LibGuides: Geography Research Guide: Finding Books

Finding Books

Books, eBooks, and other Library materials can be searched using the Online Catalog. Books for Geography are located in sections G, and GB, in the Library's collection. There are two main categories of books: general and reference. General books (located in the "Stacks" on the lower floor) can be checked out and are often used for more in-depth research. Reference books (located on the upper floor) do not circulate but can be useful for acquiring an overview on a topic.

Course Reserves

The Library maintains a collection of instructor reserve materials. These consist of textbooks, videos, and supplemental course materials that instructors have put in the Library for student use. To find what materials are available for Geography, search Course Reserves in the Online Catalog. It is best to search by "Course Number" (ex. GEOG 101) in that an instructor other than yours may have placed an item on reserve. Materials can be requested at the Periodicals counter and generally must be used in the Library on a two-hour loan period. Photocopy machines are available for 10¢ a copy.

A few selected general and reference titles for Geography are listed below.

An Atlas of Geographical Wonders by Gilles Palsky; Jean-Marc Besse; Philippe Grand; Jean-Christophe Bailly
Call Number: GA300 .B2513 2019
Publication Date: 2019
This is the first book to catalog comparative maps and tableaux that visualize the heights and lengths of the world's mountains and rivers. Produced predominantly in the nineteenth century, these beautifully rendered maps emerged out of the tide of exploration and scientific developments in measuring techniques.
Biographical Dictionary of Geography by Robert P. Larkin; Gary L. Peters
Call Number: Ref. G67 .L37 1993
Publication Date: 1993
This biographical dictionary provides sketches of seventy- seven individuals--explorers, writers, and scholars--from Aristotle to David W. Harvey, who made significant contributions to the development of the discipline of geography. The work examines a cross section of geographers from a variety of subfields within the discipline, from ancient to modern.
Countries, Peoples and Cultures by Salem Press
Call Number: Ref. F1436 .C68 2015 Vols. 1-9
Publication Date: 2015
A 9 volume series that provides specific information on over 200 countries and self-governing territories, as well as separate appendices profiling 21 types of governments currently in power and 10 major world religions. Every volume contains culture profiles that explore each nation’s geography, background, practices, beliefs, laws, peoples, and more. *Also available as an eBook
Country Study (Area Handbook Series) by Library of Congress. Federal Research Division
Each title in the Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the geographical, social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world and examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors.
The Dictionary of Physical Geography by David S. Thomas (Editor); Andrew S. Goudie (Editor)
Call Number: GB10 .D53 2000
Publication Date: 2000
The third edition of this comprehensive encyclopedic dictionary covers the whole field of physical geography and provides an essential reference for all students and lecturers in this field.
Encyclopedia of World Geography by R. W. McColl
Call Number: Ref. G63 .E556 2005 VOLS. 1-3
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of World Geography is an authoritative set profiling everything from the Fulda Gap to the Hudson River. Approximately 750 entries describe pioneers in geography and mapmaking; regions, boundaries, and places; and tools and terminology of geography and cartography.
Essentials of Physical Geography by Robert E. Gabler; James F. Petersen; L. Michael Trapasso
Call Number: GB54.5 .E84 2007
Publication Date: 2006
The text emphasizes three essential themes to demonstrate the major roles for the discipline--Geography as a Physical Science, Geography as the Spatial Science, and Geography as Environmental Science.
Geography: Realms, Regions, and Concepts by H. J. de Blij; Peter O. Muller
Call Number: G128 .D42 1997
Publication Date: 1997
This introduction to world regional geography uses fundamental concepts to organize the world around developed and less developed regions, while also providing basic systematic geography. Includes major geographically significant world events through the Spring of 1996.
Geography Basics by Ray Sumner (Editor); Salem Press Editors
Call Number: G116 .G475 2004 VOL. 1
Publication Date: 2003
Geography Basics covers the most fundamental concepts of both physical and social geography. In order to further the geographic literacy of contemporary students, the articles in Geography Basics take an integrated approach to the field, emphasizing interconnections of every kind.
Geosystems: An Introduction to Physical Geography by Robert W. Christopherson
Call Number: GB54.5 .C48 2003
Publication Date: 2002
This work is written, organized, and illustrated to give introductory students an accessible, systematic, and visually appealing start in the study of physical geography.
Goode's World Atlas by Rand McNally
Call Number: Ref. G1021 .G6 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Goode's World Atlas by Rand McNally helps students and educators navigate through global and regional landscapes with ease. With color-coded headings and charts, brief introductions to each section, and more than 60 new reference and thematic maps, the 23rd edition gives students a comprehensive view of the world and its changing population and physical characteristics.
A History of the World in 12 Maps by Jerry Brotton
Call Number: G1030 .B7 2013
Publication Date: 2013
In this masterful study, historian and cartography expert Jerry Brotton explores a dozen of history's most influential maps, from stone tablet to vibrant computer screen.
The Power of Geography by Tim Marshall
Call Number: JC319 .M2736 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Find out why US interest in the Middle East will wane; why Australia is now beginning an epic contest with China; how Turkey, Saudi Arabia, and the UK are cleverly positioning themselves for greater power; why Ethiopia can control Egypt; and why Europe's next refugee crisis looms closer than we think, as does a cutting-edge arms race to control space. Innovative, compelling, and delivered with Marshall's trademark wit and insight.
Volcanoes and Earthquakes by Chiara Maria Petrone; Roberto Scandone; Alex Whittaker
Call Number: QE521.2 .P48 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Volcanoes and Earthquakes explores the massive natural forces from within the Earth that greatly affect its surface, often with dramatic and long-lasting consequences. Written in an accessible style, and fully illustrated with photographs, diagrams, and maps, the book explains the violence of earthquakes and volcanoes that impact humankind.
World Geography, Second Edition, 6 Volume Set by Salem Press (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. G133 .W88 2020 Vols. 1-6
Publication Date: 2020
A six-volume geographic encyclopedia of the world, continents and countries of each continent. In addition to physical geography, the set also addresses human geography including population distribution, physiography and hydrology, biogeography and natural resources, economic geography, and political geography. *Also available as an eBook
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Nations by Eastword Pubns., Inc. Staff; Timothy L. Gall (Editor); Susan B. Gall (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. G63 .W67 1998 Vols. 1-5
Publication Date: 1998
This five-volume reference offers information on 200 countries and dependencies worldwide, with entries ranging from four to 30 pages. Topics covered include banking and securities, climate, government data and demographic statistics.

