LibGuides: History Subject Guide: Finding Books

Finding Books

Books, eBooks, and other Library materials can be searched using the Online Catalog. You can search the catalog by general Subject such as History, however you can narrow you search by a specific time period (History 20th Century) or region (History North America). There are two main categories of books: general and reference. General books (located in the "Stacks" on the lower floor) can be checked out and are often used for more in-depth research. Reference books (located on the upper floor) do not circulate but can be useful for acquiring an overview on a topic.

Course Reserves

The Library maintains a collection of instructor reserve materials. These consist of textbooks, videos, and supplemental course materials that instructors have put in the Library for student use. To find what materials are available for History, search Course Reserves in the Online Catalog. It is best to search by "Course Number" (ex. HIST 104) in that an instructor other than yours may have placed an item on reserve. Materials can be requested at the Periodicals counter and generally must be used in the Library on a two-hour loan period. Photocopy machines are available for 10¢ a copy.

A few selected Library general and reference titles for History are listed below. Please note: some eBooks are also available in print in the reference section of the library.

Books

A few selected Library general and reference titles for History are listed below.

An African American and Latinx History of the United States by Paul Ortiz (Contribution by)
Call Number: E184 S75 O79 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Incisive and timely, An African American and Latinx History of the United States is a bottom-up history told from the viewpoint of African American and Latinx activists and revealing the radically different ways people of the diaspora addressed issues still plaguing the United States today.
American Civil War by Spencer C. Tucker (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. E 468 A5329 2013 VOLS. 1-6
Publication Date: 2013
This expansive, multivolume reference work provides a broad, multidisciplinary examination of the Civil War period ranging from pre-Civil War developments and catalysts such as the Mexican-American War to the rebuilding of the war-torn nation during Reconstruction.
The American Civil War: Westpoint Military History Series by Timothy H. Donovan (Editor); Thomas E. Greiss (Editor)
Call Number: E470 .A45 2002
Publication Date: 2002
This campaign-by-campaign account of the Civil War examines the economic, social, political, and military aspects of this turbulent period.
Chinese and Americans: A Shared History by Guoqi Xu; Akira Iriye (Foreword by)
Call Number: E183.8.C5 X8 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Chinese-American relations are often viewed through the prism of power rivalry and civilization clash. But China and America's shared history is much more than a catalog of conflicts. Using culture rather than politics or economics as a reference point, Xu Guoqi highlights significant yet neglected cultural exchanges.
Colonial America: An Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, & Economic History by James Ciment; Michael Zuckerman
Call Number: Ref. E162 C68 2006 Vols. 1-5
Publication Date: 2006
Between the time that the first European settlers established a colony at Jamestown in 1607 through the signing of the Declaration of Independence, the outlines of America's distinctive political culture, economic system, social life, and cultural patterns had begun to emerge.
Defining Documents in American History: Civil Rights (1954-2015) by Salem Press Editors; Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. KF4749 .C54 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Defining Documents in American History: Civil Rights offers in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents and historic events that shaped civil rights struggles in American history. This text closely studies more than forty primary source documents to deliver a thorough examination of civil rights movements in the U.S. from 1954 to 2015. *Also available as an eBook
Defining Documents in American History: Immigration & immigrant communities (1650-2016) by Salem Press
Call Number: Ref. JV6450 .I5597 2017
Publication Date: 2017
This text explores the full history of immigration issues in America, from those early immigrants making their way through Ellis Island, to immigration issues in modern society. With in-depth analysis of a broad range of documents, researchers come away with fresh understanding and insight to study this hot button topic. *Also available as an eBook
Defining Documents in American History: Native Americans by Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. E77 N3519 2017
Publication Date: 2017
This title covers important historical documents from influential figures in Native American history. Readers will find in-depth analysis of a broad range of historical documents, including speeches, letters, legislation, court cases, and other sources about Native Americans. *Also available as an eBook
Dictionary of American History
Call Number: Ref. E 174 D52 2003 Vols. 1-10
Publication Date: 2002
Entries from previous editions have been updated and revised in light of historical developments and current scholarship, and more than 800 new entries cover recent events and topics not covered previously. For the first time, illustrations and maps are incorporated into the main body of the work; a collection of primary source documents appears in Volume 9.
A Different Shade of Justice: Asian American Civil Rights in the South by Stephanie Hinnershitz
Call Number: E184.A75 H56 2017
Publication Date: 2017
In the Jim Crow South, Chinese, Filipino, Japanese, and, later, Vietnamese and Indian Americans faced obstacles similar to those experienced by African Americans in their fight for civil and human rights. Although they were not black, Asian Americans generally were not considered white and thus were subject to school segregation, antimiscegenation laws, and discriminatory business practices.
Dreams of El Dorado: A History of the American West by H. W. Brands
Call Number: F591 .B814 2019
Publication Date: 2019
In Dreams of El Dorado, H. W. Brands captures the experiences of the men and women who headed into this new territory, from Lewis and Clark's expedition in early 19th century to the closing of the frontier in the early 20th. He introduces us to explorers, mountain men, cowboys, missionaries, and soldiers; he takes us on the Oregon Trail, and more.
Ellis Island: A People's History by Malgorzata Szejnert; Sean Gasper Bye (Translator)
Call Number: JV6484 .S9813 2020
Publication Date: 2020
This is the people's history of Ellis Island--the people who passed through it, and the people who were turned away from it. Ellis Island weaves together the personal experiences of forgotten individuals with those who live on in history.
Eyewitness to America: 500 Years of America in the Words of Those Who Saw It Happen by David Colbert
Call Number: E173 .E9 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Presents first-hand observations on people and events in American history, from Columbus to Cyberspace, told through the words of 300 eyewitnesses in diaries, private letters, memoirs, and newspaper reports.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes by Sharon Malinowski
Call Number: Ref. E77 G15 1998 Vols. 1-4
Publication Date: 1998
Providing essays on the history, culture and current status of approximately 400 Native American groups, this work is divided into four geographic volumes. An overview essay introduces each of the ten regions covered, giving a geographic perspective on the tribes covered, as well as insights on cultural and tribal communalities. Individual tribal entries follow alphabetically.
Great Events from History: African American History by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Kibibi Mack-Shelton (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. E185 G74 2017 Vols. 1-3
Publication Date: 2017
This new resource provides comprehensive coverage of the many events that define the framework of African American history, including social, cultural, and political movements, and the struggles to gain freedom, equality and civil rights. *Also available as an eBook
Immigrants in American History by Elliott Robert Barkan (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. JV6450 I5536 2013 Vols. 1-4
Publication Date: 2013
Immigrants in American History: Arrival, Adaptation, and Integration is a chronological study of the migration of various ethnic groups to the United States from 1500 to the present day. This multivolume collection explores dozens of immigrant populations in America and delves into major topical issues affecting different groups across time periods.
An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States by Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz
Call Number: E76.8 .D86 2014
Publication Date: 2014
The first history of the United States told from the perspective of indigenous peoples. Today in the United States, there are more than five hundred federally recognized Indigenous nations comprising nearly three million people, descendants of the fifteen million Native people who once inhabited this land.
Reconstruction Era (1865-1877) by Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. E668 .R436 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Defining Documents in American History: The Reconstruction Era offers in-depth critical analysis of 20 primary source documents. Articles begin by introducing readers to the document's historical context, followed by a description of the author's life and circumstances in which the document was written.
Red Power Rising by Bradley G. Shreve; Shirley Hill Witt (Foreword by)
Call Number: E98.T77 .S49 2011
Publication Date: 2011
During the 1960s, American Indian youth were swept up in a movement called Red Power--a civil rights struggle fueled by intertribal activism. While some define the movement as militant and others see it as peaceful, there is one common assumption about its history: Red Power began with the Indian takeover of Alcatraz in 1969. Or did it?
Surviving Genocide: Native Nations and the United States by Jeffrey Ostler
Call Number: E93 .O78 2019
Publication Date: 2020
In this book, Jeffrey Ostler investigates how American democracy relied on Indian dispossession and the federally sanctioned use of force to remove or slaughter Indians in the way of U.S. expansion. He charts the losses that Indians suffered from relentless violence and upheaval and the attendant effects of disease, deprivation, and exposure.

