Skip to Main Content
Victor Valley College Library
Victor Valley College
Search this Guide
Citing Sources and Plagiarism
Contact a Librarian
Some recommended web sites for LGBTQIA+ resources are listed below:
The Bi-Pan Library
Site that contains a list of books featuring LGBTQIA+ characters and authors, with a focus on Bi and Pansexuality's.
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT)
The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender (GLBT) Round Table of the American Library Association is committed to serving the information needs of the GLBT professional library community, and the GLBT information and access needs of individuals at large. The GLBTRT are committed to encouraging and supporting the free and necessary access to all information, as reflected by the missions of the American Library Association.
GLAAD works through entertainment, news, and digital media to share stories from the LGBTQ community that accelerate acceptance. GLAAD also has a plethora of resources available to use as well.
Provides support for LBGTQ issues in K-12 education.
LGBT Youth Resources
On this page, find resources from the CDC, other government agencies, and community organizations for LGBT Youth, their friends, educators, parents, and family members to support positive environments.
Library of Congress: LGBTQ+ Resources
Various resources including research guides, photographs, videos, manuscripts, and archival papers.
Los Angeles Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Resource Center
The Los Angeles LGBT Center is the world's largest provider of programs and services for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people.
Mazer Lesbian Archives
The Mazer Archives are a vital lesbian and feminist community resource "committed to sharing our history across generations, ethnicity, race, and personal belief systems by collecting, preserving and making available unique memorabilia in a safe and welcoming environment." The Mazer Archives are located in Los Angeles and are open to the public Tuesdays and Sundays, and by appointment all other times. Please call ahead any time you plan on visiting.
ONE Archives: National Gay & Lesbian Archives
Located in Los Angeles and part of the USC Libraries Collection, ONE houses over 600 archival collections of personal papers from activists, artists and ordinary citizens, as well as records from LGBTQ political, social, educational and cultural organizations. The collections include a wide array of materials such as manuscripts, photographs, letters, graphics, and other historically significant materials.
Resources for LGBTQ Individuals and Families National Council on Family Relations
This collection provides a number of places for LGBTQ individuals, families, and others to find trained counselors, peer support, toolkits, fact sheets, and additional resources and information for individual support or about issues within the larger LGBTQ community, including violence against the LGBTQ community.
Society for the Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity
A part of the American Psychological Society, this website lists numerous resources relating to the LGBTQ+ community, including academic journals, websites, articles, as well as education and anti-bullying resources related to LGBTQ+ issues.
Agencies and Organizations:
New York based, "ACT UP — the AIDS Coalition To Unleash Power — is a diverse, non-partisan group of individuals, united in anger and committed to direct action to end the AIDS crisis." Website also includes an archive.
The Asexual Visibility & Education Network
The Asexual Visibility & Education Network (AVEN) hosts the world's largest online asexual community as well as a large archive of resources on asexuality. AVEN strives to create open, honest discussion about asexuality among sexual and asexual people alike.
Bisexual Resource Center
The Bisexual Resource Center works to connect the bi+ community and help its members thrive through resources, support, and celebration.
California LGBTQ Health and Human Services Network
The California LGBTQ Health and Human Services Network is a statewide coalition of non-profit providers, community centers, and researchers working collectively to advocate for state level policies and resources that will advance LGBT health.
Campus Pride serves LGBTQ and ally student leaders and campus organizations in the areas of leadership development, support programs and services to create safer, more inclusive LGBTQ-friendly colleges and universities. It exists to develop, support and give “voice and action” in building future LGBTQ and ally student leaders.
GSA organizing is making schools safer, changing communities, and building power for the next generation of LGBTQ+ youth.
Human Rights Campaign (HRC)
HRC offers information about renewing America’s commitment to fighting HIV/AIDS, ending workplace discrimination, launching a rapid response to anti-gay hate legislation, and focusing attention on lesbian health issues.
Human Rights Watch: LGBT Rights
Human Rights Watch works for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender peoples' rights, and with activists representing a multiplicity of identities and issues.
InterACT Advocates for Intersex Youth
InterACT raises intersex visibility, empowers young intersex advocates and promotes laws and policies that protect intersex youth.
It Gets Better Project
The It Gets Better Project is a nonprofit organization with a mission to uplift, empower, and connect lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer youth around the globe. Growing up isn’t easy, especially when you are trying to affirm and assert your sexual orientation and/or gender identity. It can be a challenging and isolating process – but, the good news is, no one has to do it alone.
Joshua Home LGBTQ Safe Haven
Joshua Home was founded to create permanent Gender-Inclusive housing solutions and opportunities, supportive services, and programs for Homeless LGBTQ+ Youth in the Inland Empire of Southern CA.
Lambda is a legal organization working for the civil rights of LGBT people and people with HIV/AIDS.
LA Pride Parade & Festival in Los Angeles
Our mission is to create safe and inclusive spaces of self-expression, celebration, and diversity/equity/inclusion for the LGBTQ+ community of Greater Los Angeles.
National Center for Transgender Equality
National Center for Transgender Equality (NCTE) is a social justice organization dedicated to advancing the equality of transgender people through advocacy, collaboration, and empowerment. NCTE monitors federal activity, provides congressional education, and has established a center of expertise on transgender issues.
National Gay and Lesbian Task Force
National Gay and Lesbian Task Force (NGLTF) is a progressive civil rights organization that supports grassroots organizing and advocacy.
Parents, Families, and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG)
PFLAG works with both national and local media to generate awareness of PFLAG’s mission of support, education, and advocacy.
Point Foundation: National LGBT+ Scholarship Fund
Point Foundation empowers promising lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer students to achieve their full academic and leadership potential – despite the obstacles often put before them – to make a significant impact on society.
Trans Lifeline is a trans-led organization that connects trans people to the community, support, and resources they need to survive and thrive.
The Trevor Project
The Trevor Project is the world’s largest suicide prevention and crisis intervention organization for LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and questioning) young people. The website has counselors available 24/7 as well as other resources and community blogs.
Founded in 2008, TruEvolution is a community-based response to the unique health disparities and social inequities experienced by youth, namely LGBTQ youth in Riverside County and San Bernardino County. Over the last ten years, TruEvolution has expanded its reach and focused its programs on advocacy efforts and direct social services. TruEvolution engages in policy advocacy initiatives as a regional response to the deficits in local and state investments on sexual health services in rural-suburban regions and engages in national advocacy efforts through community-based public policy trainings and leadership development of LGBTQ youth working in community-based settings.
Streaming Media >>
Nov 3, 2023 10:39 AM
Login to LibApps