Skip to Main Content
Victor Valley College Library
Victor Valley College
Art History Subject Guide
Search this Guide
Citing Sources and Plagiarism
Contact a Librarian
Museums & Galleries
The following are websites that can be used as a starting point in your research:
A "Fine Art Search Engine." Search by artist name, works, museums, and art movements.
Art History Resources
Created by Professor Chris Witcombe of the Art department at Sweet Briar College, this site has an extensive list of links to art history resources arranged by time period and geographic location.
Art Project (Google)
Explore museums from around the world while discovering and viewing hundreds of art master peices at detailed zoom level.
Art UK provides access to the entire collection of paintings in public ownership at national museums and organizations, local museums, charitable trusts, universities, hospitals, town halls, local libraries, and other civic buildings throughout the United Kingdom. In addition, the site includes works from a number of non-public collections, such as those in Bishop’s palaces and Oxford and Cambridge colleges. The vast majority of the works on the site are oil paintings, but works in acrylic and tempera are also included. Over 200,000 artworks by 38,370 artists from over 3,000 venues are included. While the majority of artists represented are British artists, a number of artists from other countries are also included, such as Raphael, Claude Monet, and Vincent Van Gogh.
Find brief biographies on over 42,000 American artists with sample images and links to representative galleries, museums, and art dealers. Access to extended information is available for a fee.
Huntington Photographic Archive of Buddhist and Related Art
The John C. and Susan L. Huntington Photographic Archive of Buddhist and Related Art of the College of the Arts, Ohio State University contains nearly 300,000 original color slides and black and white and color photographs of art and architecture throughout Asia. Countries covered in the collection include India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, China, Japan, Thailand, Indonesia, and Myanmar (Burma).
Mother of all Art and Art History
The Mother of all Art and Art History Links Page is available courtesy of the School of Art & Design at the University of Michigan. Contains links to Art History departments, research resources, online exhibitions, and more.
Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide
Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide is the e-journal devoted to the study of nineteenth-century painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, architecture, and decorative arts across the globe. The chronological scope of the journal is the “long” nineteenth century, stretching from the American and French Revolutions to the outbreak of World War I.
The Perseus Classics collection integrates textual and visual materials on the Archaic and Classical Greek world and the Roman world. The collection contains extensive and diverse resources including primary and secondary texts, site plans, digital images, and maps.
Reunion des Musees Nationaux (RMN), France
The Photo Agency of the Reunion des musees nationaux (RMN), French National Organization of Art Museums, houses more than 100,000 color transparencies and 500,000 black-and-white negatives relating to works of art in France’s national museums: paintings, sculptures, decorative arts, drawings and photographs.
Spartacus: Encyclopedia of British Art, 1600-1950
This Spartacus Educational UK resource offers brief essays and information on Art Institutions, Artists 1600-1750, Artists 1750-1900, Artists 1900-1950, and Architects.
Theban Mapping Project
Focuses on the Theban Necropolis, the Valley of the Kings, the tomb of Rameses II, and Egyptology. It offers maps, a timeline, Q&A’s, and updates on the Rameses tomb archeological expedition.
Voice of the Shuttle: Art & Art History
Humanities database with many useful links to art history resources. Categories include General Art Resources, Artists & Works By Chronology, Museums, Institutes, & Centers, Galleries & Exhibitions, Journals & Zines, and more.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance, and Baroque periods (1100-1850), currently containing over 15,400 reproductions.
WorldImages provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. The database contains approximately 100,000 images of global perspective. Images may be freely used for non-profit educational purposes.
Streaming Media >>
Dec 13, 2023 1:26 PM
Login to LibApps