World History

The Ancient World by Salem Press Editors (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. CB311 A5354 2017 VOLS. 1-2
Publication Date: 2016
This sweeping work covers world cultures from prehistory through the year 700 C.E. With in-depth analysis of civilizations, key figures, cities, cultures and daily life. Its three volumes stretch beyond the boundaries of the ancient world of Greece, Rome and Egypt, to include Egypt, China, the Near East, Europe, Africa, the Americas and more. *Also available as an eBook
Chronology of World History by Helicon Editors
Call Number: Ref. D11 M39 1999 VOLS. 1-4
Publication Date: 1999
This four volume set, which includes 70,000 events compiled by 27 contributing editors, constitutes the most complete and current chronology of world history ever created. * Entries ranging from Art and Economics to Politics and Technology, and cover both major and minor events throughout world history.
Conflict in the Early Americas by Rebecca M. Seaman (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. E123 .C729 2013
Publication Date: 2013
This detailed study is the only reference work of its kind to address Spain's conquest of Central and South America, providing in-depth coverage of native and European ideologies, political motivations, and cultural practices of the region. *Available in print and e-book
Defining Documents in World History: Women's Rights by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. HQ1236 .W664 2018 Vol. 1-2
Publication Date: 2018
From the European calls for the rights of women to the modern feminist movement, these volumes provide thoughtful analysis of documents and speeches allowing readers to gain a better understanding of the roles, opinions, and changing attitudes of and toward women in world history. *Also available as an eBook
The Early Medieval World by Michael Frassetto
Call Number: Ref. D114 F73 2013 VOLS.1-2
Publication Date: 2013
This book examines a pivotal period in ancient human history: the fall of the Roman Empire and the birth of a new European civilization in the early Middle Ages.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Jay Kinsbruner and Erick D. Langer, eds
Call Number: F1406 .E53 1996 Vols. 1-5
Publication Date: 2008
The original 1995 encyclopedia, an award winner from both the American Library Association (Dartmouth Certificate) and the American Historical Association, was celebrated as a landmark in the development of Latin American studies (The Americas). *Also available as an eBook
Encyclopedia of the Industrial Revolution in World History by Kenneth E. Hendrickson (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. HD2324 E546 2015 Vols. 1-3
Publication Date: 2014
In The Encyclopedia of the Industrial Revolution in World History contributors survey the Industrial Revolution as a world historical phenomenon rather than through the traditional lens of a development largely restricted to Western society. This work is the perfect reference work for anyone conducting research in the areas of technology, business, economics, and history on a world historical scale.
Great Events from History: LGBTQEvents by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Robert C. Evans (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. HQ73 .G74 2017 Vols. 1-2
Publication Date: 2017
This new edition in the Great Events series chronicles important historical events that have identified, defined, and legally established the rights of the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender communities. In the last ten years alone, the world has witnessed significant events that have broken down barriers, both socially and legally.
Great Events from History: The 21st Century, 2000-2016 by Thomas Lewis (Editor)
Call Number: D862 .G74 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Great Events from History set covers the twenty-first century, providing thoughtful, detailed essays on major events between 2000 and 2016. *Also available as an eBook
Silver, Sword, and Stone by Marie Arana
Call Number: F1407 .A685 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Against the background of a thousand years of vivid history, acclaimed writer Marie Arana tells the timely and timeless stories of three contemporary Latin Americans whose lives represent three driving forces that have shaped the character of the region: exploitation (silver), violence (sword), and religion (stone).
World War II by Priscilla Roberts (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. D743 W6658 2012
Publication Date: 2012
In this book an internationally renowned team of historians provides comprehensive coverage of all major campaigns and theaters of World War II, synthesizing the tremendous breadth and depth of source materials on this global conflict. It includes primary-source documents created by both famous leaders and average citizens.

