Skip to Main Content
Victor Valley College Library
Victor Valley College
History Subject Guide
Search this Guide
History Research Guide
Primary vs Secondary Sources
Citing Sources and Plagiarism
Contact a Librarian
Some recommended Web sites for History are listed below:
The Library of Congress - National Digital Library Program makes available more than 100 collections and more than 9 million individual items.
This 6,000 page reference center is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and the history of more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world. We invite you to explore and use all the resources of BlackPast.
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Includes Arizona, California, District of Columbia, and other selected States. Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs. The University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill sponsors Documenting the American South, and the texts and materials come primarily from its southern holdings. The UNC University Library is committed to the long-term availability of these collections and their online records.
Harvard Digital Collections: Immigration to the U.S., 1789-1930
This digital collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the start of the Great Depression.
The Martin Luther King Jr., Papers Project
Sponsored by The King Institute at Stanford University, the site includes a biography, timeline, encyclopedia, and audio clips of Martin Luther King Jr.
The National Archives
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever. Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching a historical topic that interests you.
National Park Service-Ellis Island
The story of Ellis Island is the story of people - millions of immigrants - who passed through its halls seeking new opportunities and freedoms. Join us as we tell the story of this place and these people through our photo collections. These images - some historic, some more recent - show us Ellis Island's history, even up to the present-day.
The New York Public Library Digital Collections
Explore 899,079 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. The site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
New York Public Library Digital Collections: Ellis Island
A digital collection of photographs and documents from Immigrant Commissioner of Ellis Island, William Williams.
View the actual image and transcript of 100 milestone documents that chronicles U.S. history from 1776-1965.
Salem Witchcraft Trials
Danvers Archival Center at the University of Virginia. A collection of primary source materials relating to the Salem Witch Trials of 1692.
The Smithsonian's collections represent our nation's rich heritage, art from across the globe, and the immense diversity of the natural and cultural world. Online exhibits display a range of topics and interests.
The Valley of the Shadow Digital Archive
Provided by the University of Virginia, The Valley of the Shadow is a digital archive of primary sources that document the lives of people in Augusta County, Virginia, and Franklin County, Pennsylvania, during the era of the American Civil War through Reconstruction. The archive provides diaries, letters, newspaper articles, speeches, census and church records, and more.
Discovering American Women's History Online
Provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Women's History Month: Library of Congress
Links to federal government (Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, etc.) web resources, exhibitions, audio and video, and information on women's history.
Women of Four Wars: Stories from the Veteran’s History Project (Library of Congress)
Documents the experiences of women service personnel in the Korean War, Vietnam War, Afghanistan conflict and the Gulf war. The site includes online oral histories with video webcasts or podcasts of interviews.
HistoryWorld’s aim is to make world history more easily accessible through interactive narratives and timelines. Written by Bamber Gascoigne, it consists of about 300 narratives ( the alphabetical list runs from Aegean Civilization to Zoroastrianism) and some 10,000 events on searchable timelines.
World History Archives
A collection of annotated links to large document collections in world history. Sites are selected with an emphases on the "working-class" in history.
World History Compass
The stated goal of this website is to provide links to history sites anywhere in the world. Easy to use geographic index.
World History Connected
A free history e-Journal published by the University of Illinois Press.
Streaming Media >>
Nov 3, 2023 10:39 AM
Login to LibApps