LibGuides: English Subject Guide: Finding Books

Finding Books

Books, eBooks, and other Library materials can be searched using the Online Catalog. Books on English Literature and Comparative Literature, are found in PN-PZ. You can search the catalog by Subject such as English Literature. There are two main categories of books: general and reference. General books (located in the "Stacks" on the lower floor) can be checked out and are often used for more in-depth research. Reference books (located on the upper floor) do not circulate but can be useful for acquiring an overview on a topic.

Course Reserves

The Library maintains a collection of instructor reserve materials. These consist of textbooks, videos, and supplemental course materials that instructors have put in the Library for student use. To find what materials are available for English Literature, search Course Reserves in the Online Catalog. It is best to search by "Course Number" (ex. ENGL 101) in that an instructor other than yours may have placed an item on reserve. Materials can be requested at the Periodicals counter and generally must be used in the Library on a two-hour loan period. Photocopy machines are available for 10¢ a copy.

A few selected Library general and reference titles for English Literature are listed below.

The Art of the Tale: An International Anthology of Short Stories by Daniel Halpern (Editor)
Call Number: PN6120.2 .A75 1987
Publication Date: 1987
Eighty-one masterpieces by the world's best writers--a surprising, irresistible collection of short stories from around the world.
The Best American Essays 2020 by André Aciman (Editor); Robert Atwan (Editor)
Call Number: PS688 .B47 2020
Publication Date: 2020
A collection of the year's best essays selected by André Aciman. The essays Aciman selected center on people facing moments of deep uncertainty, searching for a greater truth. From a Black father's confrontation of his son's illness, to a divorce, transcendent experience with strangers, to a bartender grieving the tragic loss of a friend, these stories are a master class in essay writing.
Best American Short Plays Collection by William W. Demastes, (Editor), John Patrick Bray (Editor)
Call Number: PN6120 .A4 B45
Publication Date: Various
The Best American Short Plays series now boasts hundreds of groundbreaking one-acts and an alumni list the likes of which other anthologies can only dream. From luminaries like Tennessee Williams and Edward Albee to the brightest stars of today, TBASP established itself as the standard bearer for its genre by presenting materials that offer a forthright annual reading of our nation's pulse.
The Best American Short Stories 2020 by Curtis Sittenfeld (Editor); Heidi Pitlor (Editor)
Call Number: PS648 .S5 B44 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Author Curtis Sittenfeld, helped create a striking and nuanced collection, bringing to life awkward college students, disgraced public figures, raunchy grandparents, and mystical godmothers. To read these stories is to experience the transporting joys of discovery and affirmation, and to realize that story writing in America continues to flourish.
The Best of the Best American Poetry by David Lehman; Robert Pinsky (Foreword by)
Call Number: PS615 .B4755 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Robert Pinsky, distinguished poet and man of letters, selects the top 100 poems from twenty-five years of The Best American Poetry.
The Big Book of Science Fiction by Jeff VanderMeer (Editor); Ann Vandermeer (Editor)
Call Number: PN6071 .S33 B55 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Spanning galaxies and millennia, this must-have anthology showcases classic contributions from H. G. Wells, Arthur C. Clarke, Octavia E. Butler, and Kurt Vonnegut, alongside a century of the eccentrics, rebels, and visionaries who have inspired generations of readers.
Chambers Dictionary of Literary Characters by Editors of Chambers (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. PR19 .D53 2004
Publication Date: 2004
More than 6,500 entries provide a guide to the wealth of characters created by writers in English. New features include concise biographies of the authors, entertaining essays, and an appendix of literary awards.
Classical Literature by Richard Jenkyns
Call Number: PA3001 .J45 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Writing with verve and insight, distinguished classicist Richard Jenkyns explores a thousand years of classical civilization, carrying readers from the depths of the Greek dark ages through the glittering heights of Rome's empire.
The Complete Pelican Shakespeare by William Shakespeare; Stephen Orgel (Editor); A. R. Braunmuller (Editor)
Call Number: PR2754 .O74 2002
Publication Date: 2002
This major new complete edition of Shakespeare's works combines accessibility with the latest scholarship. Each play and collection of poems is preceded by a substantial introduction that looks at textual and literary-historical issues.