The Abolitionist Movement by Christopher Cameron
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2014
This book presents primary sources pertaining to the American anti-slavery movement in the 18th and 19th centuries, presenting these firsthand sources alongside scholarly commentary to put them into context.
America in the World, 1776 to the Present by Edward J. Blum (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2016
America In The World will answer the needs of students while satisfying the general reader's increasing curiosity about America's role on the world scene; the impact of U.S. policies not only nationally, on the domestic agenda, but globally; and the reactions of the world's nations to America's rise, 1776 to the present.
Ancient Europe 8000 B.C.--A.D. 1000 by Peter I. Bogucki; Pam J. Crabtree
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2004
Examines the diverse peoples of early European civilization through a series of 212 essays, presented in chronological order. Coverage includes prehistoric origins through the early Middle Ages (8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000). Includes maps, photos, and chronologies.
Celebrating Women in American History by Golson Books
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Throughout history, the status of women in America has been at the margins of society and the role of women has often been unfairly glossed over in history books. Celebrating Women in American History is a new, five-volume set that introduces readers to that hidden history of women in America, bringing their achievements to light and helping them gain the recognition they deserve. *E-book only
Culture Wars in America by Roger Chapman; James Ciment
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2010
This new edition provides an enlightening and comprehensive A-to-Z ready reference, now with supporting primary documents, on major topics of contemporary importance for students, teachers, and the general reader. It aims to promote understanding and clarification on pertinent topics that too often are not adequately explained or discussed in a balanced context.
Daily Life Through World History in Primary Documents by Rebecca Bennette (Editor); David M. Borgmeyer (Editor); David Matz (Editor); Lawrence Morris (Editor)
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Who did the ancient Greeks describe as the world's best athlete? What does the Koran say about women's rights? How has the digital revolution changed life in the modern age? From the law courts of ancient Iraq to bloody Civil War battlefields, explore the daily lives of people from major world cultures throughout history, as presented in their own words.
Defining Documents in American History: Reconstruction Era (1865-1877) by Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Defining Documents in American History: The Reconstruction Era offers in-depth critical analysis of 20 primary source documents. Articles begin by introducing readers to the document's historical context, followed by a description of the author's life and circumstances in which the document was written.
Formed from This Soil: An Introduction to the Diverse History of Religion in America by Thomas S. Bremer
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Formed from This Soil offers a complete history of religion in America that centers on the diversity of sacred traditions and practices that have existed in the country from its earliest days. *E-book only
Gale Encyclopedia of U. S. Economic History by Gale (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Designed to answer such key questions as: How has the U.S. Constitution shaped the economy of the United States? What were the consequences of Prohibition on consumers' behavior? This title presents 1,000 entries, era overviews, event/movement profiles, biographies, business/industry profiled, geographic profiles, and more.
Global Events: Milestone Events Throughout History by Jennifer Stock (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Features more than 830 entries covering key global historical events from a regional perspective. Covering ancient civilizations to the present, important events in history are explored with an emphasis on their significance to overall world history. Volumes are chronologically arranged by region: Africa, Asia and Oceania, Central and South America, Europe, Middle East, and North America.
Great Lives from History: Latinos, Second Edition by Yvette Benavides (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2020
Great Lives from History: Latinos features dozens of new profiles of the individuals who have defined Latino history in the United States, as well as substantial updates to existing entries. A three-volume set, the collection offers profiles of hundreds of notable figures from the 19th century through today.
History of African Americans: Exploring Diverse Roots by Thomas J. Davis
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2016
This rich cultural history of African Americans outlines their travails, triumphs, and achievements in negotiating individual and collective identities to overcome racism, slavery, and the legacies of these injustices from colonial times to the present.
History of American Indians by Robert R. McCoy; Steven M. Fountain
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2017
A comprehensive look at the entirety of Native American history, focusing particularly on native peoples within the geographic boundaries of the United States. *E-book only
How They Lived by James D. Ciment
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Ideal for history majors, nonhistory majors taking history courses, as well as general readers, this book provides not only the primary documents and artifacts of ordinary people in history, but also annotations that help the reader put them into context and grasp their deeper meaning.
Plagues in World History by John Aberth
Call Number: Netlibrary
Publication Date: 2011
Plagues in World History provides a concise, comparative world history of catastrophic infectious diseases, including plague, smallpox, tuberculosis, cholera, influenza, and AIDS. Geographically, these diseases have spread across the entire globe; temporally, they stretch from the sixth century to the present.
The War for American Independence by Mark Edward Lender
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2016
An indispensable resource for investigating America's War for Independence, this book provides a comprehensive yet concise narrative that combines the author's original perspectives with the latest scholarship on the subject. *E-book only
Women in American History by Peg A. Lamphier (Editor); Rosanne Marie Welch (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2017
This four-volume set documents the complexity and richness of women's contributions to American history and culture, empowering all students by demonstrating a more populist approach to the past. *E-book only
The World from 1450 To 1700 by John E. Wills Jr.
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2009
In The World from 1450 to 1700, historian John Wills takes a fresh look at one of the most fascinating and tumultuous periods in world history. Assuming a global perspective, rather than the traditional Eurocentric view, Wills traces the interwoven changes that led from the world of Columbus,Luther, and the Mughal emperor Babur to the world of Locke, Louis XIV, and the Kangxi emperor.

