LibGuides: Child Development: Finding Books

Finding Books

Books, eBooks, and other Library materials can be searched using the Online Catalog. Books for Child Development are located in sections HQ 767–792C in the Library's collection. There are two main categories of books: general and reference. General books (located in the "Stacks" on the lower floor) can be checked out and are often used for more in-depth research. Reference books (located on the upper floor) do not circulate but can be useful for acquiring an overview on a topic.

Course Reserves

The Library maintains a collection of instructor reserve materials. These consist of textbooks, videos, and supplemental course materials that instructors have put in the Library for student use. To find what materials are available for Child Development, search Course Reserves in the Online Catalog. It is best to search by "Course Number" (ex. CHDV 100) in that an instructor other than yours may have placed an item on reserve. Materials can be requested at the Periodicals counter and generally must be used in the Library on a two-hour loan period. Photocopy machines are available for 10¢ a copy.

A few selected Library general and reference titles for Child Development are listed below.

The Bronfenbrenner Primer by Lawrence Shelton
Call Number: BF713 .S5147 2019
Publication Date: 2019
This is the first ever introduction to Urie Bronfenbrenner's Ecological Systems Framework written specifically for undergraduate students. The author provides a carefully structured, guided introduction to Bronfenbrenner's concepts, their interpretation, and their potential applications.
The Cambridge Handbook of Play by Peter K. Smith (Editor); Jaipaul L. Roopnarine (Editor)
Call Number: GV1200 C365 2019
Publication Date: 2018
The Cambridge Handbook of Play covers the evolution of play in animals, especially mammals; the development of play from infancy through childhood and into adulthood; historical and anthropological perspectives on play; theories and methodologies; the role of play in children's learning; play in special groups such as children with impairments, or suffering political violence; and the practical applications of playwork and play therapy.
Careers in Education & Training by Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)
Call Number: LB 1775 2 C374 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Students interested in a career in education and training have a wide variety of choices when selecting a career path. Careers in Education & Training is designed to provide need-to-know information on the various careers that students can choose from. *Also available as an eBook
The Clinical Erik Erikson by Stephen Schlein
Call Number: BF173 .S356 2016
Publication Date: 2016
The Clinical Erik Erikson: A psychoanalytic method of engagement and activation highlights Erikson's transforming contributions to the field of psychoanalysis and honors his legacy by providing unpublished clinical case illustrations of his psychotherapeutic work.
Cognitive Development in Digital Contexts by Fran C. Blumberg (Editor); Patricia J. Brooks (Editor)
Call Number: BF723 .C5 C64 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Highlighting how screen media impact cognitive development, the book addresses a topic often neglected amid societal concerns about pathological media use and vulnerability to media effects, such as aggression, cyber-bullying and Internet addiction. *Also available as an eBook
Community and Family Health Issues by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Amber Bruggman (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. RA418.5 F3 C666 2017 Vol. 1-3
Publication Date: 2017
Written by experts from the healthcare and social services fields, articles provide helpful guidance on conditions, treatments, trends and issues facing children, families, and economically, physically or mentally disadvantaged members of the community. *Also available as an eBook
Culturally Responsive Teaching : Theory, Research, and Practice [Third edition] by Geneva Gay
Call Number: LC1099.3 .G393 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Serves as a stepping stone in understanding specific careers and provides a wealth of information on the education and training needed within each profession along with a look towards the future of the field with an informative employment outlook.
Early Childhood Education: An International Encyclopedia by Rebecca Staples New; Moncrieff Cochran
Call Number: Ref. LB 1139.23 E272 2007
Publication Date: 2006
A four-volume encyclopedia featuring articles on the controversies, theories, policies, practices, organizations, and individuals in the field of early childhood education in the United States and selected other countries.
Education in America by Stephen Meyer
Call Number: Ref. Desk LA217.2 .E36 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Areas covered include an overview of American education; primary, elementary, and secondary schools; public versus private schooling; special education; education of gifted children; testing and achievement of students; national education goals; and "at-risk" students. *Also available as an eBook
Encyclopedia of Human Development by Neil J. Salkind (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. HM626 .E53 2006 VOLS. 1-3
Publication Date: 2006
This reference work presents ready-to-use facts from the fields of psychology, sociology, individual and family studies, and education. This encyclopedia covers topics as diverse as adolescence, cognitive development, education, family, gender differences, identity, longitudinal research, personality development, prenatal development, temperament, and more.
Father Involvement in Young Children's Lives by Jyotsna Pattnaik (Editor)
Call Number: HQ756 .P38 2013
Publication Date: 2012
In a field where groups of fathers were until recently marginalized in research, this book adopts a refreshingly inclusive attitude, aiming to motivate researchers to capture the nuanced practices of fathers in minority groups such as those who are homeless, gay, imprisoned, raising a disabled child, or from ethnically distinct backgrounds.
Fifty Key Thinkers in Psychology by Noel Sheehy
Call Number: BF109 .A1 S49 2004
Publication Date: 2003
