LibGuides: Environmental Science Research Guide: Finding Books

Finding Books

Books, eBooks, and other Library materials can be searched using the Online Catalog. Books for Environmental Science are located in sections GE, and QC, in the Library's collection. There are two main categories of books: general and reference. General books (located in the "Stacks" on the lower floor) can be checked out and are often used for more in-depth research. Reference books (located on the upper floor) do not circulate but can be useful for acquiring an overview on a topic.

Course Reserves

The Library maintains a collection of instructor reserve materials. These consist of textbooks, videos, and supplemental course materials that instructors have put in the Library for student use. To find what materials are available for Environmental Science, search Course Reserves in the Online Catalog. It is best to search by "Course Number" (ex. AGNR 170) in that an instructor other than yours may have placed an item on reserve. Materials can be requested at the Periodicals counter and generally must be used in the Library on a two-hour loan period. Photocopy machines are available for 10¢ a copy.

A few selected Library general and reference titles for Environmental Science are listed below. Please note: some eBooks are also available in print in the reference section of the library.

All We Can Save by Ayana Elizabeth Johnson (Editor); Katharine K. Wilkinson (Editor)
Call Number: QC903.2.U6 A45 2021
Publication Date: 2021-07-20
Provocative and illuminating essays from women at the forefront of the climate movement who are harnessing truth, courage, and solutions to lead humanity forward.
Betting the Farm on a Drought: Stories from the Front Lines of Climate Change by Seamus McGraw
Call Number: QC903.2 .U6 M34 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Betting the Farm on a Drought, a lively, thought-provoking book that lays out the whole story of climate change--the science, the math, and most importantly, the human stories of people fighting both the climate and their own deeply held beliefs to find creative solutions to a host of environmental challenges.
Biomes and Ecosystems by Robert Warren Howarth (Editor); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: Ref. QH 541.15 B56 B64 2013 Vols. 1-4
Publication Date: 2013
This academic, multi-author reference work serves as a general and non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of biomes and ecosystems. *Also available as an eBook
Canned: The Rise and Fall of Consumer Confidence in the American Food Industry by Anna Zeide
Call Number: TX552 .Z45 2018
Publication Date: 2018
The American food supply has undergone a revolution, moving away from a system based on fresh, locally grown goods to one dominated by packaged foods. How did this come to be? How did we learn to trust that food preserved within an opaque can was safe and desirable to eat?
Chasing the Red Queen: The Evolutionary Race between Agricultural Pests and Poisons by Andy Dyer
Call Number: SB957 .D94 2014
Publication Date: 2014
With Chasing the Red Queen, Andy Dyer offers the first book to apply the Red Queen Hypothesis to agriculture. He illustrates that when selection pressure increases, species evolve in response, creating a never-ending, perpetually-escalating competition between predator (us) and prey (bugs and weeds).
The Climate Crisis by Adam Aron
Call Number: QC903 .A768 2023
Publication Date: 2022-12-31
This book explains the mechanisms and impacts of the climate crisis, traces the history and reasons behind the lack of serious effort to combat it, describes some people's ongoing scepticism and how to shift it, and motivates an urgent program of action. It argues that the pathway to stopping dangerous global heating will require a much larger mobilization of advocacy and activism to impel decision makers to abandon fossil fuels, and transition to renewable energy and electrification embedded in a political and social framework guided by justice principles. It is an excellent resource for students and researchers on the climate crisis, the need for a renewable energy transition, and the current blocks to progress.
Collaborative Advantage by Jonas Nahm
Call Number: HD9502.5.C542 N34 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Collaborative Advantage offers a bold new take on the drivers and consequences of globalization, both for innovation in renewable energy industries and domestic politics. In an era of rapid international economic integration, how countries interact, innovate, and compete in industries, like energy, that are fundamental to national interests.
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation by Michael Allaby (Editor); Chris Park (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. GE 10 P375 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Thoroughly revised and updated to include the latest research in the field, A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation provides over 9,000 A to Z entries on scientific and social aspects of the environment - its key thinkers, treaties, movements, organizations, concepts, and theories.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science by John Mongillo; Linda Zierdt-Warshaw
Call Number: Ref. GE 10 M66 2000
Publication Date: 2000
A valuable reference source with a comprehensive international scope, the "Encyclopedia" describes the important environmental terms pertinent to anyone interested in this vital field. Also included are over 200 detailed graphs, tables, and photographs. A list of key contacts helps readers expand their search of environmental issues.
The Environment A to Z by David Hosansky