Critical Survey of World Literature by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Robert C. Evans (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. PN523 .M29 2017 Vols. 1-6
Publication Date: 2018
A companion to the award-winning Critical Survey of American Literature, this comprehensive, six-volume set profiles major authors of fiction, drama, poetry, and essays, each with sections on biography, general analysis, and analysis of the author's most important works--novels, short stories, poems, and works of nonfiction. *Also available as an eBook
The Elements of Fiction Writing by Walter Mosley
Call Number: PN3355 .M678 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Mosley guides the writer through the elements of not just any fiction writing, but the kind of writing that transcends convention and truly stands out.
Encyclopedia of American Indian Literature by Jennifer McClinton-Temple; Alan Velie
Call Number: Ref. PS153 .I52 E53 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of American Indian Literature covers the field from the earliest recorded works to some of today's most exciting writers. This encyclopedia features the most respected, widely read, and influential American Indian writers to date.
Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature by Seiwoong Oh
Call Number: Ref. PS153 .A84 O37 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Asian-American Literature traces American writers whose roots are in all parts of Asia, including China, Korea, Japan, Southeast Asia, India, the Middle East, and more. Contains alphabetically arranged entries that provide information on the lives of notable Asian American writers in all genres, as well as synopses and analyses of their works. Includes bibliographies.
The Harlem Renaissance by Christopher Varlack (Editor)
Call Number: PS153 .N5 H37 2015
Publication Date: 2015
The Harlem Renaissance represented an explosion of African American literature, drama, music, and visual art in 1920s America, with such notable figures as Langston Hughes, W.E.B. Du Bois, Zora Neale Hurston, Countee Cullen, Claude McKay, and many more leading the charge. This compilation of essays takes a closer look at this pivotal point in African American history. *Also available as an e-book
Historical Dictionary of Gothic Literature by William Hughes
Call Number: PN3435 .H84 2013
Publication Date: 2012
The Historical Dictionary of Gothic Literature covers its history through a chronology, an introductory essay, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 200 cross-referenced entries on the core texts, central authors, and the recurrent conventions that have distinguished writing in the genre for 250 years. *Also available as an eBook
How to Write a Sentence and How to Read One by Stanley Fish
Call Number: PE1441 .F57 2011
Publication Date: 2012
Fish has always been an aficionado of language, marveling at the adeptness of finely crafted sentences. Here he offers both sentence craft and sentence pleasure, skills invaluable to any writer (or reader).
Humana Festival 2019 by Amy Wegener (Editor); Jenni Page-White (Editor)
Call Number: PS634.2 H85 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Humana Festival 2019: The Complete Plays brings together all five scripts from the 43rd annual cycle of world premieres, featuring a remarkable array of work by some of the most exciting voices in the American theatre.
A Library of American Literature from Earliest Settlement to the Present Time by Edmund Clarence Stedman (Editor), Ellen Mackay Hutchinson Cortissoz (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. PS504 .S7 1891 Vols.1-11
Publication Date: 1891
A collection of American literary works, from the early 1600s to the late 1800s. This work was reproduced from the original artifact, and remains as true to the original work as possible. Therefore, you will see the original copyright references, library stamps, and other notations in the work.
A Lifetime of Fiction: The 500 Most Recommended Reads for Ages 2-102 by William Patrick Martin
Call Number: Z5916 .M37 2014
Publication Date: 2014
A Lifetime of Fiction: The 500 Most Recommended Reads for Ages 2 to 102 is the most authoritative set of fiction book recommendations in the United States because it is a composite of the most noteworthy book award lists, best book publications, and recommended reading lists from leading libraries, schools, and parenting organizations from across the country.
The Longman Anthology of Detective Fiction by Deane Mansfield-Kelley; Lois Marchino
Call Number: PS648 .D4 L66 2005
Publication Date: 2004
A detective fiction anthology filled with award winning short stories, information on the authors who wrote them, discussion about the history and evolution of the genre, and important literary criticism.