Fifty Key Thinkers in Psychology introduces the life, thought and work of some of the most influential figures who have shaped and developed modern psychology. It features accessibly written and fully cross-referenced entries on such figures as: Sigmund Freud, Noam Chomsky, Lev Vygotsky Carl Jung, Ivan Pavlov, Jean Piaget, Erik Erikson, Abraham Maslow, Hans Eysenck and more. *Also available as an eBook
The Gardener and the Carpenter: What the New Science of Child Development tells us about the Relationship Between Parents and Children by Alison Gopnik
Call Number: BF713 .G67 2016
Publication Date: 2016
In The Gardener and the Carpenter, Alison Gopnik argues that the familiar twenty-first-century picture of parents and children is profoundly wrong--it's not just based on bad science, it's bad for kids and parents, too. Gopnik shows that although caring for children is profoundly important, it is not a matter of shaping them to turn out a particular way.
Growing Minds: A Developmental Theory of Intelligence, Brain, and Education by Andreas Demetriou; George Spanoudis
Call Number: BF431 .D386 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Growing Minds is a unique and interdisciplinary work that guides the reader through an examination of the human mind's nature, performance, lifespan, and variations.
John Dewey On Education: Selected Writings by John Dewey; Reginald D. Archambault (Editor, Introduction by)
Call Number: LB875 .D39465 1964
Publication Date: 1974
In this collection, Reginald D. Archambault has assembled John Dewey's major writings on education. He has also included basic statements of Dewey's philosophic position that are relevant to understanding his educational views. These selections are useful not only for understanding Dewey's pedagogical principles, but for illustrating the important relation between his educational theory and the principles of his general philosophy.
The Learning Brain by Torkel Klingberg
Call Number: QP406 .K5513 2013
Publication Date: 2012
In The Learning Brain, Torkel Klingberg urges us to use the insights of neuroscience to improve the education of our children.The key to improving education lies in understanding how the brain works: that is where learning takes place, after all. The book focuses in particular on "working memory" - our ability to concentrate and to keep relevant information in our head while ignoring distractions.
Modern Families: Parents and Children in new Family Norms by Susan Golombok
Call Number: HQ755.8 .G654 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Modern Families brings together research on parenting and child development in new family forms including lesbian mother families, gay father families, families headed by single mothers by choice and families created by assisted reproductive technologies such as in vitro fertilisation (IVF), egg donation, sperm donation, embryo donation and surrogacy.
Montessori by Angeline Stoll Lillard
Call Number: LB1029 M75 L53 2017
Publication Date: 2016
One hundred and ten years ago, Maria Montessori, the first female physician in Italy, devised a very different method of educating children, based on her observations of how they naturally learn. In Montessori, Angeline Stoll Lillard shows that science has finally caught up with Maria Montessori. *Also available as an eBook
New Pathways in Psychology: Maslow and the Post-Freudian Revolution by Colin Wilson
Call Number: BF109.M38 W5
Publication Date: 1972
New Pathways first reviews the history of psychology, providing a much-needed context for understanding the revolutionary nature of Maslow's "Third Force" movement. Wilson then brings Maslow's work to life by focusing on the practical applications of Maslow's theories.
Observing and Recording the Behavior of Young Children [Sixth edition] by Dorothy H. Cohen
Call Number: BF722 .C63 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Getting started -- Recording a child's behavior during routines -- Recording a child's use of materials -- Recording children's behavior with one another -- Recording children's behavior in dramatic play - and more.
Piaget's Theory of Intellectual Development by Herbert P. Ginsburg; Sylvia Opper
Call Number: BF723.C5 P5354 1979
Publication Date: 1978
A concise, provocative analysis of the key concepts and applications of Piaget's thought and work.
Right from the Start by Karin Donahue; Kate Crassons
Call Number: LC4717 .D66 2020
Publication Date: 2019
Right from the Start: A Practical Guide for Helping Young Children with Autism asserts that autistic children can be successful when parents and teachers understand key principles of autism and have the tools to help these children expand their social and emotional skills.
Technology Segregation by Miriam Tager
Call Number: LB1028.3 .T32 2020
Publication Date: 2019
Technology segregation is an ongoing practice within early childhood programs in the United States. This research, which includes two qualitative studies in the Northeast, reveals that school segregation and technology segregation are one in the same.
Theories of Childhood: An Introduction to Dewey, Montessori, Erikson, Piaget, and Vygotsky by Carol Garhart Mooney
Call Number: LB1139.23 .M64 2013
Publication Date: 2013
This best-selling resource provides clear, straightforward introductions to the foundational theories of John Dewey, Maria Montessori, Erik Erikson, Jean Piaget, and Lev Vygotsky. Each chapter highlights a theorist's work and includes insight on how the theory impacts teaching young children today.
The Toddler Brain by Laura A. Jana
Call Number: BF721 .J284 2017
Publication Date: 2017
The Toddler Brain helps parents recognize the connection that exists between their own parenting behaviors and their child's ability to acquire valuable twenty-first-century skills. Dr. Laura A. Jana draws on studies and stories from pediatrics, neuroscience, social science, and childcare, as well as the world of business and innovation to show parents how to equip their children with seven key skills.
Twenty Studies That Revolutionized Child Psychology by Wallace Dixon
Call Number: Ref. BF721 .D59 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Twenty Studies That Revolutionized Child Psychology gives students a systematic look at the process of child psychology research by examining the twenty most revolutionary scientific investigations in the field over the course of the last fifty years.