An American Genocide by Benjamin Madley
Call Number: E78.C15 M33 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Between 1846 and 1873, California's Indian population plunged from perhaps 150,000 to 30,000. Benjamin Madley is the first historian to uncover the full extent of the slaughter, the involvement of state and federal officials, the taxpayer dollars that supported the violence, indigenous resistance, who did the killing, and why the killings ended.
California: A History by Kevin Starr
Call Number: F861 .S83 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Kevin Starr covers it all: Spain's conquest of the native peoples of California in the early sixteenth century and the chain of missions that helped that country exert control over the upper part of the territory; the discovery of gold in January 1848; the incredible wealth of the Big Four railroad tycoons; the devastating San Francisco earthquake of 1906; the emergence of Hollywood and more.
California History by Gordon Morris Bakken (Editor)
Call Number: F861.5 .C35 2003
Publication Date: 2002
This fresh departure from other California history readers offers students a compilation of engaging essays designed to complement any standard California history textbook or stand on its own as a progressive core text. The work of ten experts, this book presents interpretive examinations of an eclectic range of topics.
Competing Visions by Robert Cherny; Gretchen Lemke-Santangelo; Richard Griswold delCastillo
Call Number: F861 .C48 2014
Publication Date: 2013
Chronicles the stories of people who have had an impact on the state's history while presenting California as a hub of competing economic, social, and political visions. It highlights the state's cultural diversity and explicitly compares it to other Western states, the nation, and the world--illustrating the national and international significance of California's history.
Journey to the Sun by Gregory Orfalea
Call Number: F864 .S44 O74 2014
Publication Date: 2014
The fascinating narrative of the remarkable life of Junípero Serra, the intrepid priest who led Spain and the Catholic Church into California in the 1700s and became a key figure in the making of the American West.
Major Problems in California History by Thomas Paterson; Spencer C. Olin; Sucheng Chan
Call Number: F861.5 .M26 1997
Publication Date: 1996
This volume compiles carefully selected documents and essays to illuminate the most important controversies in the history of California from the precontact period to the present.
Saints and Citizens by Lisbeth Haas
Call Number: E78 .C15 H225 2014
Publication Date: 2013
Saints and Citizens is a bold new excavation of the history of Indigenous people in California in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, showing how the missions became sites of their authority, memory, and identity.
Set the Night on Fire: L.A. in the Sixties by Mike Davis; Jon Wiener
Call Number: F869.L857 D385 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Mike Davis and Jon Wiener provide the first comprehensive movement history of L.A. in the sixties, drawing on extensive archival research, scores of interviews with principal figures of the 1960s movements, and personal histories (both Davis and Wiener are native Los Angelenos).
The Shirley Letters: Being Letters Written in 1851-1852 from the California Mines by Dame Shirley; Louise A. Clappe; Richard Oglesby (Introduction by)
Call Number: F865 .C58 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Twenty-three letters originally published serially in The Pioneer: or, California monthly magazine, Jan. 1854-Dec. 1855. First published in book form in 1922 under title: The Shirley letters from California mines in 1851-1852.
We Are the Land: The History of Native California by Damon B. Akins; William J. Bauer; William J. Bauer
Call Number: E78.C15 A487 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Before there was such a thing as "California," there were the People and the Land. Manifest Destiny, the Gold Rush, and settler colonial society drew maps, displaced Indigenous People, and reshaped the land, but they did not make California. Rather, the lives and legacies of the people native to the land shaped the creation of California.
Women Trailblazers of California: Pioneers to the Present by Gloria G. Harris; Hannah S. Cohen
Call Number: CT3262.C25 H27 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Throughout California's history, remarkable women have been at the core of change and innovation. In this unparalleled collection, Gloria Harris and Hannah Cohen relate the stories of forty women whose struggles and achievements have paved the way for generations. These women were strong and determined, overcoming prejudice, skepticism and injustice.

Books for History 155: Women in U.S. History

Below are some books found within our catalog related to History 155.

Colonial and New Nation (Davis):

