book provides comprehensive coverage of all the skills and practices needed to be a mobile journalist.
The New Censorship: Inside the Global Battle for Media Freedom by Joel Simon
Call Number: PN4751 .S56 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Reporting from Pakistan, Russia, Turkey, Egypt, and Mexico, among other hotspots, the author finds journalists under threat from all sides. The result is a growing crisis in information--a shortage of the news we need to make sense of our globalized world and fight human rights abuses, manage conflict, and promote accountability.
The News: A User's Manual by Alain De Botton
Call Number: PN4749 .D43 2014
Publication Date: 2014
The author takes twenty-five archetypal news stories and submits them to unusually intense analysis with a view to helping the reader navigate a news-soaked age. He raises such questions as why are disaster stories often so uplifting? What makes the love lives of celebrities so interesting? Why do we enjoy watching politicians being brought down?
Partisan Journalism: A History of Media Bias in the United states by Jim A. Kuypers; Larry Schweikart
Call Number: PN4888 .O25 K84 2014
Publication Date: 2014
The book provides an overview of newspapers during Colonial times through the early 1980s, and then turns to demonstrating how new communication technologies have changed the very nature of news writing and delivery.
Reference Shelf: Alternative Facts, Post-Truth and the Information War by H. W. Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: PN4888 .F35 A48 2018
Publication Date: 2018
This volume will explore news consumption and media manipulation, including selective curation of news stories and the lack of a shared news narrative. It will examine the effect of internet subcultures that manipulate news feeds, set agendas, and push ideas forward. *Also available as an e-book
Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Mass Media and Society by Alison Alexander; Jarice Hanson
Call Number: HN90 .M3 T35 2013
Publication Date: 2012
Taking Sides volumes present current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. Each issue is thoughtfully framed with Learning Outcomes, an Issue Summary, an Introduction, and an Exploring the Issue section featuring Critical Thinking and Reflection, Is There Common Ground?, and Additional Resources.
Will the Last Reporter Please Turn Out the Lights by Robert W. McChesney (Editor); Victor Pickard (Editor)
Call Number: PN4867.2 .W54 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Celebrated media analysts Robert W. McChesney and Victor Pickard have assembled twelve seminal pieces on the crisis in journalism, revised and updated for this volume.

Can Journalism Be Saved? by Rachel Davis Mersey
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2010
This book reviews the complicated challenge facing journalism, tracing its 19th-century community-oriented origins and documenting the vast expansion of the news business via blogs and other Internet-enabled outlets, user-generated content, and news-like alternatives. The author argues that a radical shift in mindset--striving to meet each individual's demands for what he wants to know--will be necessary to save journalism.
Exploring Transmedia Journalism in the Digital Age by Renira Rampazzo Gambarato; Geane C. Alzamora
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Provides emerging research on multimedia journalism across various platforms and formats using digital technologies. While highlighting topics, such as immersive journalism, nonfictional narratives, and design practice, this book explores the theoretical and critical approaches to journalism through the lens of various technologies and media platforms.
Interviewing for Journalists by Sally Adams; Wynford Hicks; Emma Lee-Potter
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Interviewing for Journalists focuses on the many types of interviewing, from the routine street interview, vox pop and press conference to the interview used as the basis of an in-depth profile. Interviewing for Journalists covers every stage of interviews including research, planning and preparation, structuring questions, the importance of body language, how to get a vivid quote, checking material and editing it into different formats.
Making Hard Choices in Journalism Ethics by Sandra L. Borden; David E. Boeyink
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2010
This book teaches students how to make the difficult ethical decisions that journalists routinely face. By taking a case-based approach, the authors argue that the best way to make an ethical decision is to look closely at a particular situation, rather than looking first to an abstract set of ethical theories or principles. This book goes beyond the traditional approaches of many other journalism textbooks by using cases as the starting point for building ethical practices.
Media, Journalism, and "Fake News": A Reference Handbook by Amy M. Damico
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2019
This volume summarizes the evolution of news and information in the United States as it has been shaped by technology (penny press, radio, TV, cable, the internet) and form development (investigative journalism, tabloid TV, talk radio, social media). Media, Journalism, and "Fake News." *Also available in print
Moral Reasoning for Journalists by Steven R. Knowlton; Bill Reader
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Using more than two-dozen actual cases from around the world to examine and apply those principles of ethical journalism, Knowlton and Reader suggest an easy-to-follow, commonsense approach to making ethical decisions in the newsroom as deadlines loom. Moral Reasoning for Journalists serves as an introduction to the underpinnings of journalism ethics, and as a guide for journalists and journalism teachers looking for ways to make ethical choices beyond going with your gut.
Reference Shelf: Alternative Facts, Post-Truth and the Information War by H. W. Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2018
This volume will explore news consumption and media manipulation, including selective curation of news stories and the lack of a shared news narrative. It will examine the effect of internet subcultures that manipulate news feeds, set agendas, and push ideas forward.
Sports Journalism by Kathryn T. Stofer; James R. Schaffer; Brian A. Rosenthal
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Sports Journalism introduces students to sports reporting careers and to the writing style sports writers and media relations professionals use. The book stresses the importance of basic writing fundamentals and high ethical standards, essential values for sports journalists.