LibGuides: May is Mental Health Awareness Month: DeStress Resources and Activities

DeStress Activities / Resources

#ColorOurCollections
ColorOurCollections is an annual coloring festival on social media during which libraries, museums, archives and other cultural institutions around the world share free coloring content featuring images from their collections.
7 Easy Ways to Reduce Stress for College Students
Lists seven easy ways to reduce stress in the college student's life.
10 Minute Crystal Singing Bowl Meditation | Sound Healing For Relaxation & Stress Relief
Jessica Richburg
Enjoy this 10 minute sound bath meditation with crystal singing bowls for deep relaxation and healing.
CALM Free Mental Health Tools
The Essentials is a free collection of content and tools designed to help you take care of your mental health.
Whether you’re dealing with day-to-day stress and anxiety, navigating the weight of the world, or struggling with sleep, the Essentials provides a collection of carefully-curated, practical tools to help you rest and recover.
Crayola Adult Coloring Pages
Color your favorite character or a beautiful winter scene with Crayola Coloring Pages. Make your world more colorful with printable coloring pages from Crayola. New Coloring Pages Weekly.
Free Coloring Book
The Public Domain Review (PDR) Coloring Book! Free to Download and Print. Coloring is a healthy way to relieve stress. It calms the brain and helps your body relax. This can improve sleep and fatigue while decreasing body aches, heart rate, respiration, and feelings of depression and anxiety.
Jessamyn Stanley
Founder & Yoga Teacher at The Underbelly
Author of Everybody Yoga and Yoke: My Yoga of Self Acceptance
Journaling Prompts
Time and time again, journaling is mentioned as one of the best ways to reflect on yourself and improve your mental health. Journaling allows a set time to be taken out of your daily life to sit with your thoughts and process them onto the page in front of you. That idea can feel overwhelming, especially when you’re just getting started with journaling. However, it doesn’t have to be groundbreaking every time you put pen to paper. We’ve set up a list of twenty journaling prompts to help get you started.
Purdue University Stress Management Workbook
This workbook was based largely on The Manage Stress Workbook developed by the Veterans Health Administration's National Center for Health Promotion and Disease Prevention (NCP). The materials were adapted for a student population. This workbook will guide you through steps to identify and track your stress and practice a variety of strategies that have been shown to counteract stress (From the 'Stress Management Workbook').
Seven Mindfulness Techniques for College Students
Seven mindfulness techniques that will help you destress anytime and anywhere.
Yoga With Adriene
Adriene hosts the YouTube channel, Yoga with Adriene, an online community of over 9 million subscribers. She publishes free Yoga Videos and has a library of over 500 free videos and growing.

Make a Zine

What is a Zine?

Zines (pronounced “zeens”) and self-publishing have a long and rich history in the United States, from pamphlets on democracy like Common Sense published by Thomas Paine in 1776, to fan fiction sci-fi magazines (or zines) from the 1950s, to underground zines documenting the punk scene in the 1970s and 1980s. The 1990s saw an explosion of zine publishing, with everything from poetry and personal writing, to food and record reviews, to zines about work, cats, health, feminism, race and racism, and everything in between. What all zines have in common is that their writers have something important to say that they would like to share with others. Zines are artistic, personal, political, cultural or experimental small-circulation self-published work of original text and images.

Find Zines Online:

Sherwood Forrest Online Zine Library

Zines to the Future Zine Archive

Papercuts Virtual Library

Pinterest Collection of Digital Zines

May is Mental Health Awareness Month

DeStress Activities / Resources

Make a Zine

What is a Zine?

More Zine Resources