Abigail Adams, An American Woman by Charles W. Akers
Call Number: E322.1 .A38 A35 2000, E322.1.A38 A35 1980
Publication Date: 2000
The titles in the Library of American Biography Series make ideal supplements for American History Survey courses or other courses in American history where figures in history are explored. Paperback, brief, and inexpensive, each interpretative biography in this series focuses on a figure whose actions and ideas significantly influenced the course of American history and national life. At the same time, each biography relates the life of its subject to the broader themes and developments of the times.
American Jezebel: The Uncommon Life of Anne Hutchinson by Eve LaPlante
Call Number: F67 .H92 L37 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Written by one of Hutchinson's direct descendants, American Jezebel brings both balance and perspective to Hutchinson's story. It captures this American heroine's life in all its complexity, presenting her not as a religious fanatic, a cardboard feminist, or a raging crank -- as some have portrayed her -- but as a flesh-and-blood wife, mother, theologian, and political leader.
Anne Hutchinson and the Puritans: An Early American Tragedy by William Dunlea
Call Number: F67 .H92 D86 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Although she was indisputably the first great American woman, Anne Hutchinson, murdered by Puritans, remains one of the most controversial figures of American history. William Dunlea's book (which commemorates the 350th anniversary of Mrs. Hutchinson's death) reaffirms her greatness while probing the controversy that has so long surrounded it.
The Annotated Uncle Tom's Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe; Henry Louis Gates (Editor); Hollis Robbins
Call Number: PS2954 .U54 G38 2007
Publication Date: 2006
Uncle Tom's Cabin, first published in 1852, galvanized the American public as no other work of fiction has ever done. The editors animate pre-Civil War life with rich insights into the lives of slaves, abolitionists, and the American reading public. Examining the lingering effects of the novel, they provide new insights into emerging race-relation, women's, gay, and gender issues.
Beloved by Toni Morrison; A. S. Byatt (Introduction by)
Call Number: PS3563 .O8749 B4 2006, PS3563 .O8749 B4 1998, PS3563.O8749 B4 1988
Publication Date: 2006
Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, Toni Morrison's Beloved is a spellbinding and dazzlingly innovative portrait of a woman haunted by the past. Sethe, an escaped slave living in post-Civil War Ohio with her daughter and mother-in-law, is persistently haunted by the ghost of her dead baby girl.
Bound for the Promised Land: Harriet Tubman, Portrait of an American Hero by Kate Clifford Larson
Call Number: E444 .T82 L37 2004
Publication Date: 2003
Harriet Tubman is one of the giants of American history; a fearless visionary who led scores of her fellow slaves to freedom and battled courageously behind enemy lines during the Civil War. The truth about Harriet Tubman has become lost inside a legend woven of racial and gender stereotypes.
Comstock Women: The Making of a Mining Community by Ronald M. James (Editor); C. Elizabeth Raymond (Editor)
Call Number: F849 .V8 C65 1998
Publication Date: 1997
Comstock Women is a collection of 14 historical studies. The authors of these essays, explore such topics as women and politics, jobs, and ethnic groups. Their work goes far in refuting the exaggerated popular images of women in early mining towns as dance hall girls or prostitutes. Relying primarily on newspapers, court decisions, census records.
Daughters of the Union by Nina Silber
Call Number: E628 .S55 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Daughters of the Union casts a spotlight on some of the most overlooked and least understood participants in the American Civil War: the women of the North. Unlike their Confederate counterparts, who were often caught in the midst of the conflict, most Northern women remained far from the dangers of battle.
Eden's Outcasts: The Story of Louisa May Alcott and her Father by John Matteson
Call Number: PS1018 .M34 2007
Publication Date: 2007
During Louisa May Alcott's youth, the famous Alcott was her father, Bronson--an eminent teacher, lecturer, and admired friend of Emerson and Thoreau. Willful and exuberant, Louisa flew in the face of all her father's intricate theories of child rearing. This story of their tense yet loving relationship adds dimensions to Louisa's life, her work, and the relationships of fathers and daughters.
A Frontier Lady by Katharine Royce (Foreword by); Ralph Henry Gabriel (Editor); Sarah Royce
Call Number: F865 .R86 1977, PBK 6417
Publication Date: 1977
Since it was first published in 1932, A Frontier Lady has held a high and special place in the literature of Americas westward migration. Written in the 1880s at the request of her son, the philosopher and educator Josiah Royce, Sarah Royce's narrative of the family odyssey across the continent and of their early years in California is also the portrait of a remarkable woman.
Frontier Women by Julie R. Jeffrey
Call Number: HQ1439 .W45 J43 1998
Publication Date: 1998
In this new edition of a classic work, Julie Roy Jeffrey maintains the essential core of her account of the extraordinarily diverse contributions women made to the development of the American frontier. Jeffrey has expanded her original analysis to include the often overlooked perspectives of Native American, Hispanic, Chinese, and African American women.
Good Wives: Image and Reality in the Lives of Women in Northern New England, 1650-1750 by Laurel Thatcher Ulrich
Call Number: HQ1438.N35 U47 1991
Publication Date: 1991
This enthralling work of scholarship strips away abstractions to reveal the hidden--and not always stoic--face of the "goodwives" of colonial America. In these pages we encounter the awesome burdens--and the considerable power--of a New England housewife's domestic life and witness her occasional forays into the world of men.
Great Lives from American History: American Women by Salem Press
Call Number: Ref. HQ 1412 G 744 2016 VOL. 1-3
Publication Date: 2016
Great Lives from History: American Women covers prominent individuals from colonial times through the present, offering a fascinating perspective on important women from U.S. history. *Available in both print and e-book
Harriet Beecher Stowe: A Life by Joan D. Hedrick
Call Number: PS2956 .H43 1994
Publication Date: 1994
In this landmark book, the first full-scale biography of Harriet Beecher Stowe in over fifty years, Joan D. Hedrick tells the absorbing story of this gifted, complex, and contradictory woman. Hedrick takes readers into the multilayered world of nineteenth century morals and mores, exploring theinfluence of then-popular ideas of "true womanhood" on Stowe's upbringing.
The Harvey Girls: Women Who Opened the West by Lesley Poling-Kempes
Call Number: F786 .P84 1989
Publication Date: 1989
Based on research involving many interviews, this is a history of the more than 100,000 single girls who moved West to be waitresses in restaurants along the route of the Santa Fe Railroad.
I, Tituba, Black Witch of Salem by Maryse Condé; Mercure de France (Contribution by)
Call Number: PQ3949.2 .C65 M5613 2009
Publication Date: 2009
This wild and entertaining novel expands on the true story of the West Indian slave Tituba, who was accused of witchcraft in Salem, Massachusetts, arrested in 1692, and forgotten in jail until the general amnesty for witches two years later.
Liberty's Daughters by Mary Beth Norton
Call Number: HQ1418 .N67 1996, HQ1418 .N67 1990
Publication Date: 1996
First published in 1980 and recently out of print, Liberty's Daughters is widely considered a landmark book on the history of American women and on the Revolution itself.
The Lieutenant Nun: Memoir of a Basque Transvestite in the New World by Catalina De Erauso; Michele Stepto (Translator); Gabriel Stepto (Translator); Marjorie B. Garber (Foreword by)