Call Number: Ref. GE 10 H67 2001
Publication Date: 2000
In alphabetical order, summarizes the issues, terms, laws, organizations, and personalities shaping environmental policy, including information on federal bills, advocacy groups, and current environmental trends.
Global Climate Change by H. W. Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: QC981.8 .G56 G548 2013
Publication Date: 2013
This volume updates readers on major studies on global warming; the effects of changing climate for the most sensitive areas of the planet; and debates on how to respond today and in the future. Also covered is the relationship between science and politics within the scientific field.
The Palgrave Handbook of Climate History by F. Mauelshagen (Editor); C. Pfister (Editor); S. White (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. QC855 P35 2018
Publication Date: 2018
This handbook offers the first comprehensive, state-of-the-field guide to past weather and climate and their role in human societies. Bringing together dozens of international specialists from the sciences and humanities, this volume describes the methods, sources, and major findings of historical climate reconstruction and impact research. *Also available as an eBook
The Petroleum Papers by Geoff Dembicki
Call Number: QC903 .D4468 2022
Publication Date: 2022-09-20
In The Petroleum Papers, Dembicki draws from confidential oil industry documents to uncover for the first time how companies like Exxon, Koch Industries, and Shell built a global right-wing echo chamber to protect oil sands profits--a misinformation campaign that continues to this day. With experts now warning we have less than a decade to get global emissions under control, The Petroleum Papers provides a step-by-step account of how we got to this precipice--and the politicians and companies who deserve our blame. Published in Partnership with the David Suzuki Institute
Principles of Botany by Salem Press (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. QK47 .P89 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Explores the wide world of botany--the branch of biology that studies the plant kingdom, including physiology, structure, genetics, ecology, distribution, and classification of all plants, as well as how they interact with their environment. *Also available as an eBook
Principles of Energy by Salem Press (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. QC73 .P75 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Energy, the capacity of an object to do work, is one of the most fundamental principles, affecting nearly every aspect of life on this planet. Numerous issues surrounding energy have wide-ranging Implications for the world we live in today, significantly impacting economics, politics, and climate science, in addition to many other fields. *Also available as an eBook
Rainforest by Tony Juniper
Call Number: QH541.5.R27 J865 2019
Publication Date: 2019
In Rainforest: Dispatches from Earth's Most Vital Frontlines, a prominent conservationist provides a comprehensive view of the crucial roles rainforests serve, the state of the world's rainforests today, and the inspirational efforts underway to save them.
Seed Money: Monsanto's Past and our Food Future by Bartow J. Elmore
Call Number: HD9482.U64 M644 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Monsanto, a St. Louis chemical firm that became the world's largest maker of genetically engineered seeds, merged with German pharma-biotech giant Bayer in 2018 but its Roundup Ready seeds, introduced twenty-five years ago, are still reshaping the farms that feed us.
Sustainable Forests: Global Challenges and Local Solutions by O. Thomas Bouman (Editor); David G. Brand (Editor)
Call Number: SD387 .S87 S855 1997
Publication Date: 1997
In Sustainable Forests: Global Challenges and Local Solutions, a collection of professional and scientific papers presented at an international conference on sustainable forestry, you learn about social and environmental issues related to forestry and indigenous people. It features, in easy-to-understand terms, different cultural, operational, and political perspectives on sustainable forest management.
Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Environmental Issues by Thomas Easton
Call Number: TD170 .T34 2011
Publication Date: 2010
Taking Sides volumes present current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. Each issue is thoughtfully framed with an issue summary, an issue introduction, and a postscript or challenge questions.
The Three Ages of Water by Peter Gleick
Call Number: GB661.2 .G58 2023
Publication Date: 2023-06-13
In The Three Ages of Water, Peter Gleick guides us through the long, fraught history of our relationship to this precious resource. Water has shaped civilizations and empires, and driven centuries of advances in science and technology--from agriculture to aqueducts, steam power to space exploration--and progress in health and medicine. But the achievements that have propelled humanity forward also brought consequences, including unsustainable water use, ecological destruction, and global climate change, that now threaten to send us into a new dark age. We must change our ways, and quickly, to usher in a new age of water for the benefit of everyone. Drawing from the lessons of our past, Gleick charts a visionary path toward a sustainable future for water and the planet.
Western Water a to Z by Robert R. Crifasi
Call Number: HD1695.W4 C76 2023
Publication Date: 2023
Robert R. Crifasi answers questions about rivers, water projects, the culture of water, the ecosystems water projects have created or destroyed, and the reliance of cities, farms, and industries on this critical resource.

