Skip to main content

How to Use JSTOR: About JSTOR

What is JSTOR?

JSTOR is an online library of Journals, Academic E-books, and Primary Sources.

VVC subscribes to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Xll which contains the full-text of 142 Journals in the areas of Language & Literature, Philosophy, Religion, Art & Art History, Music, and Classical Studies. Provides increased coverage in core humanities disciplines, with more than 60% of its content published outside of the United States; strengths include Christianity studies within the Religion discipline, as well as journals in non-Western philosophy, enriching JSTOR’s offerings in Philosophy.

JSTOR Open Content:

Explore academic content on JSTOR that is open content. Search thousands of free journal articles and open access book chapters. Thousands of titles are available from publishers such as University of California Press, Cornell University Press, NYU Press, and University of Michigan Press. JSTOR includes a growing set of open access academic journals and journal issues. In addition, all journal content in JSTOR published prior to 1923 in the United States and prior to 1870 elsewhere is freely available.

Access to Content on JSTOR

You can access to JSTOR through Articles and Databases by clicking here.

Off-Campus Access: Login using MyVVC 

JSTOR FAQs

  • Is all journal content on JSTOR peer reviewed? Nearly all of the journals collected in JSTOR are peer-reviewed publications, but the archives also contain primary sources and content that is much older than today's standard peer-review process. 
  • Why can't I access the full-text of all content on JSTOR? VVC has purchased a specific collection through JSTOR. If you need assistance finding an article that is not available as full-text, please contact your librarian for further assistance.
     

Need More Help?

 
Virtual Reference Hours:
M-TH 8:00am - 6:00 pm
Thursday, July 2nd Closed
 

What Else?