Coastal Systems by Simon Haslett
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Coastal Systems offers a concise introduction to the processes, landforms, ecosystems and management of this important global environment.
Earth's Landscape: An Encyclopedia of the World's Geographic Features by Joyce A. Quinn (Editor); Susan L. Woodward (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2015
This unusual encyclopedia brings together in-depth information on more than 450 natural geographic features from around the world and offers an array of creative tools to promote critical thinking and classroom discussion.
Environmental Geography by Leslie A. Duram
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2018
This book explores the complex relationship humans have with the environment. It is one of both responsibility--including the sustainable or unsustainable management of natural resources--and emotion, such as the elation gleaned from a beautiful landscape as well as the devastation experienced from a natural disaster. *Also available in print
Geography and Vision by Denis E. Cosgrove
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Leading geographer Denis Cosgrove provides a series of personal reflections on the complex connections between seeing, imagining and representing the world geographically. In a series of eloquent essays he draws upon pictorial images - including maps, sketches, cartoons, paintings, and photographs - to explore and elaborate upon the many and varied ways in which the vast and varied earth, and at times the heavens beyond, have been both imagined and represented as a place of human habitation.
Human Geography: People and the Environment by Lee Lerner (Editor); Brenda Lerner (Editor)
Call Number: Gale eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Provides insight into both regional and global issues by addressing fundamental and advanced topics critical to the study of human geography and places special emphasis on exploring the impact of human habitation and economic activity on the environment.
Understanding Cultural Geography by Jon Anderson
Call Number: Ebsco eBook
Publication Date: 2009
This new and comprehensive book offers a holistic introduction to cultural geography. It integrates the broad range of theories and practices of the discipline by arguing that the essential focus of cultural geography is place.
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Cultural Geography by Nuala C. Johnson; Richard H. Schein; Jamie Winders
Call Number: Proquest eBook
Publication Date: 2013
A significantly revised new edition of this authoritative reference volume which traces the historical evolution of cultural geography through to the very latest research, covering a number of new topics such as biotechnology, rural, food, media and tech, borders and tourism, whilst also reflecting developments in established subjects including animal geographies.