Call Number: CT1358 .E7 A3 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Born in San Sebastian in 1585, Catalina de Erauso fled a convent at 15 and spent the rest of her life dressed as a man. In 1603, she became a soldier and fought in the conquest of Chile and Peru. Gambling and brawling her way through the mining towns of the Andean highlands, she finally revealed her true identity 20 years later and became an instant celebrity.
A Long Fatal Love Chase by Louisa May Alcott
Call Number: PBK 6514, PBK 6515
Publication Date: 1996
"I'd gladly sell my soul to Satan for a year of freedom," cries impetuous Rosamond Vivian to her callous grandfather. Then, one stormy night, a brooding stranger appears in her remote island home, ready to take Rosamond to her word. Spellbound by the mysterious Philip Tempest, Rosamond is seduced with promises of love and freedom, then spirited away.
The Lost German Slave Girl by John Bailey
Call Number: F379 .N553 M553 2004
Publication Date: 2004
It is a spring morning in New Orleans, 1843. In the Spanish Quarter, on a street lined with flophouses and gambling dens, Madame Carl recognizes the face of a German girl who disappeared twenty-five years earlier. But the olive-skinned woman is a slave, with no memory of a white past. Had a defenseless European orphan been illegally enslaved, or was she an imposter?
María de Estrada, Gypsy Conquistadora by Gloria Durán
Call Number: PS3554 .U62 M37 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Maria was the grandchild of a rabbi and physician and who trained with Gypsies in swordplay and horsemanship. After escaping a death sentence imposed by the Spanish Inquisition, Maria arrived in the New World where she became a warrior fighting alongside Cortes in Spain's military conquest.
Masquerade: The Life and Times of Deborah Sampson by Alfred F. Young
Call Number: E276 .G36 Y68 2004
Publication Date: 2004
The remarkable story of the woman who fought in the American Revolution as Robert Shurtliff and got away with it.Serving for seventeen months during the period between the British surrender at Yorktown and the signing of the final treaty, Deborah Sampson accomplished her deception by becoming an outstanding soldier. Alfred Young shows us why she did it and exactly how she carried it off.
A Midwife's Tale: The Life of Martha Ballard, Based on her Diary, 1785-1812 by Laurel Thatcher Ulrich
Call Number: F29 .H15 U47 1991
Publication Date: 1991
Drawing on the diaries of a midwife and healer in eighteenth-century Maine, this intimate history illuminates the medical practices, household economies, religious rivalries, and sexual mores of the New England frontier.
Mistress Bradstreet: The Untold Life of America's First Poet by Charlotte Gordon
Call Number: PS712 .G67 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Anne Bradstreet is known for her poem, "To My Dear and Loving Husband," among others, and through John Berryman's "Homage to Mistress Bradstreet." With her first collection, The Tenth Muse Lately Sprung Up in America, she became the first published poet, male or female, of the New World.
My Wars Are Laid Away in Books by Alfred Habegger
Call Number: PS1541 .Z5 H32 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Emily Dickinson, probably the most loved and certainly the greatest of American poets, continues to be seen as the most elusive. One reason she has become a timeless icon of mystery for many readers is that her developmental phases have not been clarified. In this exhaustively researched biography, Alfred Habegger presents the first thorough account of Dickinson's growth.
The Narrative of Sojourner Truth by Sojourner Truth; Olive Gilbert (Editor)
Call Number: E185.97.T8 G55 1993
Publication Date: 2017
From slavery to liberation to life as an abolitionist, feminist, orator, and preacher--the autobiography of a woman who refused to be anything but free.
Oldest Living Confederate Widow Tells All by Allan Gurganus
Call Number: PS3557.U814 O4 1990
Publication Date: 1990
Lucy Marsden, is narrowing in on her 100th birthday. She had been married to her husband William More Marsden since she was fifteen. But Willie, a veteran of the Civil War, never recovered from his youthful foray into battle, and more importantly, the loss of his closest friend. And the stories Lucy has to tell of the war, Willie, her life with him, and the tales she heard from his one-time slave Castalia.
Pocahontas: The Life and the Legend by Frances Mossiker
Call Number: E99 .P85 P575 1996; E99 .P85 P575 1976
Publication Date: 1996
This biography illuminates the dual world within which she struggled to identify herself, and her enormous impact on its leading figures: the first encounters and skirmishes between Indians and Englishmen in 1607; Pocahontas's dramatic rescue of Captain John Smith and her later abduction; her marriage to the Father of Tobacco, John Rolfe; the fateful voyage to England and her early death.
Poems, Protest, and a Dream by Sor Juana Ines de la Cruz; Ilan Stavans (Introduction by); Margaret Sayers Peden (Translator)
Call Number: PQ7296 .J6 A25 1997
Publication Date: 1997
A bilingual edition of writings by Latin America's finest baroque poet Sor Juana Ines de la Cruz (1648-1695) wrote her most famous prose work, La Respuesta a Sor Filotea, in 1691 in response to her bishop's injunction against her intellectual pursuits.
The Scarlet Letter and Other Writings by Nathaniel Hawthorne; Leland S. Person
Call Number: PS1868 .A2 P47 2005
Publication Date: 2004
The text of The Scarlet Letter is based on the 1850 third edition, the first set in stereotype plates and the basis of subsequent printings in Hawthorne's lifetime. An invaluable selection of contextual material includes five Hawthorne stories that are closely related to The Scarlet Letter, along with relevant letters and notebook entries.
Seneca Falls Inheritance by Miriam Grace Monfredo
Call Number: PS3563 .O5234 S4 1994
Publication Date: 1994
Going door-to-door to persuade her neighbors to attend the Women's Rights Convention, Glynis Tryon stumbles upon a murder, and she must solve it amid the confusion of this historic event and with the help of such figures as Elizabeth Cady Stanton.
Testimony of an Irish Slave Girl by Kate McCafferty
Call Number: PS3613 .C33 T47 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Kidnapped from Galway, Ireland, as a young girl, shipped to Barbados, and forced to work the land alongside African slaves, Cot Daley's life has been shaped by injustice. McCafferty re-creates, through Cot's story, the history of the more than fifty thousand Irish who were sold as indentured servants to Caribbean plantation owners during the seventeenth century.
The Unredeemed Captive by John Putnam Demos
Call Number: E197 .D46 1995
Publication Date: 1995
In colonial Massachusetts, February 1704, a French and Indian war party descended on the village of Deerfield, abducting a Puritan minister and his children. Although John Williams was eventually released, his daughter horrified the family by staying with her captors and marrying a Mohawk husband.
Women at Home in Victorian America by Ellen M. Plante
Call Number: HQ1418 .P53 1997
Publication Date: 1997
This social and domestic history takes an intriguing look into the genteel lives of women in the Victorian era. It delves into the customs and cultures of the "polite society" that shaped their lives, their homes, their family life, their pastimes, and their domestic chores.
Women in the American Revolution by Jeanne Munn Bracken (Editor)
Call Number: E276 .W65 1997
Publication Date: 2009
Women in the American Revolution picks up where usual historical accounts of the Revolutionary War leave off -- with the varied roles and contributions of women in camp, on the homefront, and serving as spies, messengers, and soldiers. This anthology of letters, journals, and eyewitness accounts tells a part of the story of women who helped on both sides of the war.
Women of the War by Frank Moore
Call Number: E628 .M83 2010
Publication Date: 2004
The histories of wars are records of the achievements of men, for the most part: the chroniclers have had to record that women have been the cause of strifes innumerable; and it is confessed that they have inspired heroism and knightly deeds, but they have had small share in the actual conflicts. It has been their portion to suffer in silence at home, and to mourn the dead.

