Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Victor Valley College Library
Victor Valley College
Geography Research Guide
Search this Guide
Geography Research Guide
Citing Sources and Plagiarism
Contact a Librarian
Some recommended links for Geography are listed below:
A-Z listing of countries around the world. Contains physical maps and statistics including geography and climate information.
CIA World FactBook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
David Rumsey Map Collection
The David Rumsey Map Collection was started over 30 years ago and contains more than 150,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, wall maps, globes, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. Items range in date from about 1550 to the present.
Peer-reviewed journal that covers various fields in geography including economic, social, cultural, political & urban geography, biogeography, environment & society, GIS, climatology, earth observations, geomorphology, hydrology & water resources. Issues range from 2011-present, with a 12 month embargo on recent issues.
Maps of World
MapsOfWorld.com (MOW) is a multilingual website centered around thematic maps. The site has over 150,000 maps, facts, graphics, infographics, videos, and photographs.
National Earthquake Information Center
Locate current earthquake data worldwide, including maps, statistics, and historical information.
National Geographic Resource Library: Geography
Part of the National Geographic Resource Library, this section provides an overview about geography as well as different resources, images, related content and more.
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
An invaluable collection of current, historical, and political world maps maintained by the University of Texas at Austin.
Comprised of an online textbook in 10 chapters, each with a Study Guide and Further Reading list. Also includes a separate Glossary of Terms and Internet Web links.
ScienceDaily - Geography
ScienceDaily is best known for showcasing the top science news stories from the world’s leading universities and research organizations. Updated several times a day with breaking news and feature articles on the discoveries in all fields of the physical, biological, earth and applied sciences.
Southern California Earthquake Data Center
Current and historical seismic information for California and Nevada. Includes fault maps of Southern California.
U.S. Geological Survey
Earth science information about health hazards, natural resources, and the environment, with news, maps and image databases.
Streaming Media >>
Jun 7, 2022 10:59 AM
Login to LibApps