Middle English Literature, 1100-1400 by Jack Arthur Walter Bennett
Call Number: PR255 .B45 1990
Publication Date: 1990
A collection of Middle English literature.
MLA Guide to Digital Literacy by Ellen C. Carillo
Call Number: ZA4065 .C37 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Students face challenges assessing, responding to, and producing information in today's fast-paced, complex digital landscape. This guide helps students understand why digital literacy is a critically important skill: their education, future careers, and participation in democratic processes rely on it.
The Norton Anthology of Latino Literature by Ilan Stavans
Call Number: PS508 .H57 N65 2011
Publication Date: 2010
This groundbreaking Norton Anthology includes the work of 201 Latino writers from Chicano, Cuban-, Puerto Rican-, and Dominican-American traditions, as well as writing from other Spanish-speaking countries.
The Norton Anthology of Short Fiction by R. V. Cassill (Editor)
Call Number: PN6120.2 .N59 1995
Publication Date: 1995
The Norton Anthology of Short Fiction contains a collection of 57 stories by 49 writers.
The Norton Introduction to Literature by Kelly J. Mays
Call Number: PN6014 .N67 2014
Publication Date: 2013
The Norton Introduction to Literature offers teachers the finest, most diverse selections and the most carefully edited apparatus for analyzing texts and writing thoughtfully.
The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature by Daniel Hahn
Call Number: Ref. PN 1008.5 C37 2015
Publication Date: 2015
The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature provides an indispensable and fascinating reference guide to the world of children's literature. Its 3,500 entries cover every genre from fairy tales to chapbooks; school stories to science fiction; comics to children's hymns.
The Penguin Book of the Modern American Short Story by John Freeman (Editor)
Call Number: PS648.S5 P47 2021
Publication Date: 2021
A selection of the best and most representative contemporary American short fiction from 1970 to 2020, including such authors as Ursula K. LeGuin, Toni Cade Bambara, Jhumpa Lahiri, Sandra Cisneros, and Ted Chiang, hand-selected by celebrated editor and anthologist John Freeman.
Reading Like a Writer by Francine Prose
Call Number: PE1408 .P774 2006
Publication Date: 2006
A distinguished novelist and critic inspires readers and writers with this inside look at how the professionals read--and write.
Renaissance Literature by Michael Payne (Editor); John Hunter
Call Number: PR1121 .R36 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Includes important texts by women writers alongside more familiar Renaissance masters. Offers many key works of the period in their entirety. Introductions and annotations to the texts reflect the developments in critical and cultural theory as well as the current state of Renaissance scholarship.
The Sorcerer's Apprentice: An Anthology of Magical Tales by Jack Zipes (Editor); Natalie Frank (Illustrator)
Call Number: GR75 .S67 S67 2017
Publication Date: 2017
This unique and beautifully illustrated book brings together more than fifty sorcerer's apprentice stories by a plethora of writers, including Ovid, Sir Walter Scott, and the Brothers Grimm.
Student's Guide to Writing College Papers by Kate L. Turabian; Gregory G. Colomb (Editor); Joseph M. Williams (Editor); University of Chicago Press Staff (Editor)
Call Number: LB2369 .T82 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Gregory G. Colomb and Joseph M. Williams here introduce students to the art of defining a topic, doing high-quality research with limited resources, and writing an engaging and solid college paper. The Student's Guide is organized into three sections that lead students through the process of developing and revising a paper.
Victorian Literature by Herbert Tucker; Dorothy Mermin
Call Number: PR1145 .V52 2002
Publication Date: 2001
This new anthology emphasizes Victorian nonfiction prose and verse with a generous, fresh selection of pieces from authors within the canon as well as outside of it.
Walking the Clouds: An Anthology of Indigenous Science Fiction by Grace L. Dillon (Editor)
Call Number: PS501 .S85 Vol.69
Publication Date: 2012
In this first-ever anthology of Indigenous science fiction Grace Dillon collects some of the finest examples of the craft with contributions by Native American, First Nations, Aboriginal Australian, and New Zealand Maori authors.
The Year's Best Dark Fantasy and Horror, 2011 Edition by Paula Guran (Editor)
Call Number: PN6120.95 .F25 Y37 2011
Publication Date: 2011
This annual compilation of the best short fiction and novellas features an unmatched variety of the quietly weird, the merely eerie, high fantasy, modern Lovecraftian horror, nightmarish near-future scenarios, the darkly humorous, the supernatural, and the monstrously mundane.

