May: Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month

Non-profit organization that provides an array of resources and history related to Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders,

Digital collection available via USC, the collection contains oral histories, documents, newspapers and more.

Blog about the Asian American Movement, depicting the 40th Anniversary collection from the archives of the Asian Community Center in San Francisco.

United States Census Bureau

"An authoritative, one-stop information resource and sociological exploration of the historical, demographic, political, and cultural issues that make up today's diverse Asian American community."

May is Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of Asian and Pacific Islanders who have enriched America's history and are instrumental in its future success.

Digital exhibit created through Calisphere, the collection provides access to primary resources related to Asian American culture and history.

CHSA provides opportunities to learn about the ways that our community of Chinese Americans and Asian Americans have fought for equity, diversity, and inclusion in American society. In our museum we have permanent exhibits about the people, places and movements in Chinese American culture that have set the stage for our current era.

Categories include: Asia Discovers America, Asians and the Making of America, World War II and Asian Americans, The Newest Immigrants

Provided by USC, this digital library collection contains primary documents, photos, reports and more in relation to Filipino Americans.

The Hmong Studies Journal is a unique and established peer-reviewed Internet-based academic publication devoted to the scholarly discussion of Hmong history, Hmong culture, Hmong people, and other facets of the Hmong experience in the U.S., Asia and around the world. The Hmong Studies Journal has published 23 volumes and 27 online issues since 1996.

From the National Archives, the site contains primary source documents, background information, and more on Japanese-American Internment Camps and incarceration.

Provided by Calisphere, this collection contains "approximately 2,100 original items, including letters and other textual documents, photographs, diaries, scrapbooks, newsletters, art work, clothing and artifacts."

The over 150,000 objects that comprise the JANM permanent collection chronicle the Japanese American experience in its entirety from early immigration to the present. Artifacts related to early immigration to the United States at the turn of the 20th century, early life in Japanese American communities, and the World War II incarceration experience and military service are strengths of the collection.

Provided by USC digital library collection, "the Korean American Digital Archive brings more than 13,000 pages of documents, over 1,900 photographs, and about 180 sound files together."

Comprising over 21 million people, Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders are the fastest growing ethnic group in the U.S. electorate. This guide provides research strategies and pointers to materials available both at the Library of Congress and online.

This section of the guide links to websites containing information on various groups of Asian Americans. The external websites tab contains links to external organizations such as historical societies and archives. The freely accessible materials tab provides links to digital materials which are available for viewing. Links are for open access journals, digital archives, and digitized museum collections.

The National Archives holds a wealth of material documenting the Asian and Pacific Islander experience, and it highlights these resources online, in programs, and through traditional and social media. You can help make more records accessible by becoming a citizen archivist

Asian American & Pacific Islander Trailblazers in Science

Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders have a rich heritage thousands of years old and have both shaped the history of the United States and had their lives dramatically influenced by moments in its history. Every May during Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander Heritage Month and throughout the year, the National Park Service and our partners share those histories and the continuing culture thriving in parks and communities today.

The Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center brings history, art and culture to you through innovative community-focused experiences.

Provided by Calisphere, this collection "is an eclectic accumulation of thousands of miscellaneous items that document the life of Southeast Asian American communities. Here can be found information on a wide range of topics such as cultural events, pertinent issues of the day, organizations and businesses, student activities, local politics, health concerns, and family relations."

Including dictionaries, books, newspapers and other resources in and about the Hawaiian language.

Asia Society brings together leading thinkers on policy, arts, culture, business, and education for lectures and discussions, analysis and reports, exhibitions, performances, networking and family events, and more.