The Angel of Darkness by Caleb Carr
Call Number: PBK 6201
Publication Date: 1998
June 1897. A year has passed since Dr. Laszlo Kreizler, a pioneer in forensic psychiatry, tracked down the brutal serial killer John Beecham with the help of a team of trusted companions and a revolutionary application of the principles of his discipline. Kreizler and his friends have returned to their former pursuits and tried to forget the horror of the Beecham case.
Backlash by Susan Faludi
Call Number: HQ1426 .F35 2006
Publication Date: 2006
When it was first published, Backlash made headlines for puncturing popular media myths like the "infertility epidemic" and the "man shortage." That glass ceiling remains unshattered, women are still punished for wanting to succeed, and reproductive rights are still hanging by a thread.
The Beauty Myth: How Images of Beauty are Used Against Women by Naomi Wolf
Call Number: HQ1219 .W65 2002; HQ1219 .W65 1991
Publication Date: 2002
In today's world, women have more power, legal recognition, and professional success than ever before. Alongside the evident progress of the women's movement, however, Wolf is troubled by a different kind of social control, which may prove just as restrictive as the traditional image of homemaker and wife.
Bitter Fruit: African American Women in World War II by Maureen Honey (Editor)
Call Number: D810 .N4 B4 1999
Publication Date: 1999
In Bitter Fruit, Maureen Honey corrects this distorted picture of women's roles in World War II by collecting photos, essays, fiction, and poetry by and about black women from the four leading African American periodicals of the war period.
Comparable Worth by E. Robert Livernash (Editor)
Call Number: HD6061.2 .U6 C642 1984
Publication Date: 1984
This is a revised and updated comprehensive analysis of the concept of equal pay for jobs of comparable worth. The book is the result of an independent study initiated to explore whether the government should use a comparable worth approach as a means of enforcing equal employment opportunity laws.
Fascinating Womanhood by Helen Andelin
Call Number: HQ734 .A537 2007
Publication Date: 2007
How to Make Your Marriage a Lifelong Love Affair What makes a woman fascinating to her husband? What is happiness in marriage for a woman? These are just two of the questions Helen B. Andelin answers in the bestselling classic that has already brought new happiness and life to millions of marriages.
Feminine Mystique by Betty Friedan
Call Number: HQ1426 .F844 1997
Publication Date: 1997
As women continue to struggle for equality, to keep their hard-won gains, and to find fulfillment in careers, marriage, and family, The Feminine Mystique remains a profound consciousness-raising work. This edition of The Feminine Mystique features a penetrating new introduction, which addresses the complex issues women face today.
The Georgetown Ladies' Social Club: Power, Passion, and Politics in the Nation's Capital by C. David Heymann
Call Number: HQ1236.5 .U6 H49 2003
Publication Date: 2003
In this riveting book--a heady mix of politics, sex, scandal, and power--Heymann reveals the real moguls of Washington. The Georgetown Ladies' Social Club, a term coined by Ronald Reagan, comprises a list of formidable and fascinating women.
The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood
Call Number: Paperback Racks LR 22
Publication Date: 1998
In Margaret Atwood's dystopian future, environmental disasters and declining birthrates have led to a Second American Civil War. The result is the rise of the Republic of Gilead, a totalitarian regime that enforces rigid social roles and enslaves the few remaining fertile women. Offred is one of these, a Handmaid bound to produce children for one of Gilead's commanders.
Having Our Say: The Delany Sisters' First 100 Years by Sarah L. Delany; A. Elizabeth Delany; Amy Hill Hearth
Call Number: E185.96 .D37 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Sadie and Bessie Delany have seen it all. They saw their father, who was born into slavery, become America's first black Episcopal bishop. They saw their mother--a woman of mixed racial parentage who was born free--give birth to ten children, all of whom would become college-educated, successful professionals in a time when blacks could scarcely expect to receive a high school diploma.
Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly
Call Number: QA27.5 .L44 2016
Publication Date: 2016
The #1 New York Times bestseller The phenomenal true story of the black female mathematicians at NASA whose calculations helped fuel some of America's greatest achievements in space. *Also available as an eBook
Josephine Baker in Art and Life: The Icon and the Image by Bennetta Jules-Rosette
Call Number: GV1785 .B3 J85 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Josephine Baker (1906-1975) was a dancer, singer, actress, author, politician, militant, and philanthropist, whose images and cultural legacy have survived beyond the hundredth anniversary of her birth. Neither an exercise in postmodern deconstruction nor simple biography, Josephine Baker in Art and Life presents a critical cultural study of the life and art of the Franco-American performer.
Madam President: Shattering the Last Glass Ceiling by Eleanor Clift; Tom Brazaitis
Call Number: HQ1236.5 .U6 C55 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Two respected Washington pundits offer a forward-looking history of women in politics. A striking aspect of our new century's first election season has been the vitality American women are injecting into the proceedings -- as candidates, strategists, and voters. In the 1990s, their influence redefined the nature of politics. They chronicle women's remarkable progress.
Madam Secretary by Madeleine Albright (Contribution by); Bill Woodward
Call Number: E840.8 .A37 A3 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Sure to be one of the signature books of the century, this is a tapestry both intimate and panoramic, personal and public, and a rich memoir of a powerful woman. Two 16-page photo inserts.
Mothers of Invention: From the Bra to the Bomb by Ethlie Ann Vare
Call Number: T36 .V36 1988
Publication Date: 1988
