LibGuides: Child Development: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

The Library subscribes to online databases that provide access to full-text magazines, scholarly journals, newspaper articles, and eBooks. Since databases are subscriptions that contain copyrighted written materials, off-campus access is password protected. To search from home you will first need to log in using your MyVVC credentials. The following databases are suggested for Child Development research:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database providing full-text articles for more than 6,600 magazines and scholarly journals, including full-text for nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities.
After typing a search term, use the Select a Field option to refine your search:
Subject (searches subject terms within the database)
Abstract (searches terms within the article abstract)
All Text (search the entire article)
Under Limit your results check:
"Full-Text" for full-text articles only
"Scholarly Journals" for journal articles only
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
(Education Resource Information Center) is a massive educational resource containing over 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents.
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes sources on issues in administration, funding, and policy. Best for educators, administrators, and education students.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Provides a complete one-stop resource for information on social issues. Access controversial viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Tip: Click the Browse Issues link in the site navigation bar for an A-Z list of popular topics.
MasterFile Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database providing full-text articles for nearly 2,400 general interest periodicals/magazines dating as far back as 1917. Also contains full-text for nearly 8500 reference books and over 73,400 primary source documents. Provides full text periodicals covering an extensive range of subject areas including business, health, education, fitness, sports and leisure, personal finance, general science, multicultural issues, DIY and fashion.
MAS Ultra - School Edition (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for high school libraries but it may be useful for college students taking education classes focusing on secondary grade levels. The database contains full-text for nearly 500 popular magazines geared toward high school students. Also included are more than 360 full-text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents.
Primary Search (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for elementary school students but may be useful for college students taking education classes focusing on elementary grade levels. The database provides full-text for more than 70 popular magazines suitable for elementary school students. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles) and date back as far as 1990.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. The database offers full-text coverage for nearly 400 academic journals.

Journals

Below are journals related to Child Development found within our databases. Some of these journals may have a 12-18 month embargo on them. You can search the journal articles by year or simply search the entire journal.

Applied Developmental Science
The focus of the journal is the synthesis of research and application to promote positive development across the lifespan.
Child Development
Articles of interdisciplinary empirical research, theoretical articles and reviews that have theoretical implications for child developmental research selected through blind review.
Child Development Perspectives
Provides accessible, synthetic reports that summarize emerging trends or conclusions within various domains of developmental research, & to encourage multidisciplinary & international dialogue on a variety of topics in the developmental sciences.
Child Development Research
Covers topics in all areas of child development research.
Infant & Child Development
Publishes theoretical, empirical and methodological papers covering all aspects of psychological development during infancy and early childhood.
Journal of Cognition & Development
Contains articles on all aspects of cognitive development
Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development
Covers major reports of developmental research that generate authoritative new findings, fresh perspectives on conceptually significant issues, controversy and commentary on all aspects of child development for professionals in the field.
New Directions for Child & Adolescent Development
Provides scientific & scholarly presentations on cutting edge issues & concepts in the field of child & adolescent development.
Young Children (NAEYC) via JSTOR
Peer-reviewed journal that combines research and practice, Young Children supports educational excellence and focuses on meeting the needs of all children, birth through third grade.