Achieving Sustainability by Macmillan Reference USA (Editor); Debra Rowett (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Sustainable development is essential to a future of reduced human suffering, higher quality of life, and ongoing sustenance for the planet's ecosystems. Designed to increase understanding, inform actions, enrich academic assignments, and enhance research.
Animal Oppression and Capitalism [2 Volumes] by David Nibert (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2017
This important two-volume set unapologetically documents how capitalism results in the oppression of animals ranging from fish and chickens to dogs, elephants, and kangaroos as well as in environmental destruction, vital resource depletion, and climate change.
Animal Rights and Welfare by Lawrence W. Baker
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Through the use of primary source documents, readers can learn about key opinions and legislation in the important field of animal rights and welfare-a current and highly relevant topic.
Beginning to End the Climate Crisis : A History of Our Future by Luisa Neubauer, Alexander Repenning, Bill McKibben, and Sabine von Mering
Call Number: Proquest eBook Central
Publication Date: 2023-03-28
There is no planet B. Activists share how we must inform and organize ourselves to save the future. "Act as though your house is on fire. Because it is." Following Greta Thunberg, millions of young climate activists have been taking to the streets around the globe as part of the Fridays For Future movement.
Climate Change by Brian C. Black (General Editor); David M. Hassenzahl (Associate Editor); Jennie C. Stephens (Editor); Gary Weisel (Editor); Nancy Gift (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2013
This book provides a holistic consideration of climate change that goes beyond pure science, fleshing out the discussion by considering cultural, historical, and policy-driven aspects of this important issue.
The Climate Change Debate: a Reference Handbook by David E. Newton
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2020
The Climate Change Debate: A Reference Handbook covers the topic of climate change from the earliest days of planet Earth to the present day. Chapters One and Two provide a historical background of climate change and a review of current problems, controversies, and solutions.
Contemporary World Issues: Organic Food and Farming by Shauna M. McIntyre
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2021
This volume discusses the history, evolution, and growth of the organic food movement including the origins of organic farming, what constitutes organic production, and how that has changed over time. It provides a comprehensive overview of the growth of organics as both an industry and a social movement, and the challenges that occur from trying to be both.
Encyclopedia of Energy by Morris A. Pierce
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2012
A general and non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of energy; to appreciate the influence of energy on societies around the world; to learn the history of energy; and to initiate educational discussion brought forth by the specific social and topical articles presented in the work.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues, Third Edition by Salem Press Editors (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Covers a wide variety of topics, including endangered animal species, air pollution, national parks, environmental legislation, oil spills, alternative energy sources, and global climate change. Essays also cover such topics as sick building syndrome, noise pollution, smog, and urban planning.
Encyclopedia of Global Resources, Third Edition by Salem Press Editors (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Encyclopedia of Global Resources provides a wide variety of perspectives on both traditional and more recent views of Earth's resources. The entries are diverse, with articles covering fisheries, forests, aluminum, the Industrial Revolution, the U.S. Department of the Interior, and placer mineral deposits.
Endangered Species by Gale (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Discusses what has been done to protect endangered species in the United States and around the world, and examines the debate over what future actions are warranted.
Energy: Supplies, Sustainability, and Costs by Gale
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Presents the latest information on U.S. energy consumption and production, compared with years past. Controversial issues such as the U.S. dependence on foreign oil, the possibility of exhausting fossil fuel supplies, and the harm done to the environment by mining, drilling, and pollution are explored.
The Environment by Gale
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Examines the steps that have been taken to protect Earth's natural environment and the controversies that surround them.
The Environmental Debate, Third Edition by Grey House Publishing Staff
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2017
This unique collection of nearly 200 Primary Documents examines the evolution of concern about environmental degradation, pollution, climate change, and resource conservation in America from the Colonial period the present.
Environmental Geography by Leslie A. Duram
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2018
This book explores the complex relationship humans have with the environment. It is one of both responsibility--including the sustainable or unsustainable management of natural resources--and emotion, such as the elation gleaned from a beautiful landscape as well as the devastation experienced from a natural disaster.
Environmental Racism in the United States and Canada: Seeking Justice and Sustainability by Bruce E. Johansen
