Provides a comprehensive guide to all the important modern philosophers and modern philosophical movements. Spans a wide range of philosophical areas and problems, including metaphysics, epistemology, philosophy of science, ethics, political philosophy and aesthetics.

The Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy include more than 300 peer-reviewed articles cover concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.

Covers topics of recent interest to readers in the twenty-first century, such as Heroic medicine, Gender identity, Wealth inequality, LGBTQ issues, Female genital mutilation, Informed consent, and Transgender care, animal rights, arts and censorship, bioethics, business and more.

Even before the spread of Christianity throughout Europe, individuals began to demand a systematic way to view the world. Supplanting mythical explanations with those based on observation, early Greeks and some of their contemporaries sought to comprehend worldly phenomena in terms of more universal truths. This book introduces readers to the figures instrumental in implementing this refined way of thinking, including Socrates, Plato, and Aristotle. It also examines the effect of these thinkers on the major religions of the time, namely, Judaism and Christianity.

The burgeoning of Christianity throughout Europe saw an attendant transformation in the field of philosophy. The philosophers of the Middle Ages endeavored to reconcile two seemingly incompatible concepts: religion and reason. While both ultimately involve belief in something, their approaches differ radically. By drawing extensively from the work of their predecessors, like Plato and Aristotle, medieval philosophers were able to find logical bases for their theological beliefs, thus using rationality to better comprehend their faith.

Responding to the needs of an increasingly secularized and educated populace, the philosophical tradition since the Renaissance has shifted dramatically away from that of the preceding centuries. Concerned more with rationality, human nature, and human interaction with society and the world than the theological questions of the Middle Ages, contemporary philosophy has advanced study of the limits of the human mind. This insightful volume traces the evolution of present-day Western philosophy and the diverging methods of inquiry that continue to inform a wide range of disciplines.

Experts examine major developments in intellectual history during the past 30 years. A board of specialists from various disciplines was assembled to reflect all aspects of knowledge from a global and gender-inclusive perspective, which allows readers to trace ideas and concepts across culture and time periods.

This 2nd edition includes over 2,300 entries written by 250 philosophers.

Over 3,300 articles cover every aspect of philosophy. With clear and concise definitions, it provides lively and accessible coverage of not only Western philosophical traditions, but also themes from Chinese, Indian, Islamic, and Jewish philosophy. Entries include over 400 biographies.

Guide to moral philosophy, social and political philosophy, philosophy of mind and action, philosophy of language, metaphysics, epistemology, and philosophy of the sciences.

The REP consists of ten volumes of the world's most eminent philosophers writing philosophy internationally. Over 2000 entries of thematic, biographical and national 10 volumes

As divisive as it can be, religion is sacred to millions of people, and they hold dearly to their freedom to practice their religion of choice. Throughout history, instances of both the toleration of other faiths and the persecution of religious minorities have taken place.

Providing a comprehensive overview of one of Asia's most important religious and social forces, the "Encyclopedia of Buddhism describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, saints, demons, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this new two-volume set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Taoism and Christianity.

This reference work includes articles on the history, religion, cultural practices, and political economies of Muslims from the seventh-century in West Asia to today’s Muslim societies throughout the continents of Asia, Africa, the Subcontinent, Europe, and the Americas.

The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.

Coverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada -- from Adventists to Zen Buddhists. Information is presented in two distinct sections, essays and directory listings describing the historical development of religious families and providing factual information about each group within those families. Includes, when available, rubrics for membership figures, educational facilities and periodicals.

Understanding Buddhism covers the history of Buddhism and explores how the religion has evolved and expanded. Readers learn about monks and nuns, the branches of Buddhism, and important rituals. This title also discusses misunderstandings about Buddhism and the challenges some women have faced in the religion.

Understanding Hinduism covers the history of Hinduism and explores how the religion has evolved and expanded. Readers learn about spiritual leaders, how Hindus perceive the world, and how Hindus live in the modern world. This title also discusses the complex interactions between Hinduism and Indian politics.

Understanding Islam covers the history of Islam and explores how the religion has evolved and expanded. Readers learn about worship practices, women's roles, and the world contributions Muslims have made. This title also discusses the discrimination Muslims have faced in the West, and explores controversies surrounding terrorism. Features include a glossary, references, websites, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.

Understanding Judaism covers the history of Judaism and explores how the religion has evolved and expanded. Readers learn about the branches of Judaism, Jewish beliefs, and the influence Jews have had on the world. This title also discusses anti-Semitism Jews have faced, both today and during history.

Understanding Sikhism covers the history of Sikhism and explores how the religion has evolved and expanded. Readers learn about the guru leaders and the peaceful practices they promoted, as well as the prejudice Sikhs have endured, particularly in the United States after September 11.

Understanding the Nonreligious examines the diverse set of people who hold no religious beliefs. In addition to atheist or agnostic, they have a variety of ways to label themselves, as well as opinions on how to find fulfillment in life and what values to hold.

This set provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers.

A thorough, objective resource covering the history, traditions and worldviews of dominant and less prominent religions and their sects and offshoots.