In 1879, the California State Board of Equalization (BOE) was established under the California Constitution to regulate county assessment practices, equalize county assessment ratios, and assess properties of intercounty railroads. In subsequent constitutional and statutory amendments, the Board was directed to administer tax, fee, and appellate programs to support state and local government. Today, the BOE focuses on its Constitutional responsibilities: Property Tax, Alcoholic Beverage Tax, and Tax on Insurers.

BEA prepares national, regional, industry, and international accounts that present essential information on such key issues as economic growth, regional economic development, interindustry relationships, and the Nation's position in the world economy.

The Business Programs Division, the largest division of the Secretary of State's office, supports California Businesses by registering business entities and trademarks and enabling secured creditors to protect their financial interests. The Business Programs Division processes millions of business filings and information requests each year.

OSHA Consultations.

Information on special license- beer, wine, food.

The California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) administers California's sales and use, fuel, tobacco, alcohol, and cannabis taxes, as well as a variety of other taxes and fees that fund specific state programs. CDTFA administered programs collect over $90 billion annually which in turn supports local essential services such as transportation, public safety and health, libraries, schools, social services, and natural resource management programs through the distribution of tax dollars going directly to local communities.

The Contractors State License Board(CSLB) protects California consumers by licensing and regulating the state's construction industry. CSLB was established in 1929 and today licenses about 290,000 contractors in 44 different classifications.

Find the latest data on claims filed, benefits paid, and the EDD's progress on processing claims.

Use the EDD Data Library to view and download information about California industries, occupations, employment projections, wages, and labor force. This information can be used to: Understand California’s economy, Make informed labor market decisions, Help improve the state’s overall economic health, Support workforce development.

The Governor’s Office of Business and Economic Development (GO-Biz) serves as the State of California’s leader for job growth, economic development, and business assistance efforts. Our teams are comprised of experts that span industries, geographies and business backgrounds. This website assists you in finding appropriate permit information for your business. It also provides contact information for the various agencies that administer & issue these permits.

Contains information on business, payroll, charities, small businesses, forms, federal, state, and local government.

Information on indoor air pollution.

Information on air pollution outside of buildings. South Coast AQMD is the regulatory agency responsible for improving air quality for large areas of Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside and San Bernardino counties, including the Coachella Valley. The region is home to more than 17 million people–44% of the population of the entire state of California.

Information on the types of businesses one can establish.

Our mission is to help taxpayers file tax returns timely, accurately, and pay the correct amount to fund services important to Californians.

Established by the State Constitution, the State Personnel Board (SPB) is charged with overseeing the merit-based, job-related recruitment and selection process for the hiring of state employees who provide critical services to the citizens of California. SPB provides direction to departments through simplifying civil service laws, rules, and policy. In addition, SPB audits departments for merit system compliance.

Industry and consumer market information. Please note: There is limited free information on this site - all items with a green "+" box are behind a paywall.

A good site for up-to-date U.S. economic statistical information including the latest numbers for the "Consumer Price Index," "Unemployment Rate," "Wages," and much more.

Links to various economic statistics and data. Special Topics links are listed on the left hand side of the page.

The Treasury Department is the executive agency responsible for promoting economic prosperity and ensuring the financial security of the United States. The Department is responsible for a wide range of activities such as advising the President on economic and financial issues, encouraging sustainable economic growth, and fostering improved governance in financial institutions. The Department of the Treasury operates and maintains systems that are critical to the nation's financial infrastructure, such as the production of coin and currency, the disbursement of payments to the American public, revenue collection, and the borrowing of funds necessary to run the federal government.

Information that may be useful on food product labeling.

The USAGov program creates and organizes timely, needed government information and services and makes them accessible anytime, anywhere, via your channel of choice. Learn how to start your own business, including imports and exports.

City of Adelanto website.

Town of Apple Valley website.

City of Barstow website.

City of Hesperia website.

City of Victorville website.

