Skip to Main Content
Victor Valley College Library
Victor Valley College
Music Research Guide
Search this Guide
Music Research Guide
Citing Sources and Plagiarism
Contact a Librarian
Some recommended websites for Music are listed below:
Music information, interviews, articles, music streams, and reviews.
American Memory Project: Performing Arts, Music
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
A collection of information about opera and operatic arias. Includes translations for many arias and aria texts.
Atlanta Music, Media, and Audio Blog
Blog run by by the Atlanta Institute of Media and Music, it covers a variety of topics including reading time signatures, how to get a song critique, tips, how to's, and more.
Choral Public Domain Library
Hosts thousands of free scores of choral and vocal works for unrestricted downloading.
One of the largest sites of classical music, composers, and works on the Internet. It is particularly useful for identifying the current availability of works by composers on CD.
Corpus Christi Watershed: Gregorian Chants
Provides liturgical music and Gregorian chant books online.
Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae Electronicum
Based at Utrecht University in the Netherlands, the CMME project represents a collaborative development effort to offer free online access to new, high-quality early music scores.
Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music
Provides images of worldwide collections of medieval polyphonic music manuscripts. The manuscripts date from about 800 to 1600. This website includes detailed information for all the known sources of European polyphonic music, high-resolution color images of many manuscripts and links to external images of anything that is available online but not in DIAMM.
Digital Scores and Libretti
From the Harvard University Loeb Music Library. Includes first and early editions and manuscript copies of music from the eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries by J.S. Bach and Bach family members, Mozart, Schubert and other composers, as well as multiple versions of nineteenth century opera scores, seminal works of musical modernism, and music of the Second Viennese School.
An online user-generated cross-referenced database of physical & digital releases, artists, labels, a cross-reference of those involved in music production, images, and a marketplace.
Offers information in regards to Music Theory, History, and Recorder instruction online. Under "resources" has links to a music dictionary, list of composers, music theory and history index, recorder lessons, and more.
Early Music Online
Provided by the Royal Holloway University of London, the collection holds digitized images of some of the world's oldest surviving volumes of printed music.
Historic American Music Sheet
Provided by the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University, The Historic American Sheet Music Project provides access to digital images of over 3000 pieces from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.
Indiana University VARIATIONS Prototype: Online Musical Scores
Includes online scores for Opera Literature, Song Literature, Orchestral and Choral Literature, Chamber Music Literature, Piano Literature, and Solo Instrumental Literature.
International Music Scores Library Project
Music scores and some recordings, mostly scanned from publications now in the public domain. Can search by instrument difficulty, composers, nationality, time period, instrumentation, genre, and more.
Introductory and intermediate music theory lessons, exercises, ear trainers, and calculators.
Musopen Royalty Free Music
Site that allows the user to browse royalty free music by composer, performer, instrument, tag, form, or time period. *Please note that there are ads on this site
Offers sheet music editions of classical music for free download. These are based on editions in the public domain, and include works by Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Handel, Mozart, and many others.
Free website that provides information on artists, composers, labels, music in film, reviews, news, a glossary of musical terms, free sound recordings of classical music, and more.
New York Philharmonic Digital Archives
The New York Philharmonic received a $2.4 million grant from the Leon Levy Foundation to complete the digitization of its extensive Archives, beginning with its founding in 1842 through the present day.
NPR Music Online
This online resource features streaming music audio, live concerts on demand, studio sessions, interviews and profiles of musical artists, and news, reviews, and blogs about all things musical.
Omaha Indian Music
Part of the Library of Congress digital archives collection, this collection contains selections from the American Folklife Center, collecting Omaha music traditions. This includes sound recordings, spoken word segments, speeches, photographs and more.
Project Gutenberg: The Sheet Music Project
Contains free music scores and sheet music.
Reading Sheet Music
Provides a quick introduction to sheet music and how to read it.
Répertoire International des Sources Musicales
Database of historical music manuscripts and music printed editions that includes full descriptions and current physical locations in libraries worldwide. Musical sources include manuscripts, printed music editions, writings on music theory, and libretti.
Sight Reading Project
This site is an online library of user-created music sight reading exercises. Can search by voicing, key signatures, intervals, number beats, and meter type. Creating an account is free, but not necessary.
Streaming Media >>
Nov 28, 2023 9:54 AM
Login to LibApps