May: Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month

This collection is a continuing initiative to document the impact of AA+PI student activists, leaders, and organizers. It is an ongoing project in collaboration between the United Asian American Organizations (UAAO) and the Asian/Pacific Islander American Studies Program. It focuses on the longstanding political history of Asian American and Pacific Islander students on the U-M Ann Arbor campus.

This collection consists of almost 40 East Asian maps, manuscripts, woodblock prints and rubbings, in Chinese, Japanese and Mongolian. It features all the ancient maps in East Asian languages in our holdings.

The Silk Road, as an interconnected web of trade routes linking the ancient societies of Asia with those of the Subcontinent and the Near East, has contributed to the development of most of the world's great civilizations. The Yale Silk Road Database presents over 11,000 images of major sites in the Silk Road region taken during faculty site seminars led by Mimi Hall Yiengpruksawan (Professor, History of Art) under the auspices of the Council on East Asian Studies at Yale University in the summers of 2006-2010.

The Daghlian Collection of Asian Art is a teaching collection that contains Chinese pottery and artifacts and Japanese textiles. Donated to CUNY by collector William Daghlian in 2012, it is currently housed at Queens College's Godwin-Ternbach Museum.

Japanese ukiyo-e and mokuhanga prints from St. Lawrence University's permanent collection by historical and contemporary artists from around the world. Mokuhanga, the Japanese term for woodblock prints, refers to the traditional Asian printing method of using closely registered carved blocks with non-toxic water-based inks to create prints on washi paper that are distinctive in color and design.

Beyond the Taj is a collection of visual and written materials assembled to support instruction and research on South Asian architectural expression in the joint perspectives of architecture and ethnography. The visual core of the collection consists of approximately 7000 photographs of works of architecture, pilgrimage locales and domestic life taken in India and Sri Lanka by Professor Robert D. Scotty MacDougall (1940-1987), an anthropologist and an architect.