A rundown on women inventors through history, some important and some less so, like the inventor of the chocolate chip cookie. Describes how women invent such items as Liquid Paper, tract houses, brassieres, computer compilers, and non-reflecting glass, and more.
My Face Is Black Is True: Callie House and the Struggle for Ex-Slave Reparations by Mary Frances Berry
Call Number: E185.97 .H825 B47 2005
Publication Date: 2005
In her groundbreaking new book, My Face Is Black Is True, historian Mary Frances Berry resurrects the forgotten life of Callie House (1861-1928), ex-slave, widowed Nashville washerwoman and mother of five who, seventy years before the civil rights movement, headed a demand for ex-slave reparations.
No Place for a Woman: A Life of Senator Margaret Chase Smith by Janann Sherman
Call Number: E748 .S667 S54 2000
Publication Date: 1999
No Place for a Woman is the first biography to analyze Margaret Chase Smith's life and times by using politics and gender as the lens through which we can understand this Maine senator's impact on American politics and American women.
Our Mothers' War: American Women at Home and at the Front During World War II by Emily Yellin
Call Number: D810 .W7 Y45 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Now, Our Mothers' War, re-creates what American women from all walks of life were doing and thinking, on the home front and abroad. These heartwarming and sometimes heartbreaking accounts of the women we have known as mothers, aunts, and grandmothers reveal facets of their lives that have usually remained unmentioned and unappreciated.
Policewomen: A History by Kerry Segrave
Call Number: HV8023 .S44 1995
Publication Date: 1995
It was not until the early 1900s that the first policewomen were hired by major metropolitan police departments in the U.S. and Europe. Their mandate was to protect women and children; they functioned largely as social workers with badges. Their role remained fairly constant until the 1970s when policewomen were assigned in large numbers to general patrol duty.
Reviving Ophelia by Mary Pipher
Call Number: HQ798 .P57 2005; HQ798 .P57 1994
Publication Date: 2005
As a therapist, Mary Pipher was becoming frustrated with the growing problems among adolescent girls. Why were so many of them turning to therapy in the first place? Why had these lovely and promising human beings fallen prey to depression, eating disorders, suicide attempts, and crushingly low self-esteem?
Rocking the Boat: Union Women's Voices by Brigid O'Farrell (Editor); Joyce L. Kornbluh (Editor)
Call Number: HD6079.2 .U5 R63 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Rocking the Boat is a celebration of strong, committed women who helped to build the American labor movement. Through the stories of eleven women from a wide range of backgrounds, we experience the turmoil, hardships, and accomplishments of thousands of other union women activists.
Running Mates: The Making of a First Lady by Ann Grimes
Call Number: E880 .G75 1990
Publication Date: 1990
Interviews with the wives of the 1988 presidential hopefuls reveal a variety of ideas concerning the role of the first lady.
Sisterhood of Spies by Elizabeth P. McIntosh
Call Number: D810 .S7 M375 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Here is the fascinating story of the four thousand women who made up one-fifth of the Office of Strategic Services during World War II, told by one of their own.
This I Remember by Eleanor Roosevelt
Call Number: E807.1 .R428 1949; E807.1 .R428 1975
Publication Date: 1949
In this candid and amusing autobiography of her earlier years, Eleanor Roosevelt tells the story of herself and her family up to the time of the 1924 Democratic Convention.
A Time Remembered: American Women in Vietnam by Olga Gruhzit-Hoyt
Call Number: DS559.8 .W6 G78 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Some 10,000 US women served in the Vietnam War. Based on interviews with armed forces nurses, Red Cross volunteers and others, the author of They Also Served: American Women in World War II conveys their wartime and postwar experiences.
Unbought and Unbossed by Shirley Chisholm
Call Number: E840.8.C48 A3
Publication Date: 1970
Unbought and Unbossed is Shirley Chisholm's account of her remarkable rise from young girl in Brooklyn to America's first African-American Congresswoman. She shares how she took on an entrenched system, gave a public voice to millions, and sets the stage for her trailblazing bid to be the first woman and first African-American President of the United States.
A Woman in Charge: The Life of Hilary Rodham Clinton by Carl Bernstein
Call Number: E887 .C55 B47 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Carl Bernstein's stunning portrait of Hillary Rodham Clinton shows us, as nothing else has, the true trajectory of her life and career with its zigzag bursts of risks taken and safety sought. Bernstein gives us the most detailed, sophisticated, comprehensive, and revealing account we have had of the complex human being.
Women at War: Gender Issues of American's in Combat by Rosemarie Skaine
Call Number: UB418 .W65 S56 1999
Publication Date: 1999
The Persian Gulf War changed the face of combat. It brought women's military roles into the spotlight, in large part via the mass media, and showed that many women performed combat roles similar to those of men during the conflict. The war was thus an impetus for changes in laws that had prevented women from serving in combat assignments.
Women of the Harlem Renaissance by Cheryl A. Wall
Call Number: PS153 .N5 W33 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Features the lives and work of women in the Harlem Renaissance - Jessie Redmon Fauset, Nella Larsen, Zora Neale Hurston, and others - situated in the traditions of African-American and American writing.
Zelda: A Biography by Nancy Milford
Call Number: PS3511.I9234 Z8 1970
Publication Date: 1970
Nancy Milford brings to life the tormented, elusive personality of Zelda Sayre and clarifies as never before her relationship with F. Scott Fitzgerald, tracing the inner disintegration of a gifted, despairing woman undone by the clash between her husband’s career and her own talent.