Acronyms, Initialisms and Abbreviations Dictionary by Matthew Miskelly (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Provides definitions of a wide variety of acronyms, initialisms, abbreviations and similar contractions, translating them into their full names or meanings. Terms from subject areas such as associations, education, the Internet, medicine and others are included.
Critical Approaches to Literature: Feminist by Robert C. Evans (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2018
It defines the approach, introduces its genesis, and provides an overview of the leading practitioners within this area of scholarship. Essays then model the approach for students by examining a variety of works--novels, plays, films, and poems. *Also available in print
Critical Approaches to Literature: Multicultural by Robert C. Evans (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2017
This book both explores multicultural approaches to a wide range of literature. It defines multiculturalism in very broad terms, using it to refer not only to different ethnic and racial cultures but also to different historical periods, and exploring cultural differences involving such matters. *Also available in print
Critical Insights: Censored and Banned Literature by Robert C. Evans (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Censored & Banned Literature examines the wide range of important literary texts that have been subjected to censorship, either at the time of their first publication, later in their history, or both. *Also available in print
Critical Insights: Civil Rights Literature, Past and Present by Christopher A. Varlack (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2017
American civil rights literature has largely been associated with speeches, letters, and non-fiction works produced by African-American activists of the 1950s and 60s. This volume not only examines key works of the African-American civil rights debate past and present, it also explores issues of gender equality and sexual orientation integral to civil rights studies. *Also available in print
Critical Insights: Dystopia by M. Keith Booker (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2012
This volume in the Critical Insights series presents a variety of new essays on the perennial theme. For readers who are studying it for the first time, a four essays survey the critical conversation regarding the theme, explore its cultural and historical contexts, and offer close and comparative readings of key texts in the genre. *Also available in print
Critical Insights: Good and Evil by Margaret S. Breen (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2012
This volume in the Critical Insights series presents a variety of new essays on the perennial theme. For readers who are studying it for the first time, a four essays survey the critical conversation regarding the theme, explore its cultural and historical contexts, and offer close and comparative readings of key texts in the genre. *Also available in print
Critical Insights: LGBTQ Literature by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Margaret Sonser Breen (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2015
This volume examines the relatively new, and expanding, genre of gay and lesbian literature through a diverse set of texts. Essays survey the critical conversation regarding the theme, explore its cultural and historical contexts, and offer close and comparative readings of key texts in the genre. *Also available in print
Critical Insights: Magical Realism by Ignacio Lopez-Calvo (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Magical Realism analyzes its evolution as well as its manifestations in different cultures. Several essays discuss the struggle between the hegemonic imposition of western modernity and subaltern, ethnicized, nonwestern conceptualizations in the Third World. *Also available in print
Critical Insights: Social Justice and American Literature by Salem Press Editor
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Social Justice and American Literature will examine the work of Richard Wright, Amy Lowell, Philip Roth, Kate Chopin and James Baldwin among others. Themes that will be dealt with are: gender and feminism; gay writers; Native American, Asian American, and Hispanic/Border writers; Appalachian and socio-economic justice. *Also available in print
Critical Insights: The Graphic Novel by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Gary Hoppenstand (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2014
This volume offers an examination and analysis of the contemporary graphic novel as literature. Specific attention is paid to the use of narrative genre in the graphic novel (e.g. superhero, crime, horror, realistic/fantastic). The most important and most frequently discussed graphic novels are also discussed. *Also available in print
Critical Insights: The Hero's Quest by Bernard Schweizer (Editor); Robert Alan Segal; Salem Press Editors
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Odysseus, Gilgamesh, Aneas, even The Lord of the Rings' Frodo-their stories thrill us with their adventure and classic quest themes. this volume considers the hero's quest with both new and original essays that discuss these types of works. *Also available in print
Critical Insights: Virginia Woolf and 20th Century Women Writers by Kathryn Stelmach Artuso
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2015
This volume examines a diverse set of texts published by notable women in the mid-20th century. From Maya Angelou and Margaret Atwood to Willa Cather and Kate Chopin, essays survey the critical conversation regarding these works, explore their historical, societal and cultural contexts, and offer close and comparative readings of key texts. *Also available in print
Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore: Gods and Goddesses by Salem Press Editors (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2018
This set examines the stories associated with gods and goddesses: their relationships with each other and with human beings; their faults, foibles, strengths, and special powers. It offers explanations of how the gods and goddesses gifted humans with life, water, fire, music, and dance.
Critical Survey of World Literature by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Robert C. Evans (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2018
This set profiles major authors of fiction, drama, poetry, and essays, each with sections on biography, general analysis, and analysis of the author's most important works--novels, short stories, poems, and works of nonfiction. The completely updated edition covers 400 writers at the heart of literary studies, and now, volumes will be arranged by world region. *Also available in print
Cyclopedia of Literary Characters by Frank N. Magill (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Articles are arranged alphabetically by book title and begin with ready-reference top matter information about the author and the book, including each book's title, foreign title if originally published in a language other than English, author's name with birth and death years, date of first publication, genre, locale, time of action, and plot type. *Also available in print
The Literary Theory Handbook by Gregory Castle
Call Number: Gale eBooks
Publication Date: 2013
The Literary Theory Handbook introduces students to the history and scope of literary theory, showing them how to perform literary analysis, and providing a greater understanding of the historical contexts for different theories.