LibGuides: Legal Research Subject Guide: Finding Books

Finding Books

Books, eBooks, and other Library materials can be searched using the Online Catalog. You can search the catalog by Subject such as Law. Books on law are located in the "K" and parts of the "HV" sections of the library. There are two main categories of books: general and reference. General books (located in the "Stacks" on the lower floor) can be checked out and are often used for more in-depth research. Reference books (located on the upper floor) do not circulate but can be useful for acquiring an overview on a topic.

Course Reserves

The Library maintains a collection of instructor reserve materials. These consist of textbooks, videos, and supplemental course materials that instructors have put in the Library for student use. For example, to find what materials are available for Law or Criminal Justice, search Course Reserves in the Online Catalog. It is best to search by "Course Number" (ex. CJ 101) in that an instructor other than yours may have placed an item on reserve. Materials can be requested at the Periodicals counter and generally must be used in the Library on a two-hour loan period. Photocopy machines are available for 10¢ a copy.

The Bill of Rights, Second Edition by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Thomas Tandy Lewis (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. KF4750 .B55 2017 VOLS. 1-2
Publication Date: 2017
The Bill of Rights is a comprehensive survey of all aspects of the U.S. Bill of Rights; from its origins to its role in modern American history. Special attention is given to the organic relationship of the Bill of Rights to the original Constitution, its ongoing interpretation and incorporation by the U.S. Supreme Court, and the political and social issues it has spawned. *Available in print and e-book
Black's Law Dictionary by A. Bryan Garner (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Ref. KF156 .B53 2014
Publication Date: 2014, 10th ed.
This comprehensive law dictionary contains more than 50,000 terms and includes definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms. More than 7,500 terms new to this edition.
The Bluebook by Columbia Law Review (Compiled by)
Call Number: Ref. KF 245 .U55 2010
Publication Date: 2010, 19th ed.
Contains over 40,000 definitions of legal terms based on the actual construction of those terms by courts of last resort. Each term includes the case cited to the page on which the definition appears.
Constutional Amendments by Mark Grossman (General Editor)
Call Number: Ref. KF 4557 .G76 2012 Vols. 1-2
Publication Date: 2016
A 2 volume encyclopedia that defines the 27 amendments in comprehensive chapters with supportive materials including debates, articles, reports, and Supreme Court cases. *Available in print and e-book
Contemporary Supreme Court Cases by Donald E. Lively; D. Scott Broyles
Call Number: Ref. KF4550 .Z9 L58 2016 Vols. 1-2
Publication Date: 2016
With its blend of accessible writing and actual excerpts from Court opinions, this book serves to explain the legal and cultural underpinnings of landmark U.S. Supreme Court decisions of the past 35 years-and to illuminate how these decisions have shaped the trajectory and character of modern American society.
Courts, Law, and Justice by William J. Chambliss (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. HV7405 .C68 2011
Publication Date: 2011
The 20 chapters in Courts, Law, and Justice cover a wide range of sharply contested topics, including drug and gun control laws as well as the ins and outs of the criminal justice system as encountered by arrested suspects, during the trial process, and during the sentencing phase. *Also available as an eBook
The Criminal Justice System, Second Edition by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Michael K. Hooper (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. KF9217 .C75 2017 Vols. 1-3
Publication Date: 2017
The Criminal Justice System, completely updated, covers the most important aspects of criminal justice in the United States. It details the commission and frequency of crimes through the investigation, apprehension, prosecution, and punishment of wrongdoers.*Also available as an eBook
Essential Supreme Court Decisions by John R. Vile
Call Number: Ref. KF4547.4 .V55 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Summaries of Leading Cases in U.S. Constitutional Law is the most up-to-date and historically thorough guide to the American Supreme Court s most monumental rulings available today. *Also available as an eBook
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law by Donna Batten, ed.
Call Number: Ref. KF 154 .W47 2011 Vols. 1-14
Publication Date: 2011, 3rd ed.
The encyclopedia covers information and issues on 5,000 U.S. legal topics in 14 volumes. Also includes "In Focus" pieces that provide additional facts and details on important issues.*Also available as an eBook
Internet and the Law by Aaron Schwabach
Call Number: Ref. KF390.5 .C6 S358 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Explains complex legal and technical concepts clearly and understandably through entries, covers a wide range of topics, including censorship, copyright, domain name disputes, file-sharing, hacking, patents, spam, malware, international law, tax issues, trademarks, and viruses, and more. *Also available as an eBook
Landmark Supreme Court Cases by Roy M. Mersky; Jane O'Connell; Richard A. Leiter
Call Number: Ref. KF 8742 .H37 2012
Publication Date: 2012
A 3 volume set containing landmark cases of the U.S. Supreme Court. Each case includes key issues, history, summary of arguments, overview of decision, aftermath, and significance. Cases are arranged by legal topics and indexed by name. *Also available as an eBook
Profiling and Criminal Justice in America by Jeffrey B. Bumgarner
Call Number: HV9950 .B86 2015
Publication Date: 2015
An unbiased examination of profiling in the criminal justice system--one of the most hotly contested public policy issues--on the streets, in the courts, and in the jails and prisons of America. *Also available as an eBook
The U. S. Supreme Court, Second Edition by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Thomas Tandy Lewis (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. KF8742 .U17 2016 Vols. 1-3
Publication Date: 2016
The U.S. Supreme Court is a comprehensive survey of the history and functions of the institution for which it is named. Although it has only nine unelected members, the Court alone can overturn the actions of every other branch of government, at all levels. There is no other institution quite like the Supreme Court-in the United States or anywhere else in the world. *Also available as an eBook