Biomental Child Development by Frank John Ninivaggi
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Biomental Child Development: Perspectives on Psychology and Parenting provides the reader with a basic understanding of child, adolescent, and adult psychology, and applies it to the growth of the integrated body and mind of children, from infancy through childhood. It offers caregivers a roadmap and a philosophy for positive parenting.
The Developing Child in the 21st Century by Sandra Smidt
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Examining the ways in which children express their thoughts, feelings and actively generate meaning through experience and interaction, this fully revised and updated new edition is illustrated throughout by extensive case studies and covers a diverse range of topics.
Early Childhood Education by Salem Press
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various educational topics. This volume offers an introduction to childhood development and the impact that childcare and early education programs can have on the learning process.
The Ecology of Human Development by Urie Bronfenbrenner
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 1981
Bronfenbrenner's groundbreaking program for reform in developmental psychology is certain to be controversial. His argument flies in the face of standard psychological procedures and challenges psychology to become more relevant to the ways in which children actually develop. It is a challenge psychology can ill-afford to ignore.
Education Today: Issues, Policies & Practices by Beryl Watnick
Call Number: Salem eBook
Publication Date: 2018
A new, three-volume set that includes 446 articles written by expert educators and education administrators. The articles are arranged in 25 sections, and cover a wide range of topics, starting with a historical look at education, and including sections on education theory, psychology, law, government, school safety, diversity, and more.
Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development by Sam Goldstein (Editor); Jack A. Naglieri (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Presented in A to Z format, the Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development consists of three volumes that address the major conceptual areas of child development: learning, behavior, and emotions.
Influencing Early Childhood Education: Key Figures, Philosophies and Ideas by Linda Pound
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2011
This book offers an academic, critical approach to theories underpinning current practice in early childhood care and education. Ranges from key nineteenth century movements to progressive ideas of the twentieth century, encompassing psychoanalytic theories, deconstructing theories and constructivism and behaviourism.
Lifespan Human Development by Marc Bornstein (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Lifespan human development is the study of all aspects of biological, physical, cognitive, socioemotional, and contextual development from conception to the end of life.
Psychological Theories of Development by Salem Press
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2014
This volume introduces the evolution of a variety of developmental theories and their application to the study of education. The essays discuss the current research regarding developmental stages, examine insights from the field of psychology on the learning process, and consider the development of the theories themselves.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Contemporary Early Childhood Education by Donna Couchenour and J. Kent Chrisman
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Presents advanced research, accurate practical applications of research, historical foundations and key facts from the field of contemporary early childhood education. Includes all areas of child development - physical, cognitive, language, social, emotional, aesthetic - as well as a review of best educational practices with young children.
Supporting the Education of Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders by Yefim Kats (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Supporting the Education of Children with Autism Spectrum Disorders focuses on a well-rounded approach to special education, including perspectives on administration and leadership, course development, psychological and counseling support, educational technologies, and classroom management strategies.
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to the Sociology of Families by Judith Treas (Editor); Jacqueline Scott (Editor); Martin Richards (Editor)
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Written by an international team of experts, this comprehensive volume investigates modern-day family relationships, partnering, and parenting set against a backdrop of rapid social, economic, cultural, and technological change. Covers a broad range of topics, including social inequality, parenting practices, children's work, changing patterns of citizenship, multi-cultural families, and changes in welfare state protection for families. Includes many European, North American and Asian examples written by a team of experts from across five continents. Features coverage of previously neglected groups, including immigrant and transnational families as well as families of gays and lesbians.
Vygotsky: Philosophy and Education by Jan Derry
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Vygotsky Philosophy and Education reassesses the works of Russian psychologist Lev Vygotsky work by arguing that his central ideas about the nature of rationality and knowledge were informed by the philosophic tradition of Spinoza and Hegel.