Searchable list of business registered in the county of Riverside, CA.

The Mission Statement of the Greater High Desert Chamber of Commerce is: To support and sustain a thriving regional business community with a strong and unified voice that prospers through informed leaders and vital legislative support, and offers educational, high-level networking, and enhanced promotional opportunities.

The research for the 2016 High Desert Workforce Report was primarily launched to determine the number of High Desert residents that face the drive south through the Cajon Pass for employment.

Demographical information on the cities that are located in the Victor Valley region.

The Business Registration Division operates under the Finance Department and issues all business registration certificates. In addition to issuing business registration certificates, the Division is responsible for the collection of Transient Lodging Tax, enforcing the sidewalk vending ordinance, and outdoor display ordinance. This Division issues a variety of permits and manages investigations for dine/dance live entertainment and games of amusement.

This profile report was prepared by the Southern California Association of Governments and shared with the City of Victorville. SCAG provides local governments with a variety of benefits and services including, for example, data and information, GIS training, planning and technical assistance, and sustainability planning grants.

The local High Desert chapter. The Southern California Black Chamber of Commerce (SCBCC) is a nonprofit 501(c)(6) business organization dedicated to improving the economic environment for the minority business community, and fostering business development and prosperity. The SCBCC focuses its efforts on four major areas: Economic Development, Community Development, Public Policy, Membership Services.

QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.

Demographics Map - This application shows the spatial distribution of various demographics, including housing, income, educational attainment, and more.

ASBA is an advocacy group dedicated to protecting the interests of small business in public policy issues. Contains information on issues that affect small businesses, such as health care, taxation and technology, ideas for ways to get involved, and links for further reading.

America’s SBDC represents America’s nationwide network of Small Business Development Centers (SBDCs) – the most comprehensive small business assistance network in the United States and its territories. SBDCs are hosted by leading universities, colleges, state economic development agencies and private partners, and funded in part by the United States Congress through a partnership with the U.S. Small Business Administration.

The BBB system in the U.S. extends over 98% of the nation; Helps solve marketplace problems through the use of voluntary self-regulation and consumer education. Core Services include: Business Reliability Reports; Dispute Resolution; Truth-in-Advertising; Consumer and Business Education; and Charity Review.

Homepage of the Edward Lowe Foundation, devoted to championing the entrepreneurial spirit. Lowe, the inventor of Kitty Litter, established the foundation to promote his philosophy of “economic gardening” which is a strategy based on the idea that entrepreneurs drive the economy. The Entrepreneur’s Resource Center contains materials on Building and Inspiring an Organization, Defining and Serving a Market, Acquiring and Managing Finances, Human Resource Management, and Legal and Tax Issues.

Advocacy group for small businesses; tracks issues affecting small businesses, and provides tips for small business owners. NFIB has been ranked the most influential business organization in "Washington's Power 25" survey conducted by Fortune magazine.

SCORE is a nonprofit association dedicated to entrepreneur education and the formation, growth and success of small business nationwide. With volunteers and chapters throughout the U.S, it serves as a resource partner with the U.S. Small Business Administration. Working and retired executives and business owners serve as "Counselors to America's Small Business" by volunteering their time and expertise to provide confidential counseling and mentoring at little to no cost.

Part of the U.S. Department of Commerce, MBDA is the only federal agency created specifically to foster the creation, growth and expansion of minority-owned businesses in the U.S. Assistance is provided to socially or economically disadvantaged individuals who own or wish to start a business. Such persons include: Asian Pacific Americans, Asian Indians, Black Americans, Eskimos/Aleuts, Hasidic Jews, Native Americans, Spanish Speaking Americans, and Puerto Ricans.

This Department of Commerce agency is responsible for "promoting the use of small, minority, and women-owned small businesses in compliance with Federal laws, regulations, and policies." They assist firms in securing contracts and subcontracts with the Department of Commerce and its prime contractors.