American Governance by Stephen Schechter (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Approximately 700 original, peer-reviewed entries written by content specialists about America s complete system of governance. An authoritative source of scholarship on essential topics of American governance presented in a clear and compelling manner. Satisfies the national standards for civics and government. Includes approximately 300 images. Includes primary source documents.
American Prisons and Jails by Vidisha Barua Worley; Robert M. Worley
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2018
This two-volume encyclopedia provides a comprehensive and authoritative examination of the history and current character of American prisons and jails and their place in the U.S. corrections system.
Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments by Laura Mars (Editor); Grey House Canada Staff
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2017
This thought-provoking and interesting text provides a complete examination of each of our nation's 27 Constitutional Amendments. From the prohibition of alcoholic beverages, to slavery, to the voting rights of women, this text illustrates how the US Constitution has changed since its ratification in 1789.
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law by Donna Batten (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more.
Juvenile Justice by Donald J. Shoemaker; Timothy W. Wolfe
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Authoritative, current, and easy to use, this book is an outstanding resource for readers looking to gain an accurate and thorough understanding of American juvenile justice. Presents historical and contemporary data in an easy-to-understand fashion that survey the complex history of the juvenile justice system and allow readers to better comprehend the key issues and much more.
Landmark Supreme Court Cases by Roy M. Mersky; Jane O'Connell; Richard A. Leiter
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Through its interpretations of the Constitution and Bill of Rights, the Supreme Court issues decisions that shape American law, define the functioning of government and society, and address the most important issues of the day. No court in the country can overturn Supreme Court rulings.
Prisons in the United States by Cyndi Banks
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Offering perspectives from a range of experts, both academic and nonacademic, this reference book examines the development of prisons in the United States and addresses the principal contemporary issues and controversies of our prisons and prison systems.
Reference Shelf: Campaign Trends and Election Law by H. W. Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2016
This volume explores such timely topics as campaign finance and the corporate funding of elections and investigates the effects of SCOTUS's ruling to roll back aspects of the Voting Rights Act, allowing states to make their own election laws without federal oversight.
Reference Shelf: Internet Law by Hw Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2020
This issue of Reference Shelf explores evolving cyberlaw pertaining to such issues as data privacy, freedom of expression, intellectual property, e-commerce, and contract law.