LibGuides: November: Native American Heritage Book Display: Web Resources

Selected Internet Resources

Autry Museum of the American West
Research & Collections. The Resources Center of the Autry is the heart of the museum’s collections stewardship, research, and educational activities.
tips. . .less...
Within this over 100,000-square-foot, state-of-the-art facility reside the collection, a specially designed reading room, tribal consultation spaces, and collections care rooms. Please click here to learn more about the building. The Autry believes in prioritizing and respecting the powers of self-representation, cultural agency, integrity, and sovereignty for peoples whose cultural materials we hold. The Resources Center serves to care for and provide access to these collections through exemplary stewardship. We provide a wide range of access in order to promote research, engagement, and awareness about the histories, peoples, and cultures of the American West. In addition, we are committed to consulting and collaborating with Native nations and Indigenous communities on the interpretation, management, access, and care of Native collections
The California Native American Heritage Commission (NAHC or Commission)
The NAHC identifies, catalogs, and protects Native American cultural resources and is also charged with ensuring California Native American tribes’ accessibility to ancient Native American cultural resources on public lands.
LA County Library American Indian Resource Center
The American Indian Resource Center (AIRC) was established in 1979 to address informational needs of American Indians in Los Angeles County and to make information about them available to the larger community. The AIRC collection is the largest public library collection of its kind in the U.S.
LA Public Library: Native American Young Adult Books You Need to Read
Native American authors and characters are featured in this list including short stories and graphic novels.
National Archives Archives Library Information Center (ALIC) Indians/Native Americans
This page contains links to American history relating to Native Americans.
tips. . .less...
During November we celebrate Native American/ Alaskan Native Heritage Month.
National Congress of American Indians
The National Congress of American Indians, founded in 1944, is the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities.
The National Park Service Native American Heritage Month
America is a vast land of many cultures dating back thousands of years to the original inhabitants of the land. The history and heritage of Native Americans, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and Island communities are part of all national parks today. Throughout the year, and especially during November during Native American Heritage Month, the National Park Service and our partners celebrate together the rich traditions, languages, and contributions of Indigenous people.
Native American Heritage Month - Government Resources
November is National American Indian Heritage Month. The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the rich ancestry and traditions of Native Americans.
tips. . .less...
This Web portal is a collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.
PBS Learning Media: Native American Heritage Month
The Native American Collection includes resources of Indigenous art, history, and culture as told through the historians, artists, students, and scientists.
Plains Indian Museum, Buffalo Bill Center of the West
Explore cultures, histories, and living traditions of Plains Indian peoples in one of the nation’s largest collections of Native American art and artifacts. Plains Indian Cultures — Then and Now. The Plains Indian Museum in Cody, Wyoming is one of five museums at the Buffalo Bill Center of the West. This Native American museum explores the lives of Plains Indian peoples, cultures and traditions over hundreds of years.
Smithsonian: National Museum of the American Indian
The National Museum of the American Indian cares for one of the world’s most expansive collections of Native objects, photographs, and media, covering the entire Western Hemisphere from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego.
tips. . .less...
The museum’s sweeping curvilinear architecture, its indigenous landscaping, and its exhibitions, all designed in collaboration with tribes and communities, combine to give visitors from around the world the sense and spirit of Native America.
U.S. Department of the Interior Indian Affairs
Mission Statement: The Bureau of Indian Affairs’ mission is to enhance the quality of life, to promote economic opportunity, and to carry out the responsibility to protect and improve the trust assets of American Indians, Indian tribes and Alaska Natives.
tips. . .less...
History of BIA: Since its inception in 1824, the Bureau of Indian Affairs has been both a witness to and a principal player in the relationship between the Federal Government and Indian tribes and Alaska Native villages. The BIA has changed dramatically over the past 185 years, evolving as Federal policies designed to subjugate and assimilate American Indians and Alaska Natives have changed to policies that promote Indian self-determination.

San Manuel Band of Mission Indians
Long before the arrival of European settlers, the Yuhaaviatam clan ancestors lived in harmony with the land across the highlands, passes, valleys, and mountains in and between the southwestern Mojave Desert and Inland Empire region in what is now Southern California. Known as the Yuhaaviatam clan, or “People of the Pines,” of the Maara’yam (Serrano), they held sacred everything the land provided, and they thrived as an independent, self-sustaining community.
U.S. Department of the Interior Indian Affairs Division of Self-Determination Services
Mission: To promote and advocate maximum Indian participation in the programs and services conducted by the Federal Government for Indians; and to encourage and support the development of tribal capacity to better manage the opportunities and responsibilities of self-determination.