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2020
From Flint, Michigan, to Standing Rock, North Dakota, minorities have found themselves losing the battle for clean resources and a healthy environment. This book provides a modern history of such environmental injustices in the United States and Canada.
Fixing the Food System by Steve Clapp
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2016
America's broken food system has provoked an outcry from consumer advocates seeking to align food policies with public health objectives. This book examines both sides of the conflict for solutions.
The Global Water Crisis by David E. Newton
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2016
How is water scarcity becoming a serious problem worldwide-including in the United States? This book provides a broad overview of water, sanitation, and hygiene problems faced by both developing and developed nations around the globe and suggests how these problems can be solved by imaginative and innovative thinking.
GMO Food by David E. Newton
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Providing an exhaustive background on the history of genetically modified organism (GMO) crops and foods as well as the controversies surrounding these products, this book allows readers to develop their own particular viewpoint on the production and use of GMO substances.
Nuclear Power by Harry R. Henderson
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Provides timely and up-to-date facts, context, perspectives, and tools to make informed decisions about nuclear energy.
Principles of Climatology by Salem Press Editors (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Climatology is the study of climate. The more data scientists collect on the local, regional, and global level, the more information they gather on the factors, both natural and manmade, including global warming, that have an effect on climate.
Principles of Ecology by Salem Press Editors (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2019
In over 120 articles, Principles of Ecology addresses topics including: Morphology, Human ecology, Resilience, Social ecology, Co-evolution, Traits, Biome and Biosphere.
Principles of Energy by Salem Press (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2021
Energy, the capacity of an object to do work, is one of the most fundamental principles, affecting nearly every aspect of life on this planet. Numerous issues surrounding energy have wide-ranging Implications for the world we live in today, significantly impacting economics, politics, and climate science, in addition to many other fields.
Principles of Modern Agriculture by Salem Press Editors (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Introduces students and researchers to the fundamentals of climatology using easy-to-understand language for a solid background and a deeper understanding and appreciation of this important and evolving subject.
Science and the Global Environment by Alan McIntosh; Jennifer Pontius
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Case Studies for Integrating Science and the Global Environment is designed to help students of the environment and natural resources make the connections between their training in science and math and today's complex environmental issues.
Solar Energy: A Reference Handbook by David E. Newton
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2015
This book provides an in-depth description of the ways solar power has been used for at least 2,000 years. It outlines how humankind has utilized various forms of energy from the sun by way of photovoltaic cells, concentrating or focusing solar power, active and passive solar heating, and other mechanisms; and provides perspectives on today's solar energy issues from a variety of subject experts.
Toxic Chemicals in America: Controversies in Human and Environmental Health [2 Volumes] by Kelly Tzoumis (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2020
This one-stop resource is ideal for understanding the extent to which toxic chemicals are used in American industry and agriculture--impacting public health and the environment through everything from industrial solvents to children's toys.
Treatise on Water Science by Peter Wilderer (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Water quality and management are of great significance globally, as the demand for clean, potable water far exceeds the availability. Water science research brings together the natural and applied sciences, engineering, chemistry, law and policy, and economics, and the Treatise on Water Science seeks to unite these areas through contributions from a global team of author-experts.
Vegetarianism and Veganism: a Reference Handbook by David E. Newton
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Vegetarianism and Veganism: A Reference Handbook provides a history and background of vegetarianism and veganism from prehistorical times to the present day, along with detailed discussions of the practice in each historical period since that time.
Water: A Limited Resource by Gale Cengage Learning (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2017
This volume focuses on the social and moral issues surrounding water resources.
Wind Energy by David E. Newton
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2014
While covering the fascinating history of wind power as a whole, this timely handbook focuses on current technological developments and the promise-and pitfalls-of wind energy as part of the world's energy future.
World Energy Crisis by David E. Newton
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2012
This book provides a historical background for the world's current energy problems, describing how the Industrial Revolution has led us to the impending end of the "Age of Fossil Fuels," and describes possible solutions for averting a global crisis.