LibGuides: Art History Subject Guide: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

The Library subscribes to online databases that provide access to full-text magazines, scholarly journals, newspaper articles, and eBooks. Since databases are subscriptions that contain copyrighted written materials, off-campus access is password protected. To search from home you will first need to log in using your MyVVC credentials. The following databases are suggested for Art History research:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database providing full-text articles for more than 6,600 magazines and scholarly journals, including full-text for nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities.
After typing a search term, use the Select a Field option to refine your search:
Subject (searches subject terms within the database)
Abstract (searches terms within the article abstract)
All Text (search the entire article)
Under Limit your results check:
"Full-Text" for full-text articles only
"Scholarly Journals" for journal articles only
Art & Architecture Video Collection (FOD) This link opens in a new window
A selection of documentaries, interviews, biographies, and how-to videos spans the visual artsfrom sculpture, painting, and photography to history, theory, criticism, and appreciationwith enough range to suit the needs of both basic and advanced courses. Click on drop-down to filter for Art History, Applied Art, Architecture, Photography and more.

Art History
Peer-reviewed academic journal that contains original articles relating to all aspects of the historical and theoretical study of painting, sculpture, design and other areas of visual imagery.

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Includes over 17,000 publications from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, the Economist, the New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography includes over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers.
Gale In Context: College This link opens in a new window
Topical database of interdisciplinary content covering the humanities and social sciences, literature, science, U.S. history, and world history with hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Diverse resource for serious fine arts students.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Provides users access and cross-reference searching for 4 major art reference resources in one location: Grove Art Online, Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, and Oxfords Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. The combined content includes over 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, and links to more than 40,000 images on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory to present. World art timelines and thematic topic guides are also provided.
JSTOR: Arts & Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
JSTOR All Access: The collections feature the full-text articles of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Journals span continents and languages, with titles from 1,200 publishers from 57 countries. Collections include multi-discipline, discipline-specific, and region-based packages.